We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel PJ Myeongdong
Ranked #43 of 552 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Hotel is located in myeong-dong area in Seou very convenient to sight seeing . for visitors they are providing bus service in every 15 minutes for myeongdong station and Lotte stores. It has huge lobby, very friendly staff. Very widely spread breakfast but very less items for veggies.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are better that too eastern side more sunny and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Satish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Satish J

Thank you for your positive review.

We are extremely grad to hear that your stay with us has been wonderful.

Hope you visit us and have a great experience again.

Thank you very much.

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 401 of 1,668 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

4th time in Seoul but 1st hotel stay. Hotel PJ has one of the best rooms and services, with balcony. However do not expect to get good view from balcony. Good location as it only takes 5-10 mins walk to Chungmuro station. Hotel provides shuttle bus to most of the popular locations. There is a long stairs to climb before reaching the hotel. This is not good for old folks especially those with joint problems. This hotel will be perfect if there is an escalator or lift to the lobby instead of stairs to cater for the old folks or those with difficulty climbing stairs. Breakfast has a wide spread from korean to western style. They provides probiotic drinks everyday which I really appreciate. Overall this is really a good hotel. I will come back again when I visit Seoul.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gnnnyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Gnnnyl

Thank you for choosing Hotel PJ.

We're delighted that you seem to be having a great time with us.

If you have any other chances to visit Seoul in the future again, visit our hotel and make more wonderful memory with us.

Thank you for your review and have a wonderful day!!

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Great location, 2min from Metro Station, hotel free shuttle will take u anythere u like really. It goes to most popular town places. You can book tours with hotel reception.
Havent't tried food im hotel, csnt comment on it, but the rest very good.
Hotel itself very high standart, rooms very big. Staff so helpful & friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vilmante777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Hello , this is HOTEL PJ.
Thank you for using our hotel.
It's our plesure that you had a good time at our hotel.
We are waitng for your coming again.


HOTEL PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Promo Price
we got this hotel at Php4,500 a night for a basic room. that's what made it alright.

Good Security
i appreciated the security. i felt safe in there bec all doors (except the main entrance) would require u to have a card key before u can go thru (even after the leaving the elevator, there is still another secured glass door that would require u to have ur card key).

Around the Hotel
(within 1 block radius)
There were At least 2 korean convenience stores / mini grocery. there was a nearby western coffee shop. there were several korean restaurants.

Amenities
i appreciated the hot-and-cold water dispenser and ice dispenser on our floor (i can only assume that it is available every floor). the coffee maker was great too. the toilet have bidet system (not the hose type though) ; (temperature controlled too).

Free Shuttle Service (to compensate for not-so-good location)
the location was not as accessible as other hotels along myeongdong market. but they provided free shuttle services every hour. you just have to check their schedule so u can maximize this free service.

We rented a jumbo taxi (starex) (fr hotel to incheon airport) for 100,000 won. it was about an hour drive. i traveled with 2
senior citizens, 2 adults (including me), 2 toddlers.

we took the cab a lot for travel (to and fro pj hotel). 4 adults and 2 kids. cost about 3,000 won to go around the nearby tourist spots (myeongdong, dongdaemon, nandaemon).

The one thing i didnt appreciate was the airconditioning was not working on our first 2 nights. although the weather was cool. i still expected a fully-functioning equipment in the room.


MINOR CONCERNS which i noticed are as follows:


Bell & Housekeeping Service
They were polite and nice. but i wondered why they weren't so keen on helping us with our two toddler strollers everytime we go in and out. they were alert with the luggage. but i wonder why they did not help us with our strollers considering i have two toddlers with me (one on the left and one on the right) while i carry those two strollers. it happened everyday (going up and down the stairs of the main entrance). i don't think it was intentional. thats why i wonder why they never helped me. they helped me once. and that was when i verbally asked for help.

the housekeeping. i wonder why they did not provide toothbrushes (when they provided a disposable hairbrush). and they did not refill the toiletries after the 3rd night (i stayed there for 6 nights). and they dont refill everything. i used the one small bar of soap they gave me from day 1 to day 6. they didnt provide me with a new one.

OVERALL... it was a good experience. could have been better. but it was not so bad.

But maybe when i go back to visit korea. i will prioritize those hotels along the night market place.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Psylocke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Hello, this is HOTEL PJ.

Thank you for staying with us.

We're really happy to see your review on this website.

However, if you felt so inconvenienced because of housekeeping and bells.

We're trying to upgrade our skills more and more to make your memories great.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Many thanks,
HOTEL PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed here during a 24-hour transit between flights. The room wasn't fancy, but it was comfortable, pleasant, and clean. The neighborhood is a bit utilitarian but fairly convenient, and a regular shuttle route to Dongdaemun market made grabbing a late-ish dinner easy. The hotel's not far from the metro, but the route could be potentially be a bit confusing. However, the hotel website has turn-by-turn directions, complete with photos. It seems like a minor thing, but after an international flight, the last thing you want to do is get lost getting to your hotel.

I don't know that I would choose Hotel PJ for an extended stay, as having access to a gym is important to me (although the revitalized path along Cheonggyecheon is a 10-minute walk and would be a decent running route). But for an overnight, it gets high marks.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karinf74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear karinf74

Thank you for staying with us.

We're really happy to see your review on this website.

However, if you felt so inconvenienced because of our facilities we're really sorry.

We're trying to upgrade our facilities more and more so if you have enough time to stay in downtown in Seoul in the future, visit our hotel again and make great memories.

Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Many thanks,
HOTEL PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Easy to go to mingedong within 30 mins.Also fast to get train station.
Hotel offer shuttle bus and long services hour.(til 2 am)
Easy to communicate with hotel staffs whoes can speak in english and chinese.
Hotel have a Lady' floor (on 7th floor )only for female to admit,you can ask for request.
Airport bus station (#6015)is near the Hotel ,the shuttle bus also can send us to the bus station
****
However,the shuttle bus make dispointed because i wait for 15 mins in mingedong with cold and tried.The shuttle bus stopped in roadside(not stop in the waiting point)and go away.we run but it wasn't stop for us!final we need to call taxi and the time is 0030...

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littletampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear littletampo

We're really happy to see your review on this web page and thank you for choosing us.

We are extremely happy to hear that your stay with us has been wonderful.

But we're sorry that you went through a difficulty because of our shuttle bus.

We're trying our best for improving our service so visit our hotel again and make a good memory with us.

Thanks,
HOTEL PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Have read lots and lots of review before making our booking with them.. and to be honest, I was so so so worried before we travelled there.
Had sent a request to the hotel when I made the reservation (before payment) - but no reply, but I thought may be it was cause I haven't made my payment.
Then after paying, I sent an email to reiterate the request - no answer
And off go email no 2 and then email no 3
To be honest, as it was still more than 7 days before arrival, I had the mind of cancelling the reservation and booking elsewhere but since some travellers have said Korean hotels aren't great with emails, so I decided to give them a call.
Made that call, and sorted the questions within minutes - just a pity that the hotel's reservation services is so poor with responses. Definitely a sour start to my impending trip.

But once we were there, the services were really good. The hotel room was large, with a couch at the end of the room, plenty of space for luggages and shopping bags. Love the free water daily, the available nespresso machine, the well stocked the toiletries, the free facial mask. It was great!

The beds were really quite comfortable, and clean. The only down side was, although it was winter, the rooms got quite stuffy each time we arrived back in the room. The heaters are left on after the staffs cleans the room I think, as we turn it off specifically each time when we leave the room. It was still ok though, we just open up the windows for a while to ventilate the room.

The best part of this hotel is, we found this little restaurant in front of the hotel, to the right in the alley as you exit the hotel - a 24 hour Korean eatery - it was one of the best kimchi jiggae around and it was the best thing to have in the cold at 1-2 am (when we finish the late night shoppings at the markets!)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank adecpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear adecpy

Thank you for your stay at Hotel PJ, Seoul.

We're delighted that you seem to be having a good time with us.

By the way, we're really sorry to make you concerned.

We always do our best for replying emails that we got from our guests, but sometimes we don't.

If it made you concerned about your booking then we’re truly apologize once more.

Anyway, thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Thanks,
HOTELPJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Tmark Hotel Myeongdong
Tmark Hotel Myeongdong
#55 of 552 in Seoul
507 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Premier Hotel Myeongdong II
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#40 of 552 in Seoul
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Shin Shin
Hotel Shin Shin
#23 of 552 in Seoul
669 reviews
Prince Hotel Seoul
#44 of 552 in Seoul
1,105 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel PJ Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel PJ Myeongdong

Address: 71, Mareunnae-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04548, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#22 Business Hotel in Seoul
#32 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: $80 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel PJ Myeongdong 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, HotelPJ, have always tried our best to provide our guests with high-quality service and convenience. Located favorably in the center of seoul, our hotel is equipped with comfortable guest rooms and various entertainment facilities. Under these optimum conditions, we will requite to our guests by best service and support. Our guest rooms are more comfortable and spacious than any other hotel in the same class and provide an executive floor designed for business visitors. It will be ready in order to meet the diverse need ofour guests and provide all the facilities and services. Services: Key card for guestroom and elevator, LCD TV, safety box, electric kettle, balcony(in some guestrooms), fabric refresher, water purifier/ice machine on each floor, free Wi-Fi access, tea cups, tumbler,ice pail, electric bidet, bathtub, complimentary mineral water/tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel PJ Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pj Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing