We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with horrific house keeping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel PJ Myeongdong
Ranked #34 of 474 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
1 review
“Great hotel with horrific house keeping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel well located in the middle of tourist hotspots good for free and easy tour. Booked eight nights and were told to relocate to another room as the toilet flooded on the first night.

One of the pillow case of the new room is full of moudy stains with more stains on the blanket. One of the blanket was torn and patched back with an ugly square patchwork.

Helpful?
Thank Maxhosan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Maxhosan

Thank you for choosing us as your accommodation.

We're really sorry to hear that you went through a difficulty when you stayed in us.

We do not want to see those kinds of situation in the future again so we will upgrade our service.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we want to see you in the future again.

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    596
    129
    21
    10
See reviews for
443
208
92
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

PJ Hotel is a nice place somewhat outside of the real center but kind of ok. Quite focussed on Japanese customers but that doesn't bother.
But don't go there if you have a complaint aft wards!!! In my case I got shampoo in my eyes which turned out to be an aggressive substance that burnt my eye, I thought it would go away in an hour or so but that was an illusion. Having a flight later that day I sat for 8 hours in the plane with a heavily irritated eye. I just wanted to give notice to the hotel that it happened and appreciated a reaction. They never answered!!! I tried another email address but still they never reacted.By the way, an email address of this hotel is hard to find.Initially I only wanted a simple apology but by now I can only advise not to go there. If anything goes wrong, even minor things, this hotel will not support, react or help you. With over 600 travels and not being hyper sensitive I still think this is one of the most disrespectful treatments I ever got.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear H V

Thank you for choosing Hotel PJ.

We're really sorry to hear that.
We apologize once again what you were going through.
We would like to apologize with you politely because of our product made you a difficulty.

At that moment, we asked you to go to the hospital but you do not want to go there so we thought that everything was going to be okay with you.
We did not imagine that you seriously went through a problem.
We were really sorry for the inconvenience.

We have been using this product for about 3 years and our guests satisfied with our amenities
We've never experienced those kinds of cases so we were little bit embarrassed.

Anyway, we will double check with our amenities thoroughly and try to improve our amenities and service.
Thank you for writing down the review.

Thanks,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We booked PJ for our 7 nights stay in Seoul and took the airport rail and MRT to Chungmuro station from the airport. The hotel is not difficult to locate, and conveniently 5mins away from the MRT station. You may find a direction map on the hotel site which was very helpful.

We were upgraded to the Premier Room which is very spacious and comes with a balcony looking towards N Seoul Tower. Clean room with comfortable bed, however we find that Housekeeping needs to pay more attention.
- We found a used coffee capsule left on the table when we checked in.
- We used the sugar sachets and stirrer but were not replenished.
- We did some grocery shopping at the mart outside the hotel. The next day, we returned back to find that Housekeeping took out everything in the bag, displayed it on the table and threw away the bag. Although it was just groceries, we felt they shouldn't have opened up our stuffs.

Would be nice if toothbrush is provided as it is a necessity. The hotel also turn off AC as it was winter. It was lucky we had a balcony as the room gets really stuffy and we were told by the reception staff that they could not turn on the AC as it is a centralized system.

Staff were very helpful and nice. There is always someone greeting you at the lobby which is a very nice touch. We had breakfast on one of the morning - very tasty with great selection at the buffet. Staff were very attentive and constantly checking on the food counter to ensure food were topped. The hotel counter only exchange RMB, KRW, JPY and USD so if you need to do any other currency exchange, a bank is outside of the hotel.

Hotel shuttle bus to shopping districts like Myeongdong and Dongdaemun was very useful but we found there was no verification done by the driver to ensure the passengers were hotel guest. On departure, we took the Airport Limo bus 6105 from the bus stop just outside of the MRT station to Incheon airport. It cost KRW$10000 per person which was pretty reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xindaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Ms-Chan

Thank you for choosing Hotel PJ and wrote down a positive review on this web page.

We are extremely happy to hear that your stay with us has been wonderful.

But we were really sorry that we made some mistakes.

We will share what we did and improve ourselves.

Once again, we’re sorry for the inconvenience.

Thanks.
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

While it's a bit hidden away from the main roads, Hotel PJ is a nice little respite in Seoul. The service was friendly and helped us find places we wanted to visit. I particularly appreciated the water purifiers in the hallway. Travel around Asia enough, and you value that! The rooms are cozy and nicely accessorized. I would recommend it to others looking for a pleasant reasonable room for a few nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWPrestino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear KWPrestino

Good day!
Thank you for choosing 'Hotel PJ' for your recent accommodation in Seoul.
We were truly happy to help you out when you stayed in our facility.

Your sincere and valuable review is very helpful for our potential guest.
Thank you for sharing your experience with others.

We hope to see you again soon in the future.
Thank you.

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent our last 2 nights in Seoul at this hotel. It was more spacious than we've expected. So was the bathroom. we also had the view of the N Seoul tower in the distance. There was also a desktop with internet connection in the room, but we've never used it. One thing we found weird was the cctv camera right outside our door. It was probably because our room was at the corner of the corridor. Some of the things we liked about this hotel was that its 1) 2mins walk to Airport Bus stop, 2) shuttle service to key attractions like Myeongdong & Dongdaemun, and 3) its about 6-8mins walk to main myeongdong area. On one of the days there, we walked all the way to N Seoul Tower. It is quite convenient to get to the Chungmuro subway station (near the airport bus stop). It took us around 15mins by foot from the hotel to the cable car station. The staff was quite helpful too and able to communicate well in English. However, we were slightly disappointed that there isnt any cafes or food at the immediate vicinity of our hotel. We had to go to myeongdong for our meals. Along that stretch, you will find paris baguette and a street of pet shops that sells puppies.
It was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: the standard room we got was big enough for 3 adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamcyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear pamcyy

Thank you for staying with us..

We're really pleased that you seemed to be having a pleasant stay with us.

However, as you mentioned on this review now our restaurant is under construction so you cannot find anywhere to having a meal especially in the evening.

We’re really sorry for the inconvenience.

We will upgrade our facilities and service continually for our valuable guest.

Once again thank you for staying us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed in Hotel PJ of the December Holiday. We arrived at airport and promptly followed the signs outside the terminal to the Airport LimoBus 6051 which provides a pretty fast and direct ride into Seoul and to nearby Hotel PJ for about $10 bucks. (The hotel is about 2 blocks from the LimoBus stop.)

Upon arrival, the hotel was decorated in Holiday cheer and a kind staff helped us with luggage and checked us in. We received a room upgrade which was nice to have more space. The rooms were clean and had lots of amenities, such as plenty of toiletries; including, face mask packets, robes, slippers, bottle water, hot coffee and tea making facilities. Again, as I always seem to find in Asia, we had a very hard mattress, oh well. Also, I was disappointed the Sauna and fitness area were not on site as suggested when I first booked, it is at another location with an agreement, so I did not bother to try that.

The Breakfast Buffet, for an extra fee, is very tasty and we had enough Eastern and Western Breakfast selections that we were not hungry until dinner.

The Hotel PJ kindly provides a shuttle service on the hour each hour to the town center as the hotel is located near a more working class/shopping area, selling more the likes of household items, paper products, chairs, ect.. I found it interesting to walk past this area on the way to Palace Tour as it gave a glimpse into real life errands of Seoul workers on scooters and mom and pop snack shops.

I never once felt in any danger walking the streets of Seoul, even at night. A very polite fashionable crowd shops well into the night. The hotel is also close to subways which are clean, fun and a user friendly way to get around the city. I'd recommend this hotel to those looking for a city shopping visit as the shuttle appeared to be a really convenient way to go about town from this location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djcynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear djcynic

Thank you so much writing down positive review on this website.

I'm so happy to hear that you spent your holiday season beautiful way.

Thank you for choosing Hotel PJ as your precious time in 2013.

All our staff members hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

My friend and I stayed in Hotel PJ from 20 - 27 Dec 2013. I had been apprehensive, having read reviews about being located in a light industrial area. I was never more happy to be proven wrong. We experienced no industrial noise during our stay.The hotel was easily reached from Incheon via the airport limousine for a reasonable KRW10k. It was a short walk from Chungmuro Metro station - very central, easy connection to other parts of the city.

For tardy souls missing the hotel's hourly complimentary shuttle bus to major shopping districts, Myeongdong was a 15min walk away. The shuttle bus service was a godsend for shopaholics like us! It was in fact the main reason my friend chose this hotel to stay in. The service runs till 2 a.m. - fabulous for late night shopping at Dongdaemun (we had been warned of getting ripped off by taxi drivers in the city). On the occasions we did not care to take the shuttle bus, walking back late at night felt safe.

Most counter and bell staff were multilingual - a relief for non Korean-speaking tourists. We got by easily with English. We encountered only polite, knowledgeable and swift service throughout our stay, which made us feel very welcome.

We were assigned a room on a floor exclusively for ladies. I appreciated the water and ice dispensers made available in front of the lifts. Our twin room had a balcony, and the room was clean, warm, and altogether very comfortable. The bathroom even came (fittingly given the booming cosmetics industry) with face masks.

I very much enjoyed my stay at Hotel PJ, and would definitely return to stay for my next trip (to see the sights as we had spent all the time shopping)!

One thing though - the location of the hotel had not been pinned on the TripAdvisor travel app. It would be great if the hotel could pin this down for direction-challenged people like me.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coldpeppermint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear coldpeppermint

Thank you for writing down positive review on this tripadvisor website.

We are delighted that you seemed to be having a great time with us here in Korea.

Your detailed and great review is very useful for our potential guests.

Thank you very much we continue to improve ourselves.

Also we hope to see you in the near future.

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#18 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Lotte City Hotel Guro
#2 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Prince Hotel Seoul
#38 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel PJ Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel PJ Myeongdong

Property: Hotel PJ Myeongdong
Address: 71, Mareunnae-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04548, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Seoul
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#22 Business Hotel in Seoul
#26 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#46 Best Value Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel PJ Myeongdong 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, HotelPJ, have always tried our best to provide our guests with high-quality service and convenience. Located favorably in the center of seoul, our hotel is equipped with comfortable guest rooms and various entertainment facilities. Under these optimum conditions, we will requite to our guests by best service and support. Our guest rooms are more comfortable and spacious than any other hotel in the same class and provide an executive floor designed for business visitors. It will be ready in order to meet the diverse need ofour guests and provide all the facilities and services. Services: Key card for guestroom and elevator, LCD TV, safety box, electric kettle, balcony(in some guestrooms), fabric refresher, water purifier/ice machine on each floor, free Wi-Fi access, tea cups, tumbler,ice pail, electric bidet, bathtub, complimentary mineral water/tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel PJ Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pj Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing