We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would come back someday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel PJ Myeongdong
Ranked #44 of 522 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

While it's a bit hidden away from the main roads, Hotel PJ is a nice little respite in Seoul. The service was friendly and helped us find places we wanted to visit. I particularly appreciated the water purifiers in the hallway. Travel around Asia enough, and you value that! The rooms are cozy and nicely accessorized. I would recommend it to others looking for a pleasant reasonable room for a few nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KWPrestino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear KWPrestino

Good day!
Thank you for choosing 'Hotel PJ' for your recent accommodation in Seoul.
We were truly happy to help you out when you stayed in our facility.

Your sincere and valuable review is very helpful for our potential guest.
Thank you for sharing your experience with others.

We hope to see you again soon in the future.
Thank you.

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent our last 2 nights in Seoul at this hotel. It was more spacious than we've expected. So was the bathroom. we also had the view of the N Seoul tower in the distance. There was also a desktop with internet connection in the room, but we've never used it. One thing we found weird was the cctv camera right outside our door. It was probably because our room was at the corner of the corridor. Some of the things we liked about this hotel was that its 1) 2mins walk to Airport Bus stop, 2) shuttle service to key attractions like Myeongdong & Dongdaemun, and 3) its about 6-8mins walk to main myeongdong area. On one of the days there, we walked all the way to N Seoul Tower. It is quite convenient to get to the Chungmuro subway station (near the airport bus stop). It took us around 15mins by foot from the hotel to the cable car station. The staff was quite helpful too and able to communicate well in English. However, we were slightly disappointed that there isnt any cafes or food at the immediate vicinity of our hotel. We had to go to myeongdong for our meals. Along that stretch, you will find paris baguette and a street of pet shops that sells puppies.
It was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: the standard room we got was big enough for 3 adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamcyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear pamcyy

Thank you for staying with us..

We're really pleased that you seemed to be having a pleasant stay with us.

However, as you mentioned on this review now our restaurant is under construction so you cannot find anywhere to having a meal especially in the evening.

We’re really sorry for the inconvenience.

We will upgrade our facilities and service continually for our valuable guest.

Once again thank you for staying us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed in Hotel PJ of the December Holiday. We arrived at airport and promptly followed the signs outside the terminal to the Airport LimoBus 6051 which provides a pretty fast and direct ride into Seoul and to nearby Hotel PJ for about $10 bucks. (The hotel is about 2 blocks from the LimoBus stop.)

Upon arrival, the hotel was decorated in Holiday cheer and a kind staff helped us with luggage and checked us in. We received a room upgrade which was nice to have more space. The rooms were clean and had lots of amenities, such as plenty of toiletries; including, face mask packets, robes, slippers, bottle water, hot coffee and tea making facilities. Again, as I always seem to find in Asia, we had a very hard mattress, oh well. Also, I was disappointed the Sauna and fitness area were not on site as suggested when I first booked, it is at another location with an agreement, so I did not bother to try that.

The Breakfast Buffet, for an extra fee, is very tasty and we had enough Eastern and Western Breakfast selections that we were not hungry until dinner.

The Hotel PJ kindly provides a shuttle service on the hour each hour to the town center as the hotel is located near a more working class/shopping area, selling more the likes of household items, paper products, chairs, ect.. I found it interesting to walk past this area on the way to Palace Tour as it gave a glimpse into real life errands of Seoul workers on scooters and mom and pop snack shops.

I never once felt in any danger walking the streets of Seoul, even at night. A very polite fashionable crowd shops well into the night. The hotel is also close to subways which are clean, fun and a user friendly way to get around the city. I'd recommend this hotel to those looking for a city shopping visit as the shuttle appeared to be a really convenient way to go about town from this location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank djcynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear djcynic

Thank you so much writing down positive review on this website.

I'm so happy to hear that you spent your holiday season beautiful way.

Thank you for choosing Hotel PJ as your precious time in 2013.

All our staff members hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My friend and I stayed in Hotel PJ from 20 - 27 Dec 2013. I had been apprehensive, having read reviews about being located in a light industrial area. I was never more happy to be proven wrong. We experienced no industrial noise during our stay.The hotel was easily reached from Incheon via the airport limousine for a reasonable KRW10k. It was a short walk from Chungmuro Metro station - very central, easy connection to other parts of the city.

For tardy souls missing the hotel's hourly complimentary shuttle bus to major shopping districts, Myeongdong was a 15min walk away. The shuttle bus service was a godsend for shopaholics like us! It was in fact the main reason my friend chose this hotel to stay in. The service runs till 2 a.m. - fabulous for late night shopping at Dongdaemun (we had been warned of getting ripped off by taxi drivers in the city). On the occasions we did not care to take the shuttle bus, walking back late at night felt safe.

Most counter and bell staff were multilingual - a relief for non Korean-speaking tourists. We got by easily with English. We encountered only polite, knowledgeable and swift service throughout our stay, which made us feel very welcome.

We were assigned a room on a floor exclusively for ladies. I appreciated the water and ice dispensers made available in front of the lifts. Our twin room had a balcony, and the room was clean, warm, and altogether very comfortable. The bathroom even came (fittingly given the booming cosmetics industry) with face masks.

I very much enjoyed my stay at Hotel PJ, and would definitely return to stay for my next trip (to see the sights as we had spent all the time shopping)!

One thing though - the location of the hotel had not been pinned on the TripAdvisor travel app. It would be great if the hotel could pin this down for direction-challenged people like me.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coldpeppermint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear coldpeppermint

Thank you for writing down positive review on this tripadvisor website.

We are delighted that you seemed to be having a great time with us here in Korea.

Your detailed and great review is very useful for our potential guests.

Thank you very much we continue to improve ourselves.

Also we hope to see you in the near future.

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We had reserved a room for 2 and ended up needing to accommodate a third family member. When we arrived the staff was very accommodating and we ended up with a huge two-room suite for the same price. They were under no obligation to do this for us, but they did. The suite was more appropriate for a honeymoon than a family group but we enjoyed it nonetheless - it was clean, the beds were very comfortable and the TV and wifi worked well. The location is a little off the beaten path in a district with a lot of printing shops but restaurants, shopping and multiple subway stops are within a short walk. They had a great breakfast buffet with both western and Korean food that was a good deal for the money. They also offer a free bus service that makes a loop around downtown Seoul, hitting most of the major tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Probably better to get a room on a higher floor if you can. The area around the hotel is pretty noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantjumpBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear cantjumpBoston

Thank you for your time to write down a positive review on the tripadvispr website.

We are extremely happy to hear that your stay with us has been wonderful.

We continually do our best and we do look forward to welcoming back to stay with us in the near future again.

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in the triple room for 6 nights, and it was a comfortable stay which we totally enjoyed. No qualms about returning to this hotel again.

1) We booked via 3rd party and when I dropped an email to confirm the booking directly with PJ Hotel, the hotel responded promptly.

2) Check-in was swift.

3) Security: Access to lift was controlled by our room card. We stayed in the 5th floor which was also restricted via card access only. However, we did notice the the 8th floor is not and hence the access controlled might not be applied to all floors.

4) The business center at the 8th floor was great for us as we could use the computer and printer (we did online checking and printed our boarding pass there).

5) The laundry utilities was also situated on the 8th floor. We didn't get to use it (even though this is one factor which made me book this hotel .. haha) but when we checked out the place, it looked clean and best of all it had a vending machine selling packet detergent.

6) We had breakfast in the hotel once. The spread was good enough and best of all, it came with an affordable price! The breakfast ended at 10am which was a little early for us (needed more sleep), and hence we couldn't make it for more times.

7) Free bus services was also one of the factors which attracted me to book this hotel but we didn't use it as we found the stations to be near and so we ended up walking to the subway instead.

8) There were two 24 hour convenience stores next to the hotel. We often dropped by the stores on our way back to hotel. There is no room service in the hotel and so usually we would stock up food/fruits/drink/snacks.

9) Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. When we had problem with our tv, a ring to the front desk and immediately the hotel staff attended/assisted us by coming our room to check. The concierge team was also very helpful and assisted in our queries/bookings. The bell boys were very prompt with helping the guests to load the luggage on the conveyor belt (Read a past review on the need to carry the luggage on the flight of steps to the lobby. With this conveyor belt, it is easy to transport the luggage up and down from the lobby).

10) Room came with heater (great as we could control the temperature as desired as compared to centralized heating), 2 tvs (lots of channels) and air cleaner (wonderful surprise). The triple room was big and so we had enough room space to place our 4 luggage. Not sure why but somehow the toilet did not come with a lock. It was not an issue for us since we travelled as a family. The bathroom was quite big with a separated shower area from the bathtub. General toiletries (face wash too!) were provided (love the free masks given on the 1st night) but do note that toothbrushes were not provided.

11) We found that the surrounding was not as deserted as commented by some. Convenience shops, cafés, pharmacy and eateries could be found within walking distance. As we usually returned at the wee hour, we didn't really had time to try these places (other than the convenience stores).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank oliviamummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear oliviamummy

Thank you for your lovely message.

We were delighted that you seemed to be having a great time with us.

All our staff member shared you review.

Also we think that your detailed review is very helpful to our potential guest. Thank you so much.

We hope to see you in the near future again.

Once again thank you for choosing us and have a wonderful day!

Many thanks,
HOTEL PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

I just checked in today and already am so impressed with the hotel. Check in was great and all the staffs are ready to help you . I make a special request for corner room and I got a lovely spacious room, and the amenities in the room beat the 5 star hotel!! Even had free Nespresso in the room. It has free shuttle service and information at the lobby for places to visit and for dining. I will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuatQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear GuatQ

Thank you for your time to write down a positive review on the tripadvispr website.
We are extremely happy to hear that your stay with us has been wonderful.

Thank you for your great review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Tmark Hotel Myeongdong
Tmark Hotel Myeongdong
#53 of 522 in Seoul
490 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Premier Hotel Myeongdong II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Hotel Seoul
#42 of 522 in Seoul
1,094 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#36 of 522 in Seoul
334 reviews
Lotte City Hotel Guro
#5 of 522 in Seoul
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel PJ Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel PJ Myeongdong

Address: 71, Mareunnae-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04548, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#22 Business Hotel in Seoul
#31 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: $74 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel PJ Myeongdong 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, HotelPJ, have always tried our best to provide our guests with high-quality service and convenience. Located favorably in the center of seoul, our hotel is equipped with comfortable guest rooms and various entertainment facilities. Under these optimum conditions, we will requite to our guests by best service and support. Our guest rooms are more comfortable and spacious than any other hotel in the same class and provide an executive floor designed for business visitors. It will be ready in order to meet the diverse need ofour guests and provide all the facilities and services. Services: Key card for guestroom and elevator, LCD TV, safety box, electric kettle, balcony(in some guestrooms), fabric refresher, water purifier/ice machine on each floor, free Wi-Fi access, tea cups, tumbler,ice pail, electric bidet, bathtub, complimentary mineral water/tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel PJ Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pj Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing