We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room size”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel PJ Myeongdong
Ranked #36 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable room size”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

When I arrived at the hotel in midnight, I was thinking the location is really bad as it really looks like a dark alley and the shops around the hotel are all closed.However, it turned out otherwise. During daytime, it is a busy area. And you get to find alot of decent local food around the area. The hotel is also walking distance to Chungmuro train station where the airport limouisine bus will drop you off too.

The room is of comfortable size with also a small sofa area where you can have tea or watch TV. It is just that the room doesn't have aircon turn on when I was there, so it is pretty warm before you get into bed. So being green, we usually open the balcony door to cool down the room before we sleep.

The only downside of the hotel is that you have to walk up a flight of stairs to get to the hotel lobby. And since we have arrived in the hotel late at night, we have to lug our luggages up the flight of stairs.

However, overall, the stay in the hotel has been a great experience and I will definately come back to stay when I'm back in Seoul.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hicheerios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yongsune, 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
First of all, thank you for writing valuable review on the website.
It was really helpful for us.

We apologize that if you felt uncomfortable because of our air conditioning system.
Based on your review we promise that we will keep trying to improve ourselves.

Thank you and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    624
    134
    22
    10
See reviews for
470
217
95
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Seoul has recently become one of my favourite cities to spend short weekends - for the past 15 months I have been there 3 times, twice with my family and the most recent time was in early October with my friends. Our family usually stays at the Grand Intercontinental but it was a little over-budget for us, plus being in Gangnam it wasn't the best location for exploring places like Myeongdong and Dongdaemun, which are north of the river. My colleague suggested us to try Hotel PJ after her very nice stay 6 months ago, and I have to say, I agree with all her comments about the hotel and I would definitely recommend it to anybody who is considering a trip to Seoul.
The Japanese run extremely decent hotel groups - this was no exception. Being one metro stop away from Myeongdong the location is impeccable. However, it is a 3-5 minute walk from the metro station/ airport shuttle bus station to the hotel, along a slightly dodgy (yet safe) alleyway. This is probably the only thing I would have to criticise about the hotel. If you are in a group of 3-4, take the taxi instead - it costs more or less the same or even cheaper if you travel to and from Myeongdong and its surroundings.
Another bonus is the free shuttles. Downside though - the shuttles run every hour after morning rush hour and the buses get full very easily. Tip would be getting to the hotel entrance 15-20 minutes before departure times.
The rooms are of good sizes with plenty of room for luggage and belongings. The highlight would be the calf and foot massage machine that comes with every room - they even give you foot-gloves (if that is a word) so it would be hygienic to use the machine in turns with your roommate. Relaxing in that massaging machine was one of the moments we look forward to after a long day walking in the city.

Room Tip: If you are female travelling solo/ travelling with a group of girlfriends, ask for an upgrade to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_harder_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yongsune, 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We were very glad to see your detailed review on the website.

Your informative review is really helpful for us.
We always try to remedy our defect so next time when you visit again, we promise that we offer improved service to you.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

When I had to make last-minute arrangements for a hotel in Seoul, and all the usual places were taken, I read some reviews and tried the PJ Hotel. Got a very good rate online which made the value-to-rate ratio high. Many of the rooms were recently renovated, and mine (apparently an upgrade--I recommend it) was very comfortable, contemporary and clean. The bathroom has a separate shower and tub, along with a toilet with heated seat and other features. The beds are new and luxurious. Free wireless and a traditional set-up for tea in the room. Excellent staff--every friendly, good knowledge of English for tourists. The neighborhood is far more interesting than some of the tourist mainstays, a little gritty because there is some light manufacturing in the area and lots of little shops. But you will get a more authentic view of Seoul here than in the expat regions. Now, some tips. You can take the #6015 bus from the airport for very low cost. It runs through some local neighborhoods of Seoul that you might not otherwise see. Where it lets you off for the PJ Hotel, the hotel is nowhere to be seen. I had to look for a few minutes to find a sign for the hotel, and then roll my luggage 200 meters (according to the sign at least) through an alley to the hotel. It was fine in the morning, but at night I would take a taxi. The hotel won't give a cash advance on a credit card, which some other hotels in Seoul will do, but there is an ATM below the hotel. You have to take steps up to the hotel from street level, though there is a conveyor belt for luggage. All in all, a beautiful room, welcoming staff, interesting neighborhood....a great stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 5th floor all appear to be renovated and modern. Don't know about rooms on oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anemoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yongsune, 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination.

Your detailed review about our hotel is very helpful to us.
We will keep trying to improve our service for the guest convenience.

We, hope to have a chance to see you again at Hotel PJ when you visit Seoul next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Good points - good location, close to Metro station, easy walk to Meyong-Dong for shopping and restaurants, and the area by the nearby university is quite lively. Decent breakfast, and good value. Huge, comfy bed. Good standard of cleanliness. Free shuttle bus to several useful locations. Helpful staff with decent standard of English. Free bottled water replaced daily.

Bad points - air conditioning was turned off during our stay (early October), leaving our room uncomfortably hot. We were provided with a fan, but we still found the room too warm and I found it hard to sleep. Television was small, and reception was poor quality. Bathroom decor and fittings seemed quite old.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biscuits76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yongsune, 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for writing down very useful review on tripadvisor.

Based in your valuable advice, we will change our defect as soon as possible.
Next time when you visit Seoul, please choose us again and check our service and make a nice memory with us.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

pj hotel seoul is centrally located in seoul within attraction area. in house free shelter bus to dongdaemun, namdaemun, lotte department store, and myeongdong hyper shopping street. subway is just 5 minutes walk to Eujiro 3-ga station. Tripadvisor please change the location map to Eujiro 3-ga instead of Eujiro 2 -ga, I was trying to walk to Pj hotel with your navigator but your map was wrongly pointed. Meantime, I would like to say thank you to Pj hotel for upgrading me to much bigger room, corner unit suit with pantry area and big living hall and big jacuzzi bathroom. Service is excellent at reception and concierge counter too. I will come back to PJ hotel for my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvonechong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yongsune, 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for choosing Hotel PJ as your vacation destination.

First of all, we are very sorry to hear your story on your way to come to our hotel.
If you visit again, please check our latest information on our website.
Then you can get accurate information details.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Location is near Myengdong and Dongdaemun. Subway station was 5-minute walk, so it was easy to get around in town. Sometimes taxi ride turns out to be cheaper when few of you are travelling together.
It is situated at some back streets which was a put off. However, the shuttle was a nice touch especially the late night shuttle to Dongdaemun.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
I think this hotel mostly caters for Japanese tourists as most of the staff are more fluent in Japanese than English.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spotngrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yongsune, 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for staying us while you're visiting Seoul.
We are pleasure to hear your review on tripadvisor.

As you mentioned above, we offer free shuttle bus service from the hotel to Myeongdong and Dongdaemoon area for our guest. Recently, we extended the schedule so guest can use the shuttle bus even after midnight.

We are continually trying to give nice service to our guest, so please enjoy our service when you visit Seoul again.

Thank you and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
Level Contributor
217 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Shared a triple room, 3 beds. Room was spacious and well equipped. Face masks were provided everyday. Only in Korea! They were good.
The location is good, 5-10 min walk to Chung muro station, depends how fast you walk. But the walk is along an alley, so if you have big luggage it's not ideal, although it's flat.
The hotel provides scheduled shuttle buses to nearby stations and sights, but they can get full at peak times, so you need to get on earlier than the scheduled times.
My biggest grip is with the concierge. it really depends who you get. One guy was really helpful, but those with poor English were clueless and made no effort to follow through.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nettyli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yongsune, 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for choosing PJ hotel as your holiday destination.
We are very happy to hearing from you through the comment.

First of all, we are very sorry if you feel so handful when you had a conversation with our staff.
We always try to improve ourselves.
Someday when you visit our hotel again, we promise that we will give you more nice service.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you at PJ hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#16 of 472 in Seoul
608 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Hotel Seoul
#39 of 472 in Seoul
969 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#11 of 472 in Seoul
1,248 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel PJ Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel PJ Myeongdong

Property: Hotel PJ Myeongdong
Address: 71, Mareunnae-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04548, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Seoul
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#22 Business Hotel in Seoul
#27 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel PJ Myeongdong 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, HotelPJ, have always tried our best to provide our guests with high-quality service and convenience. Located favorably in the center of seoul, our hotel is equipped with comfortable guest rooms and various entertainment facilities. Under these optimum conditions, we will requite to our guests by best service and support. Our guest rooms are more comfortable and spacious than any other hotel in the same class and provide an executive floor designed for business visitors. It will be ready in order to meet the diverse need ofour guests and provide all the facilities and services. Services: Key card for guestroom and elevator, LCD TV, safety box, electric kettle, balcony(in some guestrooms), fabric refresher, water purifier/ice machine on each floor, free Wi-Fi access, tea cups, tumbler,ice pail, electric bidet, bathtub, complimentary mineral water/tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel PJ Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pj Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing