We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unexpected gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel PJ Myeongdong
Ranked #34 of 474 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

When I had to make last-minute arrangements for a hotel in Seoul, and all the usual places were taken, I read some reviews and tried the PJ Hotel. Got a very good rate online which made the value-to-rate ratio high. Many of the rooms were recently renovated, and mine (apparently an upgrade--I recommend it) was very comfortable, contemporary and clean. The bathroom has a separate shower and tub, along with a toilet with heated seat and other features. The beds are new and luxurious. Free wireless and a traditional set-up for tea in the room. Excellent staff--every friendly, good knowledge of English for tourists. The neighborhood is far more interesting than some of the tourist mainstays, a little gritty because there is some light manufacturing in the area and lots of little shops. But you will get a more authentic view of Seoul here than in the expat regions. Now, some tips. You can take the #6015 bus from the airport for very low cost. It runs through some local neighborhoods of Seoul that you might not otherwise see. Where it lets you off for the PJ Hotel, the hotel is nowhere to be seen. I had to look for a few minutes to find a sign for the hotel, and then roll my luggage 200 meters (according to the sign at least) through an alley to the hotel. It was fine in the morning, but at night I would take a taxi. The hotel won't give a cash advance on a credit card, which some other hotels in Seoul will do, but there is an ATM below the hotel. You have to take steps up to the hotel from street level, though there is a conveyor belt for luggage. All in all, a beautiful room, welcoming staff, interesting neighborhood....a great stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 5th floor all appear to be renovated and modern. Don't know about rooms on oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anemoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yongsune, 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination.

Your detailed review about our hotel is very helpful to us.
We will keep trying to improve our service for the guest convenience.

We, hope to have a chance to see you again at Hotel PJ when you visit Seoul next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    596
    129
    21
    10
See reviews for
443
208
92
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Good points - good location, close to Metro station, easy walk to Meyong-Dong for shopping and restaurants, and the area by the nearby university is quite lively. Decent breakfast, and good value. Huge, comfy bed. Good standard of cleanliness. Free shuttle bus to several useful locations. Helpful staff with decent standard of English. Free bottled water replaced daily.

Bad points - air conditioning was turned off during our stay (early October), leaving our room uncomfortably hot. We were provided with a fan, but we still found the room too warm and I found it hard to sleep. Television was small, and reception was poor quality. Bathroom decor and fittings seemed quite old.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biscuits76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yongsune, 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for writing down very useful review on tripadvisor.

Based in your valuable advice, we will change our defect as soon as possible.
Next time when you visit Seoul, please choose us again and check our service and make a nice memory with us.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

pj hotel seoul is centrally located in seoul within attraction area. in house free shelter bus to dongdaemun, namdaemun, lotte department store, and myeongdong hyper shopping street. subway is just 5 minutes walk to Eujiro 3-ga station. Tripadvisor please change the location map to Eujiro 3-ga instead of Eujiro 2 -ga, I was trying to walk to Pj hotel with your navigator but your map was wrongly pointed. Meantime, I would like to say thank you to Pj hotel for upgrading me to much bigger room, corner unit suit with pantry area and big living hall and big jacuzzi bathroom. Service is excellent at reception and concierge counter too. I will come back to PJ hotel for my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvonechong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yongsune, 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for choosing Hotel PJ as your vacation destination.

First of all, we are very sorry to hear your story on your way to come to our hotel.
If you visit again, please check our latest information on our website.
Then you can get accurate information details.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Location is near Myengdong and Dongdaemun. Subway station was 5-minute walk, so it was easy to get around in town. Sometimes taxi ride turns out to be cheaper when few of you are travelling together.
It is situated at some back streets which was a put off. However, the shuttle was a nice touch especially the late night shuttle to Dongdaemun.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
I think this hotel mostly caters for Japanese tourists as most of the staff are more fluent in Japanese than English.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spotngrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yongsune, 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for staying us while you're visiting Seoul.
We are pleasure to hear your review on tripadvisor.

As you mentioned above, we offer free shuttle bus service from the hotel to Myeongdong and Dongdaemoon area for our guest. Recently, we extended the schedule so guest can use the shuttle bus even after midnight.

We are continually trying to give nice service to our guest, so please enjoy our service when you visit Seoul again.

Thank you and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
Level Contributor
199 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Shared a triple room, 3 beds. Room was spacious and well equipped. Face masks were provided everyday. Only in Korea! They were good.
The location is good, 5-10 min walk to Chung muro station, depends how fast you walk. But the walk is along an alley, so if you have big luggage it's not ideal, although it's flat.
The hotel provides scheduled shuttle buses to nearby stations and sights, but they can get full at peak times, so you need to get on earlier than the scheduled times.
My biggest grip is with the concierge. it really depends who you get. One guy was really helpful, but those with poor English were clueless and made no effort to follow through.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nettyli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yongsune, 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for choosing PJ hotel as your holiday destination.
We are very happy to hearing from you through the comment.

First of all, we are very sorry if you feel so handful when you had a conversation with our staff.
We always try to improve ourselves.
Someday when you visit our hotel again, we promise that we will give you more nice service.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you at PJ hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

As we flew overnite and our flight was delayed we decided to take a Taxi which costs about $95 AUD. which we expected. We stayed in double room and the bed was two singles pushed together (but you could not tell from sleeping in it) so it was huge. Air-con was perfect. Bathroom more than adequate. We had a view of a baseball practise area which my husband loved. We only had a couple of breakfasts at the hotel as we like to get out and about and found it expensive for the amount that we eat at breakfast. We only had a couple of dealings with the staff and found them very helpfull. We made good use of the shuttle bus. Once we got our bearings we had no problems getting about on the Tube/Metro/Subway. The hotel location was as I expected when I booked this particular hotel. One point to note for Westerners - there is no milk in the fridge but there is a little shop about 3-4 minutes away. Bring your own coffee and tea also if you are fussy about your first cuppa/coffee of the day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yongsune, 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for choosing PJ hotel as your holiday destination.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay at PJ hotel during your trip to Seoul.
We,hope to have the chance to see you again at PJ hotel when you visit Seoul next time.

Thank you again and we look forward to hearing from you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
288 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel was decent. After taking the airport shuttle ( there are two bus numbers to this hotel) one has to walk about ten minutes under a car park. The hotel is in a commercial type area, but also has a few small restaurants. It is walking distance to Myeondong market. The hotel shuttle takes you to Insadon market, where we bought most of our souvenirs. The hotel restaurant is good, but closed on Sundays.

Finally, the concierge was the go to guy for everything. Our suitcase was damaged in the airport bus, and the concierge rang the company. They came to the hotel, picked our suitcase, and repaired it in a day!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandeepina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Guest,
we highly appreciate your review about our hotel because it's very important for us to know the opinions of our guests. And we also really glad to hear that for you it was a pleasure to stay here with us. Thank you very much.

Have a nice day)
Best regards from PJHotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#18 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Lotte City Hotel Guro
#2 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Prince Hotel Seoul
#38 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel PJ Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel PJ Myeongdong

Property: Hotel PJ Myeongdong
Address: 71, Mareunnae-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04548, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Seoul
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#22 Business Hotel in Seoul
#26 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#46 Best Value Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel PJ Myeongdong 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, HotelPJ, have always tried our best to provide our guests with high-quality service and convenience. Located favorably in the center of seoul, our hotel is equipped with comfortable guest rooms and various entertainment facilities. Under these optimum conditions, we will requite to our guests by best service and support. Our guest rooms are more comfortable and spacious than any other hotel in the same class and provide an executive floor designed for business visitors. It will be ready in order to meet the diverse need ofour guests and provide all the facilities and services. Services: Key card for guestroom and elevator, LCD TV, safety box, electric kettle, balcony(in some guestrooms), fabric refresher, water purifier/ice machine on each floor, free Wi-Fi access, tea cups, tumbler,ice pail, electric bidet, bathtub, complimentary mineral water/tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel PJ Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pj Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing