We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location - sort out the air con, please!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel PJ Myeongdong
Ranked #40 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Good points - good location, close to Metro station, easy walk to Meyong-Dong for shopping and restaurants, and the area by the nearby university is quite lively. Decent breakfast, and good value. Huge, comfy bed. Good standard of cleanliness. Free shuttle bus to several useful locations. Helpful staff with decent standard of English. Free bottled water replaced daily.

Bad points - air conditioning was turned off during our stay (early October), leaving our room uncomfortably hot. We were provided with a fan, but we still found the room too warm and I found it hard to sleep. Television was small, and reception was poor quality. Bathroom decor and fittings seemed quite old.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biscuits76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yongsune, 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for writing down very useful review on tripadvisor.

Based in your valuable advice, we will change our defect as soon as possible.
Next time when you visit Seoul, please choose us again and check our service and make a nice memory with us.

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 494 of 1,569 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

pj hotel seoul is centrally located in seoul within attraction area. in house free shelter bus to dongdaemun, namdaemun, lotte department store, and myeongdong hyper shopping street. subway is just 5 minutes walk to Eujiro 3-ga station. Tripadvisor please change the location map to Eujiro 3-ga instead of Eujiro 2 -ga, I was trying to walk to Pj hotel with your navigator but your map was wrongly pointed. Meantime, I would like to say thank you to Pj hotel for upgrading me to much bigger room, corner unit suit with pantry area and big living hall and big jacuzzi bathroom. Service is excellent at reception and concierge counter too. I will come back to PJ hotel for my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yvonechong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yongsune, 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for choosing Hotel PJ as your vacation destination.

First of all, we are very sorry to hear your story on your way to come to our hotel.
If you visit again, please check our latest information on our website.
Then you can get accurate information details.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Location is near Myengdong and Dongdaemun. Subway station was 5-minute walk, so it was easy to get around in town. Sometimes taxi ride turns out to be cheaper when few of you are travelling together.
It is situated at some back streets which was a put off. However, the shuttle was a nice touch especially the late night shuttle to Dongdaemun.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
I think this hotel mostly caters for Japanese tourists as most of the staff are more fluent in Japanese than English.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spotngrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yongsune, 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for staying us while you're visiting Seoul.
We are pleasure to hear your review on tripadvisor.

As you mentioned above, we offer free shuttle bus service from the hotel to Myeongdong and Dongdaemoon area for our guest. Recently, we extended the schedule so guest can use the shuttle bus even after midnight.

We are continually trying to give nice service to our guest, so please enjoy our service when you visit Seoul again.

Thank you and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Shared a triple room, 3 beds. Room was spacious and well equipped. Face masks were provided everyday. Only in Korea! They were good.
The location is good, 5-10 min walk to Chung muro station, depends how fast you walk. But the walk is along an alley, so if you have big luggage it's not ideal, although it's flat.
The hotel provides scheduled shuttle buses to nearby stations and sights, but they can get full at peak times, so you need to get on earlier than the scheduled times.
My biggest grip is with the concierge. it really depends who you get. One guy was really helpful, but those with poor English were clueless and made no effort to follow through.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Netster11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yongsune, 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for choosing PJ hotel as your holiday destination.
We are very happy to hearing from you through the comment.

First of all, we are very sorry if you feel so handful when you had a conversation with our staff.
We always try to improve ourselves.
Someday when you visit our hotel again, we promise that we will give you more nice service.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you at PJ hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

As we flew overnite and our flight was delayed we decided to take a Taxi which costs about $95 AUD. which we expected. We stayed in double room and the bed was two singles pushed together (but you could not tell from sleeping in it) so it was huge. Air-con was perfect. Bathroom more than adequate. We had a view of a baseball practise area which my husband loved. We only had a couple of breakfasts at the hotel as we like to get out and about and found it expensive for the amount that we eat at breakfast. We only had a couple of dealings with the staff and found them very helpfull. We made good use of the shuttle bus. Once we got our bearings we had no problems getting about on the Tube/Metro/Subway. The hotel location was as I expected when I booked this particular hotel. One point to note for Westerners - there is no milk in the fridge but there is a little shop about 3-4 minutes away. Bring your own coffee and tea also if you are fussy about your first cuppa/coffee of the day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JanieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yongsune, 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for choosing PJ hotel as your holiday destination.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay at PJ hotel during your trip to Seoul.
We,hope to have the chance to see you again at PJ hotel when you visit Seoul next time.

Thank you again and we look forward to hearing from you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel was decent. After taking the airport shuttle ( there are two bus numbers to this hotel) one has to walk about ten minutes under a car park. The hotel is in a commercial type area, but also has a few small restaurants. It is walking distance to Myeondong market. The hotel shuttle takes you to Insadon market, where we bought most of our souvenirs. The hotel restaurant is good, but closed on Sundays.

Finally, the concierge was the go to guy for everything. Our suitcase was damaged in the airport bus, and the concierge rang the company. They came to the hotel, picked our suitcase, and repaired it in a day!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandeepina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

Dear Guest,
we highly appreciate your review about our hotel because it's very important for us to know the opinions of our guests. And we also really glad to hear that for you it was a pleasure to stay here with us. Thank you very much.

Have a nice day)
Best regards from PJHotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We arrived at night and had to go down the "dark alley". I was beginning to wonder what sort of accommodation we were in for and then we saw it. Situated in an interesting area it was very central. The hotel staff were great and very helpful especially Mr. Lee the doorman. Our room was not huge but it was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was wonderful - very modern and well equiped.
For the nervous traveller do not be put off by the area - it is perfectly safe. We wandered down one of the little side streets one evening and life went on and no one bother us.
The "dark alley" turned out to be a very narrow side street at the top of which was a Paris Bagette were we would often go for ice cream in the evenings.
We enjoyed our short stay in Seoul and would recommend it to anyone. It was clean (unlike Thailand) and the taxis were very reasonably priced. The food was good and although we did not speak the language we managed to order things we liked and enjoyed.

Room Tip: The metal chopsticks need a bit of getting used to, so if you are not very adept take some wooden on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kentishmaid67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

Dear Guest,
we highly appreciate your review about our hotel because it's very important for us to know the opinions of our guests. And we also really glad to hear that for you it was a pleasure to stay here with us. Thank you very much.

Have a nice day)
Best regards from PJHotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Hotel Seoul
#44 of 504 in Seoul
1,043 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Tmark Hotel Myeongdong
Tmark Hotel Myeongdong
#50 of 504 in Seoul
463 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel PJ Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel PJ Myeongdong

Address: 71, Mareunnae-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04548, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Seoul
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#22 Business Hotel in Seoul
#28 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#50 Best Value Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: $69 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel PJ Myeongdong 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, HotelPJ, have always tried our best to provide our guests with high-quality service and convenience. Located favorably in the center of seoul, our hotel is equipped with comfortable guest rooms and various entertainment facilities. Under these optimum conditions, we will requite to our guests by best service and support. Our guest rooms are more comfortable and spacious than any other hotel in the same class and provide an executive floor designed for business visitors. It will be ready in order to meet the diverse need ofour guests and provide all the facilities and services. Services: Key card for guestroom and elevator, LCD TV, safety box, electric kettle, balcony(in some guestrooms), fabric refresher, water purifier/ice machine on each floor, free Wi-Fi access, tea cups, tumbler,ice pail, electric bidet, bathtub, complimentary mineral water/tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel PJ Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pj Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing