We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient & Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel PJ Myeongdong
Ranked #41 of 505 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The PJ is centrally located and convenient to many of the sights in Seoul.
Easy walking distance to the main shopping areas, museums, and transit.

The staff have limited English, but will try and accommodate (though if you are comparing them to Japanese service, it is FAR from coming in at a close second).

The rooms we were given via Booking.com were the small economical lower tier rooms, however as small as they were, they were clean with a good bathroom, a tight squeeze for a couple with luggage.
Roomservice, ie. housekeeping was somewhat slow at making the room up daily.

The air conditioning was a bit of an issue during our stay; they tried, sent some staff up, but at the end of the day, still wasn't working 100%....offered us a fan, but the windows do open and it helped.

There are many little restaurants (and Starbucks) around the hotel that offer meals at significantly lower prices than the PJ.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drkayotica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

Dear Guest,
we highly appreciate your review about our hotel because it's very important for us to know the opinions of our guests. And we also really glad to hear that for you it was a pleasure to stay here with us. Thank you very much.

Have a nice day)
Best regards from PJHotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 1,616 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stayed at PJ’s in Seoul during the Chinese New Year holiday Jan 23rd to 26th, with a couple of colleagues from work (Shenyang) and it was very relaxing. I actually decided on this hotel after reading some reviews in “Trip Advisor”. The pricing was competitive and the location ideal for what we wanted to do whilst in Seoul. After arriving at the airport we were able to identify the correct shuttle bus to take us to the hotel without any difficulty, the process was seamless which is always a plus when arriving in an unfamiliar city. Mind you having arrived at the drop off point I was a little bewildered as there was no hotel in sight? Luckily the bus driver was able to give us directions down a small alleyway about 200 meters and we were in front of the hotel, excellent. No problem with the book in and the staff were helpful, and some English was understood. There were heaps of “what to do brochures” for us to select from and any questions were promptly answered. We picked a river cruise, nice enough but not a lot to see as the city is away from the river, also a trip to the DMZ, certainly worthwhile but better to book a FEW DAYS in advance as passport details etc are required by the organiser for checking and this can take a couple of days, do it early to avoid disappointment. Also walked from the hotel to the TV tower about a kilometre, great view over the city and plenty of food and drink places at various levels of the tower. Sorry for the digression, back to the hotel, very comfortable rooms good bed and the amazing toilet seat warmers.. I had not experienced these phenomena before, quite amazing and will always be part of my memory of PJ’s Seoul. The emergency Also the room had a decent balcony where you could sit outside have a smoke and a beer and look over the city. ATM’s were just across the road and several restaraunts within 100-200 metres and a 24 hour supermarket just up on the main road. Breakfast was also well catered for with Korean and Western options available at the buffet.
First class staff and attention to detail was excellent which made the stay very comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oztraveller1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

Dear Guest,
we highly appreciate your review about our hotel because it's very important for us to know the opinions of our guests. And we also really glad to hear that for you it was a pleasure to stay here with us. Thank you very much.

Have a nice day)
Best regards from PJHotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Although only 2/3 stops away from the main tourist attractions in Seoul, this hotel stands out from the surrounding as the area is full of small shops and lack of the energy. It was a little hard to find at first if you use the Euljiro 4-ga station, but much easier from Euljiro 3-ga. There is a free shuttle bus to Namdaemun, Myongdong and Dongdaemun, but these areas are also not that far, about 15 - 20 min. walk.
I find the room to be decent for the prize offered (KRW 150,000 for 2 during peak season), and the bed was comfortable. They gave me a room on the top with view of the Seoul Tower. However, I'm not happy with the torn (looks like scratches) in the bed cover.
The plus side, the staffs - the receptionist, doorman and concierge - were very helpful in helping my trip in Seoul. And even better if you speak Japanese because most of them are very fluent in it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rai4a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Friendly staff - They informed me of the hotel's free shuttle to the nearby tourist districts, referred a nearby jimjilbang (Korean spa, must try) and cheap good restaurants, upgrade to a nicer deluxe room because of the smell of smoke in my room, and even check to confirm that I can make it to the airport on time (running across town to catch a 4DX movie, a must try if you're not from Asia).

Room - I got a king size comfy bed, nice size room, very clean. Could use a few more TV channels.

Reason why I didn't give it 5 stars is because of the location. Can be pretty quiet at night because the businesses nearby (mainly printing shops and retail shops) are closed. Safe, but quiet...

Room Tip: Try the Metro Spa for a local Korean jimjilbang experience, literally across the street from the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheap_flashpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

Dear Guest,
we highly appreciate your review about our hotel because it's very important for us to know the opinions of our guests. And we also really glad to hear that for you it was a pleasure to stay here with us. Thank you very much.

Have a nice day)
Best regards from PJHotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

As most other people have said, the hotel is a little hard to find. When you get off the airport limousine bus (no. 6015) near Chungmuro Station, you can see a little alley between Kia Motors and Paris Baguette cafe.

It looks really dodgy, but if you walk straight down the alley and go all the way to the end...you will see a relatively modern looking building which is PJ hotel (you'll see it at the end of this alley, across the road from where you're standing by this stage).

Location wise, it doesn't look like much but it's actually really convenient (close to Myeongdong, Namsan, Namdaemum...basically, it's close to most things that tourists want to do/look for. It's also a few stations away from Gyeongbukgung and Anguk on the same train line, so if you want to do the palace and what not, it's all not too far off).

Regarding the hotel itself, the rooms are actually really modern, rather spacious (I stayed in a double room on my own for two nights), and the bed is pretty comfy. The concierge/reception and bell staff are all really conscientious and efficient. Their not exceptionally chatty nor did they seem overtly friendly, but they did their jobs well. Overall, I have no complaints whatsoever, had a very pleasant stay. They also offered a shuttle bus service to some of the nearby attractions like Myeongdong and Dongdaemun (I didn't take the bus, so I can't speak of how that service was for me).

Also, fun fact about Chungmuro (the area in which PJ Hotel is located): it is apparently the home of Korean movies (according to my local friend); it houses a good number of shops selling those miniature dogs (you'll see it if you walk down the street where Chungmuro station/the airport limousine bus stop area is).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

Dear Guest,
we highly appreciate your review about our hotel because it's very important for us to know the opinions of our guests. And we also really glad to hear that for you it was a pleasure to stay here with us. Thank you very much.

Have a nice day)
Best regards from PJHotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed for four nights in this hotel last year. Prices acceptable, and we got room update to deluxe suite in our second checkin(booked 3night + 1night few days later), the original price was 350K WON!!!! wowow. The location of the hotel is okay, metro stations are in 5 mins walk, sightseeing/shopping area are few stops distance. the staffs there are nice with understandable english.
The reason I don't give full mark is no breakfast serve and hotel facilities(I rarely swim inside hotel although, esp in town)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

Dear Guest,
we highly appreciate your review about our hotel because it's very important for us to know the opinions of our guests. And we also really glad to hear that for you it was a pleasure to stay here with us. Thank you very much.

Have a nice day)
Best regards from PJHotel.Dear Guest,
we highly appreciate your review about our hotel because it's very important for us to know the opinions of our guests. And we also really glad to hear that for you it was a pleasure to stay here with us. Thank you very much.

Have a nice day)
Best regards from PJHotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Nice hotel centrally located. Polite staff (though, english was not their strong side.) Big rooms and pretty good breakfast buffet

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomas j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

Dear Guest,
we highly appreciate your review about our hotel because it's very important for us to know the opinions of our guests. And we also really glad to hear that for you it was a pleasure to stay here with us. Thank you very much.

Have a nice day)
Best regards from PJHotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Tmark Hotel Myeongdong
Tmark Hotel Myeongdong
#51 of 505 in Seoul
483 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Prince Hotel Seoul
#46 of 505 in Seoul
1,075 reviews
Lotte City Hotel Guro
#5 of 505 in Seoul
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel PJ Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel PJ Myeongdong

Address: 71, Mareunnae-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04548, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#22 Business Hotel in Seoul
#29 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: $77 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel PJ Myeongdong 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, HotelPJ, have always tried our best to provide our guests with high-quality service and convenience. Located favorably in the center of seoul, our hotel is equipped with comfortable guest rooms and various entertainment facilities. Under these optimum conditions, we will requite to our guests by best service and support. Our guest rooms are more comfortable and spacious than any other hotel in the same class and provide an executive floor designed for business visitors. It will be ready in order to meet the diverse need ofour guests and provide all the facilities and services. Services: Key card for guestroom and elevator, LCD TV, safety box, electric kettle, balcony(in some guestrooms), fabric refresher, water purifier/ice machine on each floor, free Wi-Fi access, tea cups, tumbler,ice pail, electric bidet, bathtub, complimentary mineral water/tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel PJ Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pj Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing