We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location initially hard to find, but nice hotel find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel PJ Myeongdong
Ranked #39 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Location initially hard to find, but nice hotel find!”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

As most other people have said, the hotel is a little hard to find. When you get off the airport limousine bus (no. 6015) near Chungmuro Station, you can see a little alley between Kia Motors and Paris Baguette cafe.

It looks really dodgy, but if you walk straight down the alley and go all the way to the end...you will see a relatively modern looking building which is PJ hotel (you'll see it at the end of this alley, across the road from where you're standing by this stage).

Location wise, it doesn't look like much but it's actually really convenient (close to Myeongdong, Namsan, Namdaemum...basically, it's close to most things that tourists want to do/look for. It's also a few stations away from Gyeongbukgung and Anguk on the same train line, so if you want to do the palace and what not, it's all not too far off).

Regarding the hotel itself, the rooms are actually really modern, rather spacious (I stayed in a double room on my own for two nights), and the bed is pretty comfy. The concierge/reception and bell staff are all really conscientious and efficient. Their not exceptionally chatty nor did they seem overtly friendly, but they did their jobs well. Overall, I have no complaints whatsoever, had a very pleasant stay. They also offered a shuttle bus service to some of the nearby attractions like Myeongdong and Dongdaemun (I didn't take the bus, so I can't speak of how that service was for me).

Also, fun fact about Chungmuro (the area in which PJ Hotel is located): it is apparently the home of Korean movies (according to my local friend); it houses a good number of shops selling those miniature dogs (you'll see it if you walk down the street where Chungmuro station/the airport limousine bus stop area is).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Guest,
we highly appreciate your review about our hotel because it's very important for us to know the opinions of our guests. And we also really glad to hear that for you it was a pleasure to stay here with us. Thank you very much.

Have a nice day)
Best regards from PJHotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    634
    138
    22
    10
See reviews for
486
220
97
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed for four nights in this hotel last year. Prices acceptable, and we got room update to deluxe suite in our second checkin(booked 3night + 1night few days later), the original price was 350K WON!!!! wowow. The location of the hotel is okay, metro stations are in 5 mins walk, sightseeing/shopping area are few stops distance. the staffs there are nice with understandable english.
The reason I don't give full mark is no breakfast serve and hotel facilities(I rarely swim inside hotel although, esp in town)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Guest,
we highly appreciate your review about our hotel because it's very important for us to know the opinions of our guests. And we also really glad to hear that for you it was a pleasure to stay here with us. Thank you very much.

Have a nice day)
Best regards from PJHotel.Dear Guest,
we highly appreciate your review about our hotel because it's very important for us to know the opinions of our guests. And we also really glad to hear that for you it was a pleasure to stay here with us. Thank you very much.

Have a nice day)
Best regards from PJHotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Nice hotel centrally located. Polite staff (though, english was not their strong side.) Big rooms and pretty good breakfast buffet

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Guest,
we highly appreciate your review about our hotel because it's very important for us to know the opinions of our guests. And we also really glad to hear that for you it was a pleasure to stay here with us. Thank you very much.

Have a nice day)
Best regards from PJHotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

great hotel. Good rooms and helpful professional staff. it's quite centrally located but in a bit of a run down neighborhood with only 'local' restaurants. Short walk to station which is fine but a bit daunting trying to find the place for the first time as you'll have to walk down a side street which doesn't look like it'll lead anywhere. But getting there is half the fun (?)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktari3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We initially booked this hotel because we thought the bus would stop in front of it. But apparently, it is around a 5 minute walk from the PJ Hotel stop of the Airport Bus. So we had to carry our luggage along the streets to get to the hotel. It would be a great improvement if the hotel could provide frequent transfer service between the airport bus stop and the hotel. The location of the hotel makes it hard to access through the subway. There are a number of convenience stores located near the hotel.

The room is very spacious. It even includes a balcony for smokers. It has all the amenities one can expect from a 4-star hotel. It lacks stirrers or spoons for making coffee but makes up for it by having a tea set. Internet in the hotel is free and each room has a separate router which makes for fast internet speed. I particularly liked the bathroom because of the automatic toilets. Late check out which is usually given free of charge in other hotels, is paid here at 40,000 KRW for check out at 2PM.

The service is very good. We had no problem checking in, leaving our luggage, and making requests. The hotel offers a free shuttle bus to Myeong Dong, Namdaemun, and Dongdaemun. I will not mind checking in to this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank engdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Traveling with 2 children, I booked PJ Hotel based on the positive reviews here. We got a premier twin room that had a king and twin beds. We loved the dining nook by the window & the high tech options on the toilet seat which include seat warmer, bidet and dryer (lol). The beds were comfy enough for us and service was prompt when we requested extra pillows.

The room had 3 robes, 3 sets of slippers, a safe, hair dryer, water heater, coffee & tea, ice bucket & free bottles of water. Bathroom had a tub & separate shower stall. Toiletries were by Aveda. No toothpaste nor toothbrush were provided though. I liked the ice & water dispenser near the elevator which saved us trips to the convenient store lugging water bottles.

Arriving early from Incheon, they could not check us in early though but we were allowed to leave our luggage with the concierge. Check-in time was 2pm & check out was at 12 noon.
Check-in was quick. We were given 2 key cards that we used to access the elevators, the sliding door accessing the hallway to our room & to open our room door. I liked the idea of just putting the card against the sensor instead of inserting them into slots like in other hotels which tend to malfunction more than often. The hotel required the key cards to be returned to the front desk upon check out though. On our last day, we left our luggage again with the concierge while we explored more of Seoul before our evening flight.

We did not try any of the hotel restaurants. We tried one of the local restaurants down the road though which was good with prices much more reasonable than in Myeongdong. There's a Paris Baguette near Chungmoro Station. Facing the main hotel entrance on the left side on the hotel building, there's a Family Mart convenience store. We also made quick trips to a 7 Eleven right outside Chungmuro Station.

Getting to the hotel, we took the Airport Limousine #6015 from Incheon bus stand 5b at the arrivals hall on the 1st floor. Information desks at the airport gave English maps & pointed to the "Global ATM" machines. Adult fare was 10,000 krw and child fare was 8,000 krw each way. Bus stops by the Chungmuro Station exit 8. From there, walk through a road under an elevated parking facility. Go straight for about 5 minutes easy stroll & the hotel will be there. There's a conveyor for luggage on the left side.

The hotel provides a free shuttle during day time to train station / airport bus stop, Myeongdong, Nandaemun, etc. At night, the hotel shuttle goes to Dongdaemun market.

Concierge can provide tour brochures if one opts to take guided tours. The Namsamgol Folk Village is a few minutes walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Book the premier twin room with a view of N Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lush88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Guest,
we highly appreciate your review about our hotel because it's very important for us to know the opinions of our guests. And we also really glad to hear that for you it was a pleasure to stay here with us. Thank you very much.

Have a nice day)
Best regards from PJHotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

i have booked this hotel based on the positive reviews i read here. the hotel's location on google maps turned out not to be its exact location.the hotel's location wasn't as easy to locate as the first hotel we stayed in.. the room we got had three beds, enough to accommodate our family with three kids. I paid for three adults(considering my eldest kid was turning 13 already),but the concierge insisted that i pay for my other kid who is 11 years old. which pissed me off.. i paid 14k a night (325usd).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kuromi1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Guest,
we highly appreciate your review about our hotel because it's very important for us to know the opinions of our guests. And we also really glad to hear that for you it was a pleasure to stay here with us. Thank you very much.

Have a nice day)
Best regards from PJHotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#17 of 472 in Seoul
615 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Hotel Seoul
#41 of 472 in Seoul
989 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#11 of 472 in Seoul
1,251 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Tmark Hotel Myeongdong
Tmark Hotel Myeongdong
#50 of 472 in Seoul
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel PJ Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel PJ Myeongdong

Property: Hotel PJ Myeongdong
Address: 71, Mareunnae-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04548, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Seoul
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#22 Business Hotel in Seoul
#24 Best Value Hotel in Seoul
#27 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel PJ Myeongdong 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, HotelPJ, have always tried our best to provide our guests with high-quality service and convenience. Located favorably in the center of seoul, our hotel is equipped with comfortable guest rooms and various entertainment facilities. Under these optimum conditions, we will requite to our guests by best service and support. Our guest rooms are more comfortable and spacious than any other hotel in the same class and provide an executive floor designed for business visitors. It will be ready in order to meet the diverse need ofour guests and provide all the facilities and services. Services: Key card for guestroom and elevator, LCD TV, safety box, electric kettle, balcony(in some guestrooms), fabric refresher, water purifier/ice machine on each floor, free Wi-Fi access, tea cups, tumbler,ice pail, electric bidet, bathtub, complimentary mineral water/tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel PJ Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pj Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing