We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas
Ranked #30 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

It is a very nice hotel which the location is very good and within 5min walking distance to the subway....
A little bit inconvenient right now due to renovation of the hotel and it is inaccessible from the basement of Coex,but well...all the upgrading works are meant to serve guests better.
overall very good experience and thanks for the upgrade of the room....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YujiLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, General Manager at Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Yuji,

Thank you so much for your favourable review of our hotel....much appreciated.

As you have mentioned, the hotel is currently being remodelled and will see some exciting and new facilities including the largest pillar-less ballroom in a hotel in Korea which will all begin to come back on line from November of this year....

Our location is truly one of the best in Seoul, subway downstairs, plenty of shopping and eating establishments around the area and of course, located in the bustling Gangnam.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to our new and improved hotel when you next travel to Seoul. Thanks again,

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    362
    108
    33
    10
See reviews for
127
160
107
543
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel looks great on their website and in older reviews. No indication that it is engulfed in a construction project on both sides. Even staying on the 26th floor you'd be awaken by the noise starting at 7 am. No pool or health club on premises, you'll have to schlep a long block to the Intercontinental COEX.
For the money you'd spend, stay elsewhere...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, General Manager at Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Olga,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor, much appreciated.

As you have highlighted, In our ongoing endeavour to provide our customers with a higher level of service and enhanced facilities, some areas of our hotel are currently in the midst of remodelling works however our hotel will continue to open and operate as normal with further details if required being available on our website.

We always encourage our guests to contact our Duty Manager if you are having any issues or problems as their role is to ensure that your stay is a comfortable and relaxing one and my apologies on behalf of all the team for not being able to meet your expectations.

I do hope that you were able to utilize our temporary fitness room which is located on the 14th floor of our building during your stay, whilst a lot smaller than our original fitness center it is open only to our in-house guests.

Alternatively our sister InterContinental Seoul, Coex located just 10 minutes walk from the Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas offers the same high level of services and fantastic facilities and would love to welcome you during your next stay should you feel inconvenienced by the current remodelling works at the Grand.

We are very much looking forward to our new public areas which will begin to come back online from November of this year and we do hope that should you return to Seoul that you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Thanks again and regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here this last week. Agent didn't indicate that the hotel was under renovations--obviously the hotel would want to keep that a secret. The entire surroundings of the hotel are a building site. The gym is in a temporary location, and it is tiny, under-equipped and dismal, and that is one of the main things I look for in a hotel. Decoration in the public spaces was nicely done, if a little stuffy. Service was haphazard; the receptions were excellent, but the concierge seemed to frequently go AWOL and no one knew where he was.

The beds are EXCELLENT. One of the best I've ever slept on. Quite firm, which is how I like it.

Overall I thought it was a nice hotel with generous amounts of space, but until the renovations are done, I would strongly recommend that you avoid it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, General Manager at Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, much appreciated.

I was disappointed to hear that your agent has not notified you prior to your visit as we have contacted all agents/guests who had prior bookings with us and advised of the upcoming works and additionally offered to move their bookings to our sister hotel the InterContinental Seoul, Coex located at the opposite end of Coex.

However please accept my apologies for your disappointment and surprise during this visit.

For guests like yourself who are looking for a comprehensive fitness centre, our guest are more than welcome to also use the fitness centre at the InterContinental Seoul, Coex during this time and whilst not located in the same building it is a short 8 minute walk from the Grand.

We are very much looking forward to our new public areas which will begin to come back online from November of this year and we do hope that should you return to Seoul that you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Thanks again and regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Wasn't exactly wowed by this place but the service was very good and everything functioned as it should.

As the title indicates, the rooms (or at least mine) are jolly tired and could do with renovation, which I believe is happening soon.

The hotel was opened in time for the 1988 Olympics - and it definitely has a bit of that late '80s vibe about it, with lots of dark wood and black marble.

Overall: is perfectly fine and would be happy enough staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golfer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, General Manager at Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, much appreciated.

As you have mentioned, In our ongoing endeavour to provide our customers with a higher level of service and enhanced facilities, some areas of our hotel are currently in the midst of remodelling works however will all come back on line, bigger and better than before, beginning in November of this year.
Further details in relation to the works are also available on our website.

If it is a more modern feel that you are looking for I would suggest trying our sister property located only 10 minutes walk from the Grand InterContinental but still connected via both the Coex Mall and the Coex Convention Center, the two properties certainly have a different feel and client base and you may find this is more to your personal liking.

That said, I do hope that should you return to Seoul after that time that you will again choose one of our InterContinental hotels both conveniently located in Seoul's famous Gangnam district.

Thanks again and best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

At first I was very pleased with this hotel. I had a quiet room on a non-smoking floor, which I requested by email before arrival. There was a great view (29th floor) and the furnishings and fittings are all very nice. There is a good range of food at breakfast, including both western and Asian options. There were renovations going on, but there was no actual disturbance from them- the only minor issues being the closure of the swimming pool (which I didn't want to use anyway) and the closure of the tunnel into Coex mall (which meant an extra 200m easy stroll). The internet connection was strong and fairly quick.

However, the second night into my stay, cigarette smoke came pouring in through the air conditioning vent. I rang the front desk, and the response was to send someone up with some air freshener. Not really good enough, when the one thing I'd asked for was a smoke-free room. My end of the corridor seemed to still have a smell the next day and visiting friends of mine confirmed the strong smell in my room. Having said that, when I approached the front desk again about it the next day they were very helpful in arranging a new room, which was on an even higher floor with a better view. It was a slightly smaller room, but everything else was the same (but less smoky!)

All in all, I would recommend this hotel, which has very good amenities, helpful staff and is located very close to Coex and to Samseong station, but I would also recommend speaking up if you ask for a non-smoking room and it smells of smoke.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blahoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, General Manager at Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent good review of our hotel, much appreciated.

I was pleased to hear that the current works taking place have not caused too many disruptions to your visit as the team here are doing everything they can to ensure we minimize any inconvenience to our guests.

Apologies for the inconvenience you did experience during your stay and I will send you a separate private email to collect more information from you to try and determine why this has occurred.

As you have highlighted, we always encourage our guests to contact our Duty Manager if you are having any issues or problems as their role is to ensure that your stay is a comfortable and relaxing one.

I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will share this with all the team.

Thank you once again for your great feedback and review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas sometime in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent hotel, best location in Seul, Near of convention center COEX mall, a big metro station, etc. Hyundai stores restaurants, direct KAL bus to airport, It is in remodelation and there are some noise, but not is a important problem. Bad : A hotel like this: have you to pay Internet? Ridiculous.Seul is a city with free internet in every corner. An excellent staff, full of kindness

Room Tip: All rooms quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorge r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, General Manager at Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent good review of our hotel, much appreciated.

I was pleased to hear that the current works taking place have not caused too many disruptions to your visit and the team are doing everything they can to ensure we minimize any inconvenience to our guests.

Our hotel will be offering free Internet to our loyal IHG Rewards Elite members from July the 1st which unfortunately you have missed out on this visit, however next time should you return to Seoul you will find that we will be offering this service in all the public areas and in the rooms.

If you are not already I would suggest that you join the IHG Rewards program to start earning your way to free stays and more importantly, free Internet usage during your stay.

Thanks again for your positive feedback on our hotel and team members and we do hope to be able to welcome you back to the Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The staff were helpful and the rooms were nice and big, but the bed was a bit too hard (and I like hard beds). The lobby was under renovation and was not able to walk underground to the adjacent shopping centre because of that. Excellent location in terms of accessibility via the KAL Limousine Bus. Not much Korean food around the area, but the food court in the adjacent Hyundai Department Store is great. I would probably choose to be in the thick of things, but it is close to COEX as well, which is good for conferences.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Comfort_Seeker999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, General Manager at Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel much appreciated.

Our location is really second to none and with so many local attractions, many within walking distance and all easily accessible, our hotel truly is a great place to base yourself whilst here in Seoul.

As you have mentioned, In our ongoing endeavour to provide our customers with a higher level of service and enhanced facilities, some areas of our hotel and the underground access to the mall are currently in the midst of remodelling works however will all come back on line, bigger and better than before, beginning in November of this year.
Further details in relation to the works are also available on our website.

I do hope that should you return to Seoul after that time that you will again choose the Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas and take the opportunity to experience our new and improved facilities.

Thanks again and best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Samseongdong / COEX
InterContinental Seoul COEX
Park Hyatt Seoul
#41 of 472 in Seoul
1,209 reviews
Samseongdong / COEX
Oakwood Premier Coex Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yeoido
Conrad Seoul
Conrad Seoul
#22 of 472 in Seoul
1,777 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas

Property: Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas
Address: 521, Teheran-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06164, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Samseongdong / COEX
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Seoul
#21 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#26 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#36 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas 5*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Seoul, the Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas is an ideal place for business travellers thanks to the hotel's proximity to KWTC, COEX, CALT, DFS, department stores and theaters. Operating with 517 spacious rooms, the hotel has completed a 10 month project of lobby, restaurants and banquet halls to look more glamorous. The new Grand Ballroom, the largest and the most updated in Korea is perfect for any event, while exquisite cuisines await you in all five hotel restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Intercontinental Seoul Parnas Hotel Seoul
Intercontinental Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing