We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely phenominal hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas
Ranked #25 of 529 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here for 8 days on a business trip. Previously stayed at the Renaissance Seoul. The Intercontinental exceeded every expectation and review. I joined the Ambassador Club prior to going, then was upgraded to a Residence Suite. Huge living room, comfortable furniture, great desk with outlets, iPhone charger, lighting, etc. Espresso machine in the room with great Italian coffee, two full bathrooms, wonderful comfortable bed with great pillows, beautiful separate dressing room, more than enough closet space. If the room wasn't great enough, the staff at this hotel are all ready and happy to serve. Club lounge always stocked with food for breakfast, lunch and dinner if you want to get a break from going out. So well done. The gym/pool/sauna were large, clean and first class. Below the hotel is the Coex mall filled with restaurants to get great local food at local prices, buy waters, drinks, etc. for the room. My hotel stay for my next trip will, without second thought, be back at this hotel. Kudos to the Intercontinental!

Room Tip: Junior suite at minimum. If you're staying for a week, I'd recommend upgrading to the Reside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edcsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

I was here for business, but is not possible forget luxury and comfort of room, best variety and quality od breakfast I ever seen in an hotel. Perfect. Extras are expensives. Cigars club was fantastic too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlessandroGennaroPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very nice hotel. Stayed on a business trip. Very large room, modern and clean. Fantastic breakfast, catering to many tastes. Excellent service from all the staff without any language barriers. Nicely located for shopping and restaurants.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank myles_na_gcopaleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Spent a night in December last year at the hotel as we wanted to get away from the relatives and spend some quality time with the family. Got an upgrade upon arrival to a suite with Priority Club.
The reason we chose this hotel was the convenience. It links directly into the COEX downstairs which basically means that you have almost everything at your fingertips, such as shopping, restaurants, cinemas and cafes without having to go outside into the freezing cold.
The hotel itself has been refurbished and quite comfortable. Well maintained and provides the usual services of an Intercontinental Hotel chain.
Like most hotels in Seoul, the staff are very accommodating and helpful.
It is however most unfortunate that I felt that some staff (this is not an observation limited to this particular hotel, it's very obvious at high-end shops) still judged guests or patrons by appearances. Just because I walked in, doesn't meant I couldn't afford a taxi or a rental or even a chauffeur. It's about being practical. Something a lot of Koreans, especially the ones in the service industry, still don't seem to understand.

Unfortunately, we didn't eat at any of the hotel restaurants as we were more interested in eating at the local Korean restaurants, but did try the afternoon tea they had on during the holiday seasons. Coming from Sydney, what was on offer wasn't great but I think it did give the family an opportunity to start getting into a festive mood.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BC_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Spent three nights in July '12 in a lovely suite at this very good hotel, with a birthday cake awaiting on entering our suite yay! This is a Grand hotel indeed, maybe slightly dated but still pretty impressive. Convenient location in Gangnam with easy walk to metro station, an excellent limo-bus service from the airport with drop-off a few steps away from hotel main entrance, and return to the airport was an easy five minutes walk to the limo-bus terminal. The terminal and the hotel are actually part-of/ linked to the massive COEX mall (with another IC at another end), which had pretty much everything that a traveler needs: restaurants, coffee-shops, delis, general shopping etc.

Still the hotel lost one star in our books due to some hiccups/'hardware' limitations as Amy (hotel guest relations/Ambassador programme rep) puts it. But Amy, HeNa and many others at the hotel are definitely five plus stars! as they really cared and excelled in softening the hotel's limitations especially for leisure guests traveling with family like ours.

Basically we feel the hotel's main focus to be at business travelers, e.g. facilities such as swimming pool off-limits to children aged below 12yrs old, inclusive breakfast is for max two pax only so expect to pay a hefty supplement for child's breakfast. All acceptable? one may ask, but problem is we were never informed of this until check-in...

As for the breakfast spread it was pretty awesome, minimal added salt, very good cuts of meat and cooked really well ie not dry/rubbery, and the omelette station chef certainly knew his job by the way he tapped his wrist to drive the pan/item in his charge. And last but not least, the bell-boy Alan who accompanied us/brought our luggage to the limo-bus terminal was so rightly proud of his commitment to offer great service as part of his job, that he absolutely and flatly refused a tip from us to thank him.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Let me first say that these is absolutely nothing wrong functionally with the hotel. Service is attentive/accommodating (got a late check-out at 2pm with absolutely no hassle), the room was large and the location in Gangnam near COEX and shopping center makes it convenient to that area. But given all the new hotels that have been built in Asia, this one is lagging behind. The room decor is acceptable enough, but rather dated; while large, the room layout is a little peculiar with numerous closets; while there is a sitting area, the sofa and chair look trendy but are not comfortable (especially the sofa which only has half a back rest); and the bathroom could be compartmentalized better (if you open the door while entering the bathroom, you could smash the legs of the person sitting on the toilet). If your meetings are in the traditional Seoul CBD or Yoeu-Ido, then this hotel is a bit out of the way - about a third further away from Gimpo airport that those other areas. With the Shilla hotel undergoing a refurb, I see this one going under the 'facelift knife' in the not-too-distant future.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear John G,

Thank you for your valuable insights. Your willingness to spare some of your time to relay your comments is genuinely appreciated. We are glad you found our location convenient. However, we regret falling short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is for business travelers and people who want to be near COEX for conferences and shopping. There are better luxury hotels in Seoul if you have the money to spend and want more of a getaway/vacation/romantic stay and don't care about the location too much. I stayed at the W Seoul and think it is much more modern and luxurious than the InterContinental. The downside to the W is that it is far from the city center. With the Intercontinental, you are right next to the mall, Samseong subway station, and the convention center. The rooms are dated. I have seen much better hotel rooms for the price and have seen better rooms at least expensive hotels in Seoul. Again, you are paying for the location and the name "Intercontinental". The gym is sufficient, but as I stated above, the facilities aren't the most modern. The breakfast was probably what I liked most about my stay. Make sure the cost of your stay covers the breakfast buffet at the "Grand Kitchen". It reminded me of the really nice buffets that I tried in Las Vegas. Lots of options including Western and Korean food. It is pricey (around 45,000 KRW at the moment), so if you are here on business or planning a conference, try to get a deal that includes breakfast for your guests. I probably wouldn't stay here again. If you plan to spend over 200,000 KRW per night on a room there are better options out there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmenSandiego30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear CarmenSandiego30,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate the compliments on the breakfast. However, we do apologize the experience you had with the condition of the facilities, room accommodations and hotel location was less than satisfactory. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts as this is our best resource for improving guest services. I hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Samseongdong / COEX
InterContinental Seoul COEX
Yeoido
Conrad Seoul
Conrad Seoul
#28 of 529 in Seoul
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Seoul
#48 of 529 in Seoul
1,289 reviews
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#16 of 529 in Seoul
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas

Address: 521, Teheran-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06164, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Samseongdong / COEX
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#19 Business Hotel in Seoul
#26 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: $246 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas 5*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Seoul, the Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas is an ideal place for business travellers thanks to the hotel's proximity to KWTC, COEX, CALT, DFS, department stores and theaters. Operating with 517 spacious rooms, the hotel has completed a 10 month project of lobby, restaurants and banquet halls to look more glamorous. The new Grand Ballroom, the largest and the most updated in Korea is perfect for any event, while exquisite cuisines await you in all five hotel restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Intercontinental Seoul Parnas Hotel Seoul
Intercontinental Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing