We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very Impressive Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas
Ranked #23 of 449 Hotels in Seoul
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Impressive Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Spent three nights in July '12 in a lovely suite at this very good hotel, with a birthday cake awaiting on entering our suite yay! This is a Grand hotel indeed, maybe slightly dated but still pretty impressive. Convenient location in Gangnam with easy walk to metro station, an excellent limo-bus service from the airport with drop-off a few steps away from hotel main entrance, and return to the airport was an easy five minutes walk to the limo-bus terminal. The terminal and the hotel are actually part-of/ linked to the massive COEX mall (with another IC at another end), which had pretty much everything that a traveler needs: restaurants, coffee-shops, delis, general shopping etc.

Still the hotel lost one star in our books due to some hiccups/'hardware' limitations as Amy (hotel guest relations/Ambassador programme rep) puts it. But Amy, HeNa and many others at the hotel are definitely five plus stars! as they really cared and excelled in softening the hotel's limitations especially for leisure guests traveling with family like ours.

Basically we feel the hotel's main focus to be at business travelers, e.g. facilities such as swimming pool off-limits to children aged below 12yrs old, inclusive breakfast is for max two pax only so expect to pay a hefty supplement for child's breakfast. All acceptable? one may ask, but problem is we were never informed of this until check-in...

As for the breakfast spread it was pretty awesome, minimal added salt, very good cuts of meat and cooked really well ie not dry/rubbery, and the omelette station chef certainly knew his job by the way he tapped his wrist to drive the pan/item in his charge. And last but not least, the bell-boy Alan who accompanied us/brought our luggage to the limo-bus terminal was so rightly proud of his commitment to offer great service as part of his job, that he absolutely and flatly refused a tip from us to thank him.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMT6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    306
    95
    29
    7
See reviews for
104
135
88
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
141 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Let me first say that these is absolutely nothing wrong functionally with the hotel. Service is attentive/accommodating (got a late check-out at 2pm with absolutely no hassle), the room was large and the location in Gangnam near COEX and shopping center makes it convenient to that area. But given all the new hotels that have been built in Asia, this one is lagging behind. The room decor is acceptable enough, but rather dated; while large, the room layout is a little peculiar with numerous closets; while there is a sitting area, the sofa and chair look trendy but are not comfortable (especially the sofa which only has half a back rest); and the bathroom could be compartmentalized better (if you open the door while entering the bathroom, you could smash the legs of the person sitting on the toilet). If your meetings are in the traditional Seoul CBD or Yoeu-Ido, then this hotel is a bit out of the way - about a third further away from Gimpo airport that those other areas. With the Shilla hotel undergoing a refurb, I see this one going under the 'facelift knife' in the not-too-distant future.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear John G,

Thank you for your valuable insights. Your willingness to spare some of your time to relay your comments is genuinely appreciated. We are glad you found our location convenient. However, we regret falling short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is for business travelers and people who want to be near COEX for conferences and shopping. There are better luxury hotels in Seoul if you have the money to spend and want more of a getaway/vacation/romantic stay and don't care about the location too much. I stayed at the W Seoul and think it is much more modern and luxurious than the InterContinental. The downside to the W is that it is far from the city center. With the Intercontinental, you are right next to the mall, Samseong subway station, and the convention center. The rooms are dated. I have seen much better hotel rooms for the price and have seen better rooms at least expensive hotels in Seoul. Again, you are paying for the location and the name "Intercontinental". The gym is sufficient, but as I stated above, the facilities aren't the most modern. The breakfast was probably what I liked most about my stay. Make sure the cost of your stay covers the breakfast buffet at the "Grand Kitchen". It reminded me of the really nice buffets that I tried in Las Vegas. Lots of options including Western and Korean food. It is pricey (around 45,000 KRW at the moment), so if you are here on business or planning a conference, try to get a deal that includes breakfast for your guests. I probably wouldn't stay here again. If you plan to spend over 200,000 KRW per night on a room there are better options out there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmenSandiego30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear CarmenSandiego30,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate the compliments on the breakfast. However, we do apologize the experience you had with the condition of the facilities, room accommodations and hotel location was less than satisfactory. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts as this is our best resource for improving guest services. I hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great location, rooms are great and very clean.

All the extras are very expensive. £30 for breakfast each.....and £10 for a 330ml bottle of local beer. Wifi is on the high side too. At £ 200 a night, thought at least wifi would be included.

Breakfast was pricey, but it was very good quality with a hug selection to cater for all tastes.

Right next to big mall, however full of large American chain shops.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bnez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed 9 nights in this hotel and cannot think of a thing I would change. The service is outstanding and I never wanted for anything. Rooms are spacious, beds are very comfortable and it was very clean. The breakfast buffet was fantastic - huge selection from traditional Korean foods to hash browned potatos. I rarely ate the same thing twice. We found the concierge to be very helpful and willing for any request. The front desk staff was efficient, competent and wanting to please. In fact, I was not accustomed to a hotel staff genuinely interested in how I found my stay.

Overall a lovely experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,308 reviews
305 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 575 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Instead of paying too much for a taxi ride from the airport, take the KAL bus for 15,000won and it drops you right in front of the hotel, it's the first stop so don't miss it. This is a 5 star hotel that tries to please and has the infrastructure and manpower to back this up. Check-in was friendly and efficient and for whatever reason, they had an army of staff all over the lobby to guide you in every way. Lobby was very grand

The room is large and comfortable. They have the flat tv and separate shower which I need. Wifi is expensive but at least it's fast and allows multiple devices, unlike other hotels around the world. Housekeeping was excellent and they don't miss a thing, also unlike most hotels

Room service is prompt, service excellent and the food quality acceptable. The Japanese restaurant was expensive too, has a affable sushi chef, good for the tuna and uni, but give the scallop a miss

The gym was large and again, with excellent service, though it looks a little dated. The indoor pool is small and didn't look inviting

The hotel is also conveniently located next to the samseoung train station so that you can get around easily. It's also just 3 stops away from gangnam if you need to find psy

Overall, an excellent and true 5 star hotel with eager to please staff all over the hotel

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Sad that we only had one night at this hotel! Service was top notch and although very upscale, the service was friendly! This is an expensive location by most standards for food and beverage. However, the location makes up for it.

The top floor has an upscale restaurant with a world class wine selection and a great view.

My room however - I didn't want to leave! Seriously wonderful! The Asian decor and mix of fabrics, wood and design blew my senses away!

Like all big city hotels, the higher the floor the better the view!

Room Tip: Plan to hang out and eat elsewhere unless you can afford very high drink and meal prices. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princess_software
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Samseongdong / COEX
InterContinental Seoul COEX
Park Hyatt Seoul
#20 of 449 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Samseongdong / COEX
Oakwood Premier Coex Center
Samseongdong / COEX
Hotel Peyto Samseong
Hotel Peyto Samseong
#119 of 449 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas

Property: Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas
Address: 521, Teheran-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-732, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Samseongdong / COEX
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#20 Business Hotel in Seoul
#26 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#38 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas 5*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Seoul, the Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas is an ideal place for business travellers thanks to the hotel's proximity to KWTC, COEX, CALT, DFS, department stores and theaters. Operating with 517 spacious rooms, the hotel has completed a 10 month project of lobby, restaurants and banquet halls to look more glamorous. The new Grand Ballroom, the largest and the most updated in Korea is perfect for any event, while exquisite cuisines await you in all five hotel restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Intercontinental Seoul Parnas Hotel Seoul
Intercontinental Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing