We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Outstanding.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas
Ranked #26 of 451 Hotels in Seoul
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

I'm writing this review as I really want to counter-act the negative reviews on this site for an amazing hotel experience.

Check in was quick, efficient, friendly and very welcoming. All of the staff in every department I encountered spoke superb English and went out of their way to exceed my expectations.

The room itself was beautiful. Well furnished, with everything where you'd expect to find it along with a few little surprises. The shower was brilliant and the bath deep and welcoming. The TV in the room had a variety of channels and the bed was huge and very comfy. Plenty of space to work, relax and unwind.

The room service was delivered punctually, beautifully presented and very tasty. Reasonable priced too.

I really cannot reccomend this hotel enough. The one thing that stood out for me was the staff - amazingly eager to please, perfect English, friendly, professional and polite.

Overall - superb. One of the best hotel experiences I've had in years. Thank you Intercon Seoul - I WILL see you again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mintyaero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    314
    99
    29
    7
See reviews for
108
140
88
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

It was twelve degrees below zero when I arrived at the hotel. The cavernous lobby is drafty and unwelcoming and things hardly improved when I reached my room. I was grateful for the priority club upgrade until I discovered that I'd been allocated a smoking room. The front desk insisted that my room was 'non-smoking' but the stale smoke and nicotine stains sort of gave it away. They eventually down-graded me to a smaller non-smoking room. It was old, gloomy and drafty and I was constantly cold.

The in-room dining room menu was limited and uninspiring, the broadband was painfully slow and the bathroom was ill-equipped for a female business traveler (the hairdryer didn't work and there were none of the usual bath/shower products that I associate with Intercontinental).

The service in the F&B outlets was generally good but the choice of food and wine was unusually limited and dull.

On check out I was overcharged for my internet connection. The service at 6am was as cold as the weather. There was nobody to help me with my bags and nobody to wish me a good flight.

As you can gather, I won't be returning to the so called GRAND Intercontinental Seoul Parnas.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkRestPlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Stayed at the grand Seoul early Dec for holidays. Though it's a little out of the way from most sightseeing destinations, it's easy connection to public transport and great service more than makes up for it. with shuttle service literally 5 steps away, the hotel makes a very convenient base for business travel. Very impressed with the experienced staff. Will definitely stay with the hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winniyuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

I loved my stay at the Intercontinental. Since it is my first visit to Korea everything was interesting so you might treat my review as "excited newbie".

My one tip for those visiting is that the internet speed is pretty bad and expensive. When I wasn't at my conference I liked to watch online training video's and the hotel was unable to play them. I did discover that Paris Baguette had very high speeds that are free so I would recommend you buy an assortment of pastries and "cuppee" from them.

I wish I could have bought back to the US the Korean fitness instructor in the gym. He was so friendly and helpful. I am sore from his stretching class though.

Swimming backstroke in the pool and watching the snow fall was quite romantic.

Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank abugslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

Taking the red-eye flight from Hong Kong, I arrived at the Grand Intercontinental at 6am in the morning. Knowing beforehand that this might cause a problem, my assistant requested for an early check-in and asked that the front-desk to be aware of my very early morning arrival. However, when I pulled up to the lobby I was met with a very sleepy and irritable front-desk that did not acknowledge my presence. I finally walked up to one of the receptionists and, without bothering to greet me, she used an exasperated tone to scoff at me in Korean and say "There aren't rooms available. How could you come so early and expect a room? Even if you requested an early check-in it's not until 10:30. There's nothing I can do. You'll have to wait."

Having been in flight all night, I was tired and exhausted but felt so humiliated by the first person I met in this hotel. I find this type of attitude and behavior unacceptable. Needless to say, this initial experience at the Grand Intercontinental Hotel dampened the remainder of my stay in Seoul and made me feel very unwelcome, though I was a paying guest. Had I known of the lack of training in front-desk staff, I would not have chosen this hotel. However, I thought that the Intercontinental brand would have ensured the highest level of service quality. For future trips to Seoul, I will be avoiding the Grand Intercontinental and opt for the Grand Hyatt or smaller boutique hotels with much better service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hc1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladivostok, Rusland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

A good place, really. Plenty of places to go around - there are actually 2 Intercontinental hotels joined, Grand and COEX. A bit far from historic center, or at least so I was told by consierge. Actually, no sightseeing. Very nice restaurants - both Korean and European. Good coffee - you seldom find one in Korea, unfortunately. Good room, great view. Calculate your time going to airport - it can be 1.5 hours, but can be 2.5 as well. A very nice small park nearby. A funny shopping mall 100 m away.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrey_Buzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

I stayed at the Intercontinental for several days to conduct business centered mostly south of the Han River. The location is excellent for relatively quick meetings in the south of Seoul and the hotel's central location means that shopping and dining are only a few steps away. The hotel's staff were excellent in helping coordinate some complicated travel logistics. The room itself was quite comfortable and provided plenty of space to unwind after a long day and also space to prepare for meetings. The only grumble is that the internet charge is a bit steep (25,000 won per day). And if you're relaxing in the lounge, a shot of whiskey is cheaper than a bottle of water.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solo_trvlr15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Samseongdong / COEX
InterContinental Seoul COEX
Park Hyatt Seoul
#23 of 451 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Samseongdong / COEX
Oakwood Premier Coex Center
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas

Property: Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas
Address: 521, Teheran-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06164, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Samseongdong / COEX
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#20 Business Hotel in Seoul
#26 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#38 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas 5*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Seoul, the Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas is an ideal place for business travellers thanks to the hotel's proximity to KWTC, COEX, CALT, DFS, department stores and theaters. Operating with 517 spacious rooms, the hotel has completed a 10 month project of lobby, restaurants and banquet halls to look more glamorous. The new Grand Ballroom, the largest and the most updated in Korea is perfect for any event, while exquisite cuisines await you in all five hotel restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, IHG, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Intercontinental Seoul Parnas Hotel Seoul
Intercontinental Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing