We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hyatt Seoul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Ranked #60 of 474 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I received a warm welcome at reception, having been met of the airport bus by Morris. He then proceeded to show me to my room and indicated all the essential workings in very good English.
The views across to the Seoul tower were spectacular. So the higher the room does create a better panorama across the city.
The restaurant provided excellent Asian and European food at their buffet, either for breakfast, or in my case dinner. I was always shown to an excellent window seat after initially expressing my preference.
The lobby area provided a relaxing area in which to enjoy an afternoon drink to the accompaniment of a couple of quality musicians.
I had always wanted a trip to the DMZ and this was effectively organised by the girls in the concierge section.
A 'free' bus transported me to the main shopping areas for easy access to the towns sights.
So from my first encounter with Morris, the hotel, it's staff and facilities did not disappoint in any way and I would recommend the hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Aim high!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay at Grand Hyatt Seoul. We were thrilled to read every word, especially your comment that the “staff and facilities did not disappoint in any way and I would recommend the hotel without hesitation.”

Guest reviews such as yours are a true source of motivation for all of us to work harder in our mission to provide authentic hospitality. We realise that the goal line is forever changing and to meet our guest’s increasing expectations we must work even harder to leave a favourable impression with each stay.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Grand Hyatt Seoul, very soon.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    707
    218
    98
    54
See reviews for
313
319
202
923
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt Seoul for 3 days for a business meeting this year and had a wonderful stay. After a long flight the gorgeous shower was a relaxing treat. Very well equipped room made working efficient. Solid Wi-Fi throughout the stay.
Meetings rooms were well equipped and the staff was helpful in making any adjustments we requested.
Food was also very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We were so delighted to learn that your had a “wonderful stay”. Our goal is to provide service that satisfies each and every guest, and your words will be a true source of motivation going forward.

Thank you again, and we hope you return to Grand Hyatt Seoul soon.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
931 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We spent our last night in Seoul at the Grand Hyatt and could not have been more disappointed.
While it may command a spectacular view, there is no view at night in the fog or a snow storm.
We were "stuck" in this hotel, needing a light meal, and there is no such thing offered in this hotel and it is not close to anything else where one could catch a bite to eat. The least expensive meal is about $20-$30. per person without any alcohol; I do not call this a family friendly atmosphere nor even something for a traveler who doesn't place high marks on eating "high on the hog." Even the service was poor in the restaurant. Additionally, the beds are uncomfortable beyond words; not at all like Grand Hyatt beds in other countries - hard to figure why that would be. They are stiff as a board.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we apologise for the unfortunate weather you experienced and your disappointment with our service. While we are located in a perfect location on the top of the mountain, bad weather sometimes makes it difficult to enjoy all the restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the hotel. We do however, have a multitude of restaurants and services on the property, and sincerely apologise if you did not find them to your expectation.

We hope that we may have the chance in the future to host you under more favourable conditions, and regain your trust in Grand Hyatt Seoul. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I recently (February 2014) travelled to Korea for business meetings and stayed at the Grand Hyatt. I had a 14th floor room with a view of the city from north of the Han river. The circular entry way is lined with trees lit up like Christmas which brightens up the entrance. The room was nice, though a bit smaller than rooms at the JW Marriott across the river. Service was excellent at the front desk as they helped us with some last minute changes. The breakfast and evening social offerings in the 17th floor lounge were a nice alternative from having to go down to the lobby plus it gave us the option to check out before reaching the lobby. Didn’t have time to take in more of the other amenities which is why there are only 4 stars. One other downside is the overly firm beds. All in all it was a very nice stay.

Room Tip: You will need your room key to operate the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, it was a pleasure to read the wonderful detail in which you described your Grand Hyatt Seoul experience. We appreciate your acknowledgement of our service, as it is the core of our mission to deliver, “authentic hospitality”.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Happy New Year!

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Grand Hyatt Seoul is my favorite hotel in Seoul.
The location isn't the best as it's a bit far from commercial areas of Seoul -- but it does have a very good view. I enjoy sitting in the lounge watching the evening traffic and the river. On a good day I'd take a walk around Namsan. It's a good walk (less than an hour) to the TV Station. I often also take a walk to Itaewon for dinner too.
The room is quite small but very modern and clean. Half of the rooms have the million-dollar river view and the other half has a mountain view which isn't too bad either.
The gym is gigantic, is always busy (many other gym members and not hotel guests) but also fully staffed too. The spa is also great with huge sauna and whirlpools.
Restaurants are good too. The J.J. pub is a popular destination for foreign tourists but I found it too loud for my taste.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DT94024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was an honour and a pleasure to hear that your favourite hotel in Seoul is Grand Hyatt Seoul. We could not agree with you more on our million-dollar river views and lush green mountain views, but we have to share that credit with Mother Nature.

Thank you very much for sharing your reflections with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Happy New Year!

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel is beautiful with a great hilltop location. The restaurants are also excellent.The rooms are also beautiful!!
My one complaint is that the bed mattress is like sleeping on a wooden board. The Hyatt Regency Incheon is also this way. I am not sure why this hotel has mattresses like this instead of Hyatt's norm. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we sincerely apologise for the unfortunate experience you had with our mattress. As you can imagine, we must accommodate a wide range of guest preferences. Whenever a guest is dissatisfied with the level of firmness in their mattress, we are always happy to immediately change the cover to soften the hard mattress to meet a guest’s individual comfort needs.

We hope that we may have the opportunity in the future to provide you with a more comfortable experience, in line with your expectations of Hyatt hotels.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, so that we may do a better job of communicating these options to our future guests.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel was a fantastic location for a short business trip, and seemed to be one of the most popular in Seoul looking at the number of people coming and going. The view over the city was fantastic from the room, and from the main lobby/bar area.

The breakfast was very good with a massive choice of almost anything you can think of, and the service was very good and friendly as well. At the other end of the day, the lobby area is a great place for a pre-dinner drink with a friendly relaxing atmosphere, and a wonderful city view.

There is also a selection of shops, a bar and nightclub in the basement of the hotel, so you have everything you could want in one place! Very impressed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _CW_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, it was a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the wonderful views from your room and also the rest of the hotel! Grand Hyatt Seoul is one of the top hotels in Seoul and has a myriad of restaurants, pools, a gymnasium, a spa, and resort amenities located right here on the property. As you well noted, everything you could want is here in one place.

Thank you very much for letting us have your reflections on your recent stay, as all of us here are dedicated to providing guests with service that meets or exceeds their expectations. We are gratified that you found your stay with us enjoyable, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Park Hyatt Seoul
#35 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#9 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Yeoido
Conrad Seoul
Conrad Seoul
#19 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#13 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Seoul

Property: Grand Hyatt Seoul
Address: 322 Sowol-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 04347, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Itaewon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Seoul
#20 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#28 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#39 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#48 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Seoul, in the heart of the nation’s capital, is set amidst 18 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens at the foot of historic Mt. Namsan. Commanding breathtaking views of the Han River to the south and Mt. Namsan to the north, the hotel is only minutes away from the downtown commercial district and within walking distance of Itaewon, one of the city’s renowned shopping areas. The hotel is 70 minutes away from Incheon International Airport, 50 minutes from Gimpo Domestic Airport, 20 minutes from the Samsung-dong business hub, with most all of the city’s key districts within close proximity to the hotel.Hotel accommodations include 601 contemporary, luxuriously designed rooms and suites, using a selection of natural woods and fabrics to create a comfortable, residential ambience. The hotel hosts The Spa and Club Olympus recreation centre, a sanctuary of calm offering spa treatments, indoor & outdoor pools, tennis & squash courts and an ice skating rink.As a “multi-functional lifestyle destination”, cuisine plays a focal role at Grand Hyatt Seoul. The hotel boasts some of Seoul’s most magnificent 11 restaurants and bars, each showcasing its unique style and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Seoul Hotel Seoul
Seoul Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Seoul
Seoul Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing