We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Nearby Hotels
$273
JW Marriott
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$302
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$224
$97
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$217
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$228
$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
$191
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,432)
Filter reviews
2,434 results
Traveler rating
1,133
834
270
116
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,133
834
270
116
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsice rinkoutdoor poolmount namsanhan riverlobby loungemountain viewclub levelitaewon arearestaurants and barsfree shuttleluxury hotelbusiness tripbusiness hotelamazing hotelshuttle servicehotel is locatedhotel staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,236 - 1,241 of 2,434 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Overall a good experience at the grand Hyatt Seoul for a long 3 days weekend stay. Booked with Amex platinum (fine hotels)... No upgrade available upon arrival but the room was big enough, so it was fine. The location up hill isn't great as you can't walk anywhere from there but it is a short cab ride from most of the places to visit and great view.
The only disappointment of the weekend was the breakfast buffet where you literally had to fight or complain to get a table as the buffet is extremely popular among locals. In particular on Sunday we showed up only to be told that the wait was over 45 minutes even for guests of the hotel. I initially complained to the staff at the restaurant asking if all the people waiting for a table were guests of the hotel, to which I was told yes by the staff, obviously a lie. I went straight to the front desk to complain and were offered to have breakfast at the club lounge...not exactly what I was hoping for, but better than the ridiculous wait.
Very annoying to pay a fair amount of money and not being treated better than the non guests of the hotel. Hotel staff should make the distinction, otherwise, what's the point of paying extra to stay at this hotel? I had a similar problem at the Ritz Osaka, but after showing some disappointment, the staff got me a table right away.
Same at night where the lobby bar (with live performing band on weekends) is very popular among locals.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christophe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your candid review on your stay. We sincerely apologise for your inability to obtain seating at our Terrace breakfast buffet. Weekends are one of our busiest periods both for hotel guests and local patrons. For the spring through fall seasons, we open up our outdoor terraces to provide more seating, which has proven very popular thanks to the alfresco experience. Guests’ comments such as yours are one of our most valuable forms of feedback, as it enables us to better plan in order to eliminate future guests’ disappointment. Again, we deeply apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and thank you your constructive criticism. We look forward to accommodating you at our spectacular breakfast buffet in a future visit.


Best Regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed for Buddha's birthday, the room had a great view over the river and city. Grand Club Access was also a bonus! However it is the facilities and location that really make this a special hotel! The 30 meter outdoor pool is gorgeous, with stunning views over the city. The gym is very well equipped with a decent free weights area and a studio. We had a wonderful dinner in The Terrace with wine afterwards on the outdoor terrace. Grand Club was very good, and throughout the Hotel people were smiling and helpful and we were always escorted never pointed in the right direction. Right next to the hotel is a beautiful park for an early morning walk or a jog. 10 minutes away from the bar nightlife area of Itaewon and never a queue for taxis. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Choose a river view and make sure that you get Grand Club Access for those evening cocktails!!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakehongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind comments and precious observations on your stay with us. We feel that we are blessed with the ideal location, surrounded by wonderful parks, stunning views and nature, which add untold value to the Grand Hyatt’s facilities and service that you experienced. Your comments have been a source of inspiration to all our staff and we are gratified by your desire for a return visit. We hope to see you again very soon.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here on business in Seoul. Plus points: Decent service; well furnished room; lots of good in-house restaurants. Negatives: A little dated; rooms a little cramped. Overall, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skippy-rates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review of Grand Hyatt Seoul. We were very happy to hear that you found our dining options, service and room appointments to be a positive experience. Our rooms are on a perpetual refreshment cycle to update design and décor, and in between we make an extra effort to insure that our room conditions are always to the highest standards. We will share your comments with both our housekeeping and maintenance departments, and thank you for your observations. Once again, we appreciate your overall high marks, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Once again my family decided to take a break from our hectic Seoul life by staying at the Grand Hyatt Seoul for the 10th time in many years. As usual we stayed for 2 nights in a Club Deluxe King room ( 45 sqm) since we wanted a large room without having to pay hefty price for a suite.
The service is great as always and food at the club lounge is worth paying extra for and view is spectacular from any rooms.

Only draw backs to this wonderful luxury hotel are:
It's bit outdated though furniture was replaced few years back
The rooms are one of the smallest for luxury hotel in Seoul
There is really nothing near the hotel (walking distance) but hotel does offer free shuttle service
Even though I am Goldpassport member and regular to this hotel ...never been upgraded so maybe bit on stingy side?

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for great 5 star service with spectacular view of Seoul. Be sure to pay extra for club rooms so you can have access to their club lounges located on 15th and 17th floor. Great for family with young ones.

We will see you soon again Seoul Grand Hyatt :)

Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra 20,000 won for an upgrade to Han river view. You have nice view of Seoul from any rooms here but do recommend paying extra for an access to club lounge.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleeplessinseoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt Seoul as a valued returning guest. I am delighted to see your review again on Tripadvisor and thank you for your comments. I have relayed your recommendations for improvement to our relevant departments, to incorporate them into our future planning. We sincerely appreciate your comments on our facilities and service.

Once again, thank you for your repeat business and review of Grand Hyatt Seoul.
We also hope to welcome you again very soon.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Seoul has some excellent hotels so the bar is pretty high, I would give Grand Hyatt about a 3.5. Pros- Very nice view, great lounge with live music, etc. and JJ Mahoney's the club downstairs certainly is one of the clubbing hotspots, has an excellent pool and large garden area where you can relax if it's not freezing outside. Location on top of a hill in Namsan gives it quite an interesting feel. Room service was really fast, with quite good dining options. Location is also very close to Itaewon which is one of the main drinking/dining areas in Seoul (bit like Lan Kwai Fong in Hong Kong). Getting a taxi from here is relatively easy. The location could actually be a disadvantage though, depending on where you need to go during the day, so best to check that before deciding on the hotel. Cons- Room size. I have stayed in Conrad and Westin Chosun and with similar price range, their rooms are a LOT bigger. This is an old hotel, so you need to manage your expectations. Certain little things, such as a Nespresso machine in your room which a LOT of the Asian hotels do these days (and I just love it), are missing here. Bathroom is smaller too, with simple things like a closeup mirror for shaving missing here. Similarly, I guess because of it's small size, no ironing board in the room though they are happy to provide one on request.
Overall, as you can see I don't have much to complain about, though this fades in comparison to the swank luxury of competitors like Chosun and Conrad, mainly due to age. In summary, a very good, clean, luxury hotel, with very good location and great options to chill, but not among the best of the breed in Seoul.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mei A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your candid review of Grand Hyatt Seoul. Detailed reviews such as yours provide us a very valuable insight into the perspectives and experiences of our guests. We are pleased that you have enjoyed our spectacular lounge and J.J. Mahoney’s. As you may know, JJ’s is one of the most famous clubs in Seoul and it will be celebrating its 25th anniversary this coming June. We equally thank you for the constructive criticism, which we have circulated to our department heads, so that we may focus on future areas of improvement.

Thank you again for your time and review. We hope to welcome you back again to Grand Hyatt Seoul.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews