We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly (literally) recommended”
Review of Grand Hyatt Seoul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Ranked #70 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed here for a week whilst on business and it proved an oasis of calm in an otherwise stormy week of work. The building itself is a huge arched slab of a place that sits on the hill and looms over Seoul like a massive audio dock.

The room was big, with a big bathroom and a great view over Seoul. Walls were a but thin and heard more than I’d like one night – but slept well the rest of the week, even with jet-lag.
Service was generally impeccable, if a bit stilted with English sometimes – leading to the occasional mis-order. Room spotlessly cleaned. Dry cleaning/ironing done quickly and perfectly.

I ate here most nights, as didn’t have must time to venture off. The Teppenyaki restaurant was noticeably excellent with photo-opportunity views over the city. The Chinese restaurant, which was imaginatively called ‘The Chinese Restaurant’ was a bit formal but food was good.

The dark teak, atmospheric oriental bar and restaurant ‘JJ Mahoney’s Entertainment Centre’ is the highlight. Chi-chi, supercool bar/club vibe with seating outside on a big patio with wide-ranging views over the city. The nightclub seriously kicks off over the weekend and elegant ladies come from far and wide to tempt the suits away from their business meetings.

Be warned, the speakers are so brilliantly loud and bassy that you can float in the middle of the dance-floor like a ping-pong ball.

Sundries, beer, water, orange juice – in fact everything is pricey (so pricey in fact - that even if you’re not paying it seems expensive!). Pool was closed the whole time, which was a shame as it was roasting – although you could sit by it and look at the tarpaulin.

Breakfast was big, varied and freshly cooked. Eat out on the balcony in summer if you can. And if you’re like me and love the burning sun on your face then you’ll always be able to find a free space. Just look out for the ones without a parasol…

If you do have a day off, then walk over the bridge to the left of the main entrance and you’ll be in the beautiful Namsan park. Keep walking for an hour or so and you’ll end up at the Seoul Tower. Also there's some really good local and international eateries, along with a very good Cuban cigar and whisky bar, only a short roller-skate down the hill (don’t forget your blades kids…)

Again, it probably would have been a very different experience if I was actually paying - as it was all a bit corporate and expensive to truly feel in the holiday mood. But if you’re in Seoul working flat-out (if there’s another way of working out here then let me know) then I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: To get the best room, get your company to pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your kind words and have taken the liberty of sharing them with our staff, as feedback from our valued guests is our greatest source of satisfaction and motivation. It is our aim to satisfy all of our guests, all of the time. As you mentioned in your comments, we are very proud of our incredible views of spring and summer, but also of the views during fall and winter as well. We highly recommend you come back and enjoy some of the other seasons at Grand Hyatt Seoul.
We look forward to welcoming you back and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,137 - 1,143 of 2,211 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

My family and I just stayed for the long weekend for out first trip to Seoul. We stayed on the club floor and the service was excellent. The breakfast was great and the evening cocktail hour with snacks could be a meal if you wanted it to be. The concierge was great with arranging a tour, airport transfers and some restaurants outside the hotel. The ice rink was a lot of fun with the kids but pricy for a hotel guest. I think the VIP at Rockefeller Center is less. The Chinese restaurant was just ok and not something I would try again. The main lobby lounge had a nice ambiance but the drinks are pricy, but it must be the view/local destination. Made Tokyo drink prices at top 5 star hotels seem cheap. Overall the club floor was fantastic and the in house restaurants are just pricy for what they offer. If you want to drop a decent amount of money for a good meal just use a Michelin guide and venture outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank workingjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Sir,

We appreciate your taking the time to write. We are pleased that we were able to provide you with your favourite room at Grand Hyatt Seoul and that you were satisfied with our service and views. We have taken the liberty of sharing your kind comments with our relevant departments, as such positive comments are a great source of pride and satisfaction for all of us. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope to have the opportunity to greet you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Grand Hyatt in Seoul is definitely a five-star hotel and it shows it. Definitely a place of luxury. From it's impressive entrance, it's hilltop location, and the grand lobby, to the ice-rink in front, the lavish restaurants, and exquisite sports facilities, this is a place to kick back and enjoy. A few points of note:

PROS:
1) Breakfast buffet at "Terrace": One of the best buffet restaurants I have had the pleasure to try. Equal (if not slightly better due to its better layout) to that of Park Hyatt Seoul. The creative juices/smoothies are definitely worth a try! I would have expected a larger variety of cheeses, but the made-on-the-spot waffles, pancakes, and any kind of egg-dish did make up for it.

2) The gym "Olympus Club": The most comprehensive gym facility I've seen in a hotel. All aerobic equipment (treadmill, stationary bicycles, etc.) are equipped with a comprehensive entertainment suite which allows you to play games, walk along famous routes all over the world, or simply plug your smart device (both Android and iOS) and enjoy your own personal content while sweating away the breakfast you just had!

3) The indoor pool: Although I couldn't try it myself, the pool is big enough to accommodate several guests at once and allows one to swim, rather than just soak on the spot.

4) The view: We stayed in a room on the 9th floor, facing the Namsan mountain. Especially at night the light decoration of the hotel entrance, combined with the lights from the houses crawling up the side of the mountain and the Namsan Tower itself made up for a stunning view! I can imagine that the view toward Seoul would be equally impressive.

5) The service: The hotel staff really shines through when it comes to politeness and eagerness to help. From check-in to check-out, all our interactions with them were seamless. After our first night, we requested a humidifier since the air was quite dry, as well as a refill for the toiletries. We found both waiting for us when we returned to our room.

CONS:
1) The room: Frankly speaking, this is a small room. We were in the basic double room (Deluxe) and we barely had space to move around. The design of the room is ergonomic and the ceiling-high mirrors gave an impression of space, but nevertheless for the price and 5-star credentials I would have expected a tad more.

2) The prices: Obviously, when staying in a 5-star hotel, you can not expect a bargain when it comes to in-hotel prices. However, some of the charges did seem ridiculous. The cheapest item on the lobby menu was tea, priced at 13000 KRW. Similarly, main dishes on the room service menu started from around 30000 KRW. Bottled water in the gym was sold at the price of ~8000 KRW.

3) False charges: A minor thing, that was resolved very quickly, at checkout I was presented with a bill that included a pay-per-view movie and 2 breakfast charges. Of course, we hadn't watched any pay-per-view movies and breakfast was included in the price of our room. After pointing this out to the hotel staff, they immediately corrected the bill and apologized for the mistake.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed comments. We are pleased that you were happy with your stay and enjoyed the facilities and services that we provided. We shared your meticulous comments with all our team members as this type of feedback serves as a source of great encouragement in helping us to improve our service even further. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback, such as yours, as it enables us to improve on both our strengths and our weaknesses. We would also like to apologise for any inconvenience through the incorrect charges you noted. We reviewed this matter with the relevant departments in order to ensure that such mischarges or mistakes do not happen again in the future. Once again, your helpful comments are much appreciated. We look forward to the privilege of serving you again at Grand Hyatt Seoul.

Best regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We booked a room for New Years Eve and were surprised at how nice the rooms are. Small by US standards but tastefully done and great views. The property is very modern and has everything you need inside the hotel, from shopping to food. They even have an ice skating rink. The NYE fireworks are amazing. Be careful of the hidden cost when booking a room, but most staff speak English.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toure88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We always appreciate honest feedback from our guests, because through this valuable input, we get a better understanding of our guest’s needs. Every New Year’s Eve, we have a fireworks display at the ice skating rink and each year we try to surpass our previous celebrations. We are fortunate to have some of the most beautiful scenery in Seoul to help us. As with most hotels around the world, we are subject to various taxes imposed by our host governments. We are very transparent on how these taxes and surcharges are applied to our accommodation, food and beverage charges and hope that you did not find these costs misleading. We appreciate your bringing this to our attention and we look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Smart hotel perched high above Seoul with great views of the city. The foyer is beautifully presented, smart, masculine and immaculate in the grand tradition of the 5* business hotel. The check-in service is efficient and the staff are helpful. We went at Christmas time and the enormous tree and decorations were stunning. All the rooms have good views but obviously the higher floor you have the better. The bedrooms had everything you'd expect from a business hotel. Apart from the spacious restaurants - breakfast served watching dawn break over Seoul below is something else - an outstanding feature of this hotel in winter is the stunning ice-rink and cute beverage bar. With the swathes of fairy lights draped in the trees, a prettier spot on a snowy night would be hard to find. The reason I have given the hotel 4 stars is that the hotel is up a very steep hill and unless you have time on your hands and are fit you need taxis to get out and about.

Room Tip: Ask for a "River side Room" on the highest floor you can get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophia5151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words, citing us as ‘stunning’, ‘smart’, ‘spectacular’ and more. These words of praise and encouragement are a key motivator for all our staff, as it lets them know how they are doing and motivates them to work even harder to deliver higher levels of guest service. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience. We are grateful for your support and look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Seoul.

Best regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Hyatt chain (outside of the US) never disappoints. The lobby of this hotel is teeming with people who have obviously hit on a good thing and won't let go. I don't blame them. The service, food and club lounge were good and the staff always accommodating and helpful. The concierge helped us navigate the city and the language problem so going around Seoul and its many interesting districts was no problem at all. The traveler just has to be organized. The view of a winter wonderland from the cavernous lobby was especially enchanting. There are some minor problems with the room such as the lack of capacious drawers and the impractical design of the washbasin in the bathroom but this is relatively minor. Overall, this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your ‘highly recommended’ comments about Grand Hyatt Seoul. We very much appreciate your kind words and have taken the liberty of sharing them with our staff, as feedback from our valued guests is our greatest source of satisfaction and motivation. We would like to suggest that you should return during the summer to experience our stunning outdoor swimming pool overlooking the city from our wonderful position on Namsan Mountain. We are sure you will enjoy it even more than during the ‘winter wonderland’. The scenery is just as captivating during one of our other spectacular seasons.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel is a good business hotel. It is very well situated and well served by the airport limousine bus service.

The check in process was easy enough - lots of staff on hand to help. Very friendly service.

The rooms are small and indeed too small if you were staying here for more than a couple of nights. The bed was way too hard - like sleeping on a concrete slab. I made a complaint at reception and a soft bed cover was delivered within 10 minutes of asking, which was good. However, I don't understand why the beds are so hard?!

The health centre in the hotel is excellent. There is a bath house and good spa. Also check out the barber shop where you can get a real traditional shave. Great experience.

There is a free shuttle bus that takes you to one of the best areas for restaurants, bars and entertainment.

Highly recommendable.....just need to fix the beds!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for choosing Grand Hyatt Seoul and for sharing your observations and recommendations with other TripAdvisor users. We apologise for the inconvenience you experienced and that our service levels failed to meet your expectations. We would like to point out that we offer a wide variety of room sizes ranging from 30 sq m to 60 sq m, and invite you to try out one of our larger rooms on your next visit. However, your compliments about our service are truly an encouragement to all our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#18 of 504 in Seoul
1,588 reviews
Yeoido
Conrad Seoul
Conrad Seoul
#25 of 504 in Seoul
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Seoul
#43 of 504 in Seoul
1,248 reviews
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#13 of 504 in Seoul
3,339 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Seoul

Address: 322 Sowol-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 04347, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Itaewon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Seoul
#22 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#28 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#42 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#48 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: $208 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Seoul, in the heart of the nation’s capital, is set amidst 18 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens at the foot of historic Mt. Namsan. Commanding breathtaking views of the Han River to the south and Mt. Namsan to the north, the hotel is only minutes away from the downtown commercial district and within walking distance of Itaewon, one of the city’s renowned shopping areas. The hotel is 70 minutes away from Incheon International Airport, 50 minutes from Gimpo Domestic Airport, 20 minutes from the Samsung-dong business hub, with most all of the city’s key districts within close proximity to the hotel.Hotel accommodations include 601 contemporary, luxuriously designed rooms and suites, using a selection of natural woods and fabrics to create a comfortable, residential ambience. The hotel hosts The Spa and Club Olympus recreation centre, a sanctuary of calm offering spa treatments, indoor & outdoor pools, tennis & squash courts and an ice skating rink.As a “multi-functional lifestyle destination”, cuisine plays a focal role at Grand Hyatt Seoul. The hotel boasts some of Seoul’s most magnificent 11 restaurants and bars, each showcasing its unique style and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Seoul Hotel Seoul
Seoul Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Seoul
Seoul Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing