We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and noisy”
Review of Grand Hyatt Seoul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Ranked #63 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
162 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Tired and noisy”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here numerous times, but the hotel is getting tired. Probably the biggest issue is the wafer thin walls/doors which do not block any sound. I was battling some jet lag and throughout the night I was awakened by noise in the hallway. To compound things, the gap at the bottom of the door was so wide that a stream of light was coming into the room. After the Shilla gets renovated, the GH is going to have to do something to compete better.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We have shared your feedback with our interior designer so that we may take corrective action to offer an enhanced service in the future.

We would be happy to provide you with a more comfortable and secure room on your next visit, to insure that your next stay with us meets your expectations. Once again we apologise and welcome the opportunity to regain your trust on a future stay. We very much appreciate your feedback as this constructive criticism is an important factor in enabling us to continually improve our service.

Best regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    728
    223
    101
    57
See reviews for
327
336
203
950
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel is huge, but the service was good during the peak season. The lobby is grand and the lobby lounge has a great view.

The staffs are great and helpful. Service was good.

The room is spacious, we took the grand deluxe room facing the Namsan Tower.

It was winter so they have their own ice skating rink. We had our new year countown at the ice rink and the firework was awesome. Nice experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suryo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing Grand Hyatt Seoul. We are pleased to hear about your recent stay. Every New Year’s Eve, we have a fireworks display at the ice skating rink and each year we try to surpass our previous celebrations. We are fortunate to have some of the most beautiful scenery in Seoul to help us.

Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope you can return at another time of the year to experience more of Grand Hyatt Seoul.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
162 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I think this Hyatt has it all! It sits on top of a hill and you can see panoramic views of Seoul. The pool is outdoors but it's pretty incredible. JJ Malones is one of the coolest bars in Seoul. The rooms are nice. It's the most expensive hotel, but you for Seoul it's pretty much the best.

Room Tip: Even though cabs are cheap in Korea. This hotel is across the bridge from Gangnam. I recommend the R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePlumber2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are so thrilled by your kind words, “I think this Hyatt has it all”. Thank you very much for choosing Grand Hyatt Seoul and for your sincere review. We very much appreciate it. And just to let you know, we have an indoor pool on the Garden level next to the gym. During the winter season, the outdoor pool is transformed into an ice skating rink, which has become an iconic winter landmark in Seoul and a focus of television, movie and media attention.

Please come back during the summer so that you can enjoy this incredible outdoor pool in warmer weather, as well as J.J. Mahoney’s, which you have already enjoyed.

Yours faithfully,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The lobby is a marvellous, bustling masterpiece of architectural design. Sunset will stop your heart. You will not regret commuting to Seoul centre for the sake of luxuriating in the space and grandur of this hilltop locale. It has everything you would expect from a first-rate accommodation with the added benefit of providing a nightly respite from Seoul-induced concrete jungle claustrophobia.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha_Southtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for staying at Grand Hyatt Seoul. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We are extremely pleased to hear that you consider our hotel to be 'first-rate accommodation' to be exceptional.

Thank you again for your wonderful review. We look forward to your return and hope that we will exceed your expectations.

Best regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel has easily the best view in Seoul. The lobby is fantastic. Night life rocks.

This is a very old hotel (so I heard) and certain parts of the facilities show the age (unlike Park Hyatt - see my other review), when it comes to the grand feel and the spectacular setting, this hotel is second to none in Seoul.

When you visit Seoul, do yourself a favor and visit this hotel, even if you do not stay there. You won't regret it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie1135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We were happy to see that you pointed out all of our favourite features, such as, “The best view in Seoul,” “The lobby is fantastic,” and, “The night life rocks”. We were so pleased to read all your candid comments and your words have been a source of encouragement in motivating our staff to work harder and deliver even higher levels of guest service.

Thank you very much again for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us and we hope you are able to return and experience more of Grand Hyatt Seoul soon.

Best regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oman
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is probably the most peaceful and elegant Hotel within the range of Seoul city. The Hotel itself is well kept and nicely decorated with all the facilities of a 5 star. Its location is right on the hill, commanding a majestic view far away from the bustling city of Itewan which is about 20 minutes away. The only catch is that, there is very little going on around the vincinity of the Hotel. So you will probably need a transport every time you require to go out, particularly if your are a party man or searching for a night life. Conversly, the front desk staff are very well connected and helpfull in getting you a means of transportation or assistance including to and fro the Airport at a reasonable prise. The rooms are confartable and are of reasonable sizes. The food is ample and delicious at the Restaurant which has a panoramic view facing the hilly country side. The staff as a whole are professional, friendly and maintain their smile. They even assisted me in putting on my jacket after I had fogotten it at the lobby bar. All in all, this Hotel is a perfect place for families on holidays as well as for business trip and not so much for night life fun. I will certainly come back again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing to the back have breathtaking views of the county side. I normally prefer lower floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great compliment, finding us to be, “the most peaceful and elegant hotel”. We very much appreciate your kind words, which were especially appreciated by our Front Desk staff, who strive to welcome each guest with genuine heart.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to exceeding your expectations on future visits.

Best regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

A comfortable, appropriately priced hotel with good amenities, well appointed rooms and outstanding views. Would go again. The staff was very helpful, most speak fluent English. They can assist with travels around the city. The spa is adequate. Overall, a Very pleasant experience.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your review. We feel great pride when guests like yourself leave with, “a very pleasant experience” as their parting impression. All of us are in constant search of guest feedback, so that we may better understand the needs of our guests and make sure that everyone is assured of a pleasant stay while in our care.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again at Grand Hyatt Seoul.

Best regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#12 of 472 in Seoul
1,525 reviews
Yeoido
Conrad Seoul
Conrad Seoul
#22 of 472 in Seoul
1,745 reviews
Park Hyatt Seoul
#38 of 472 in Seoul
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#52 of 472 in Seoul
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Seoul

Property: Grand Hyatt Seoul
Address: 322 Sowol-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 04347, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Itaewon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Seoul
#21 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#28 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#38 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#48 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Seoul, in the heart of the nation’s capital, is set amidst 18 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens at the foot of historic Mt. Namsan. Commanding breathtaking views of the Han River to the south and Mt. Namsan to the north, the hotel is only minutes away from the downtown commercial district and within walking distance of Itaewon, one of the city’s renowned shopping areas. The hotel is 70 minutes away from Incheon International Airport, 50 minutes from Gimpo Domestic Airport, 20 minutes from the Samsung-dong business hub, with most all of the city’s key districts within close proximity to the hotel.Hotel accommodations include 601 contemporary, luxuriously designed rooms and suites, using a selection of natural woods and fabrics to create a comfortable, residential ambience. The hotel hosts The Spa and Club Olympus recreation centre, a sanctuary of calm offering spa treatments, indoor & outdoor pools, tennis & squash courts and an ice skating rink.As a “multi-functional lifestyle destination”, cuisine plays a focal role at Grand Hyatt Seoul. The hotel boasts some of Seoul’s most magnificent 11 restaurants and bars, each showcasing its unique style and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Seoul Hotel Seoul
Seoul Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Seoul
Seoul Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing