We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Orakai Insadong Suites
Ranked #83 of 474 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent for families”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This Fraser property is near Myeongdong, and close to useful Metro lines (though a bit of a hassle to walk to in inclement weather). We have a huge two-bedroom apartment and ample space to spread out in. The reception was friendly and cleaning staff very kind. There is also a famous ginseng chicken retaurant (Korean Samgyetang) just 5 minutes along the way to the metro. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves during this trip, and have Fraser Suites to thank for making our stay for a large part of it!

As a side note: Another location that families with children might want to consider is near the Jamsil area. We spent a few days commuting there for various attractions (COEX Mall, Lotte World, Kidzania) which was about 16-18 metro stops away from City Hall. We could have split our stay across these two sites if we had planned earlier.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ineedaholiday72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    217
    56
    17
    7
See reviews for
225
81
26
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
211 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for almost a week in July. The location is central, near Insadong shopping street and within walking distance of a lot of tourist attractions in Seoul like the Royal palace, the city hall, the canal street...So it's very convenient if you want to explore Seoul on foot. The hotel suite is very nice with large living room and master bedroom. Considering this is downtown Seoul, room with such large size is hard to find! The housekeeping staffs did an excellent job in keeping room nice and clean. However, the front desk staff 's service staff is not up to the standard that I expect from a 4 star hotel in Korea. When you need help or ask questions, they just barely respond to it with almost a cold, to-the-fact attitude. They didn't seem to make the effort of offering a more caring and friendly service. The breakfast is not that great as well with the same dishes being offered for the whole 5 days I was there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathantran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The trip was business combined with family holiday. We had a large two bedroom appartment, very spacious, clean with great city view and balcony. The kitchen was fully equiped and the two bathrooms very convenient and free wifi for more than one devices. The appartment had all we needed and the hotel was very well located. Breakfast was a disappointment but with all those great Korean coffee shops around - who really needs it? They even have an indoor swimming pool which my daughter used every day. Reception staff were friendly and helped us book a taxi to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mclouka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takamatsu, Japan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is an excellent choice of suite for a short stay in the city. The rooms have plenty of space, the facilities are pretty well thought out (including a decent iron in the suite), and the staff are efficient and helpful. While the rooms clearly get a bit of a battering from the passing traffic, the general level of cleanliness and usability is high. I would not write home about the breakfast included with the room price, but that is a small quibble. I will return to this location.

Room Tip: I booked last minute and the prices were quite high. I think that if you book in advance and perhaps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaneCoughlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I recently stayed at Fraser Suites in Insadong for 12 nights.

The staff are helpful and our maid was lovely and pleasant - even though we laughed at times due to our obvious need to communicate by gesture - usually to say don't bother cleaning!

The Fraser Suites is a very family oriented place to stay. The breakfast area is mostly filled by families although there are a few business people staying on their own. We stayed during Chuseok so there were a numerous families who had Korean children with them - to visit their ancestors during this busy holiday period.

Breakfast is not a 5 star affair - however there was enough variation in the food provided to provide a scrumptious breakfast. Fraser Suites change their juices every day - so there was always a different choice. There were boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, croissants, bread, jams and spreads plus asian dishes provided daily.

The location of Fraser Suites is just superb. Most major attractions are within walking distance. Its quiet here too. Insadong is a major shopping area - but it is quiet until 10 am ish and begins to close down around 9-10pm ish by evening - so there is no noise at night, virtually no street noise, car noise and no partying either. Its an awesome place for light sleepers like me. The air conditioning is also not noisy - for such a large building.

Room Tip: We had a sunny corner suite for autumn on the 20th floor. We were able to dry clothes on a balcony a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxecarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinnewton
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

My wife, a friend and I were planning a visit to Seoul, and rather than stay at a "normal" hotel, we booked a 2 bedroom suite at the Fraser Suites. The location was great. We were within walking distance of everything that we wanted to do, which was great. Probably the best feature of the hotel. The room was clean, spacious, and well appointed. There ends the list of " the good".

Now on to the less than good.

The bed was terrible. Every morning I woke up with terrible back pain. I felt better after my 15 hour flight than I did after a night on their bed.

The breakfast buffet was uninspired, and the quality was fair at best. There was no Asian breakfast. The western breakfast was of a quality that I ate cereal every morning, and that's it.

The front desk staff was not helpful, although they were politely so. Many of the questions I asked, such as directions to a theater, where to buy a power plug converter, etc, they either didn't know the answer to, or gave me the wrong answer. You can imagine how "fun" it is to try and ask for directions on the street when the hotel staff had sent you to the wrong place, and you dont speak the local language. The locals on the street did go out of their way to try and help us, and in the end we got to where we were going, no thanks to the Fraser. When I asked for help in booking a massage, or tickets for a show, they would give me a phone number, and then expect me to be able to converse with the Korean speaking person on the other end of the phone. After 4 or 5 requests they would make the call on my behalf.

In closing, I loved Seoul, and loved the hotel's location in Insadong, but would say that the hotel's operator needs to really improve on their services if they expect to be taken as a quality place to stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank justinnewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at Fraser for nearly two weeks with our two kids. Our 3 bedroom room was great. Very spacious and well kept. Lots of international guest stay at Fraser and many have childen. Staff are very friends and extremely helpful. You can hire phones at reception and their taxi service from the airport to the hotel is fantastic and reasonable. Fantastic location right near the main road in Insandong. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACM40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Somerset Palace Seoul
Somerset Palace Seoul
#48 of 474 in Seoul
589 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Insadong
Hotel Sunbee
Hotel Sunbee
#45 of 474 in Seoul
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orakai Insadong Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orakai Insadong Suites

Property: Orakai Insadong Suites
Address: 18, Insadong 4-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul 03163, South Korea (Formerly Fraser Suites Insadong)
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Seoul
#38 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#40 Family Hotel in Seoul
#54 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Orakai Insadong Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orakai Insadong Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Seoul Hotel Seoul
Fraser Hotel Seoul
Seoul Fraser Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing