We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice business hotel but aging”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Imperial Palace Seoul
Ranked #20 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“nice business hotel but aging”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I am coming to this hotel for more then 10 years because it is close to my company. Nice hotel, very nice fitness centre. But rooms are getting old. The name Palace is really good chosen but for me it is sometimes too much palace. Overpowering entrance, big lobby. Sorry to say but I see a slight decrease of service in the last 10 years. example, when I have to ask 2 times for a second cup of coffee, this is not what I expect from a palace hotel. Not big issue you may say but when I look at price per value, the hotel is expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPSEOUL, Guest Relations at Imperial Palace Seoul, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Greetings from the Imperial Palace, Seoul.

First I would like to thank you for your continued patronage over the past 10 years.

We are happy to hear that you enjoy some of the hotel facilities like the fitness center. As you know, our fitness center is exclusive to room guests and members, so the private atmosphere is ideal for business travelers like yourself.

I am sorry to hear that you have seen a slight decrease in our service quality and I apologize for any inconveniences you experienced on your last stay with us. We are always striving to improve our services and offer a 5-star experience to guests. I hope that we can offer you a better experience on your next visit.

Again, I thank you for your continued patronage over the years and I hope we have the pleasure of having you as our guest again soon.

Sincerely,

Susan Crawford
Guest Relations
Imperial Palace, Seoul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    211
    71
    29
    25
See reviews for
111
156
72
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for business for 4 days. Very imperial design.... English and Korean. Hotel environment was nice, quiet, ambient environment, nice lighting and above all clean & tidy. Lobby was nice. Room was good. Confortable bed. Location was very convenient (close to Gangnam street). Subway station is just 5~10 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor so that will have the best view of Seoul city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPSEOUL, Guest Relations at Imperial Palace Seoul, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Greetings from the Imperial Palace, Seoul.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, glad that you enjoyed the ambiance of our hotel. As you noticed, we have many European antiques throughout the hotel which lend to the Imperial design feel.

In the rooms we do our best to combine state-of-the-art facilities with all of the comforts of home. We have also added soft mattress covers to most of our beds to assure guests have a good nights sleep.

Our hotel is located in the heart of the Gangnam district with many places to explore including the Gangnam station street area. If you didn’t visit on this trip, I would recommend checking out the Garosugil area next time! This is a very trendy area filled with a variety of shops and restaurants.

Again, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Susan Crawford
Guest Relations
Imperial Palace, Seoul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in june 2013 and upgraded to the Club Imperial which gave us free Internet, breakfast, lounge access, mineral water and gymnasium.

We loved the lounge and especially the happy hour (1800-2100) with free food and drinks. The gymnasium was also fantastic. They provide t-shirt, swimwear, slippers, towels, shampoo etc.

The bed was hard, and the wc funny with extra functionality.

Room Tip: Make the upgrade to Club Imperial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarloSantoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPSEOUL, Guest Relations at Imperial Palace Seoul, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Greetings from the Imperial Palace, Seoul!

I thank you for taking the time to share your positive review of our hotel. And I am so glad that you enjoyed our Club Imperial Lounge and all the benefits that come along with being a club guest.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Susan Crawford
Guest Relations
Imperial Palace, Seoul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
524 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Came here on a business trip, had room arranged by conference. Room spacious, altough I like a softer mattress. Prob just Korean likes/dislikes. Comfortable otherwise. Grill had great food but very expensive. $25 for a hamburger. Real treat was live morning wakeup callDesk, Concierge very helpful Morning breakfast wonderful. Try the omlet made with chop sticks!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samtrip12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPSEOUL, Guest Relations at Imperial Palace Seoul, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Greetings from the Imperial Palace, Seoul.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms to be comfortable and spacious.

Also, glad to hear that you enjoyed our food. Our hotel is well-known for its high quality of food. Our outdoor Garden Terrace will open this week and will stay open until the end of summer, so be sure to try it during your next visit.

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Palace Seoul again soon.

Susan Crawford
Guest Relations
Imperial Palace, Seoul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

They charged me US$30.00 for two hard boiled eggs and one apple - must have been laid by the hen that lays golden eggs! Completely unreasonable and I told them so at check out. Managed to begrudingly get 50% of the charge as they hadn't told me how ridiculously expensive that simple order would be. I was told that it was quite all right to charge me that amount. Really!!

Couldn't sit in the main lobby without being asked to buy a drink, again at extortionate prices, so had to move even if I was waiting 3 minutes for a car to take me to a meeting. And no one was sitting there anyway.

Went to use the gym and you had to pay to use the sauna.

In the end felt like I'd spent 2 nights on a low budget airline where they try and rinse you for every $ possible.

Left and stayed at another hotel for last night.

Other that that nice rooms and quite a nice 'old school' vibe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPSEOUL, Guest Relations at Imperial Palace Seoul, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Greetings from the Imperial Palace, Seoul.

We were so sorry to hear that you didn’t have a more positive experience during your stay with us.
Regarding the issues that you mentioned, we have spoken with the staff about better informing guests of prices when items that are ordered are not listed on the menu.
Also, we have spoken with our Lobby Lounge staff and asked them to be more flexible with guests needing a place to wait for their colleagues.
As for the sauna, this is only included in the room cost of club rooms. If you should choose to stay with us again in the future I would advise a club room. This room type would include complimentary use of the sauna and breakfast, day snack, and happy hour in the evenings. Additional club benefits can be found on our website.
I thank you taking the time to share your feedback and hope that you decide to try our hotel again in the future.

Sincerely,

Susan Crawford
Guest Relations
Imperial Palace, Seoul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed at the Imperial Palace hotel Seoul in March for 4 nights with families. My daughter has pneumonia in the evening of first day. I'm very helpless and I called hotel then. Their Duty Manager Paul Wang and a driver drove us to the nearest hospital at the first time for free. And my spoken English is not good and Paul is very patient to us and guide us to each stop of hospital and translate korean to English to me from doctor. He company with me the whole process in hospital. His patient and courtesy make me very impressive. The next day the hotel gave me a greeting card and a basket of fruit and left a message that they're happy to help me and please let them know if I need further help. My daughter is better when we left this hotel and I'm very graceful for that. It's so lucky to meet Paul and stay here in Seoul.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPSEOUL, Guest Relations at Imperial Palace Seoul, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Greetings from the Imperial Palace, Seoul!

I am so glad to hear that your daughter is feeling better. Also glad to hear that our Duty Manager, Paul Wang was so helpful to you and your family during your stay.
Mr. Wang is a very caring man and always does his best to assist guests in any situation. He too was so glad to hear that your daughter is feeling better and he was happy to assist your family.

Thank you for taking the time to share your praise of our duty manager. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back again soon!


Sincerely,

Susan Crawford
Guest Relations
Imperial Palace, Seoul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Exremely courteous staff and very helpful when requesting information or directions but the hotel is aa little "aged" but amenities are first class. It was averaging 6 degrees outside at night but rooms were very warm and aircon would not switch on. I stayed 4 nights and had 5 breakfasts and every morning the same food was on offer (no variety). Extremely pricey so I would not recommend to dine or drink in the hotel as there are a few local bars within walking distance at a third of the price (24Hr shop a tenth of the price). A good hotel for a business trip but I would not recommend it for a holiday as the location is too far away from shopping malls and good restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BedrockB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPSEOUL, Guest Relations at Imperial Palace Seoul, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Greetings from the Imperial Palace, Seoul!

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you found our staff to be courteous and helpful during your stay.

Regarding the air conditioning, we only operate the heating system in the winter and early spring. Once it starts to warm up outside we activate the air conditioning system. I apologize for any inconvenience caused by this. Next time if you should stay with us please let us know if you are uncomfortable and we will do our best to assist you.

As for the morning breakfast, I have spoken with the head culinary advisor to see if some variations can be made to the breakfast buffet.

Next time you visit, please ask our staff for a local map with restaurant listings and information. The staff would be happy to recommend some nice options within walking distance and in the Gangnam area (a 10-15 minute taxi ride).

The Gangnam area also has some great shopping areas including the COEX Mall, Rodeo Street, Garosu-gil and the Gangnam Station area. Our Concierge Staff has plenty maps and guide books so please let them know if you need anything.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Susan Crawford
Guest Relations
Imperial Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Lotte City Hotel Guro
#2 of 472 in Seoul
369 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#34 of 472 in Seoul
258 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#16 of 472 in Seoul
608 reviews
Samseongdong / COEX
Oakwood Premier Coex Center
Samseongdong / COEX
InterContinental Seoul COEX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Palace Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Palace Seoul

Property: Imperial Palace Seoul
Address: 640, Eonju-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06098, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Samseongdong / COEX
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#14 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#31 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Imperial Palace Seoul 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Palace Seoul is located in the heart of the business and cultural center, Seoul, South Korea's thriving capital, and it has long been a city landmark. Imperial Palace Seoul won top prize in the Favorite Business Hotel category of the TIME Readers' Travel Choice Awards 2006 selected by Time Asia. This is the first time a Korean hotel has been honored with such an award. At the time of the G20 Summit in 2010 and the Nuclear Security Summit in 2011, leaders from countries around the world such as Brazil, Vietnam, Algeria and many others visited Imperial Palace Seoul, and it has been recognized as one of the top branded hotels in Korea. A noble and artistic atmosphere with elegant European style interior, antiques and paintings, Imperial Palace Seoul provides a space to enjoy beautiful art beyond the function of accommodation by offering the best service and giving top priority to customer satisfaction and impression under the motto of 'The Best of Everything'. Developing its 27-year history with pure domestic capital as the best hotel brand with a world class network along with 'Imperial Palace City Hotel Fukuoka' in Japan in 2007 and 'Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel' in Itaewon, Korea in early 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Imperial Palace Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing