We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Imperial Palace Seoul
Ranked #28 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Came here on a business trip, had room arranged by conference. Room spacious, altough I like a softer mattress. Prob just Korean likes/dislikes. Comfortable otherwise. Grill had great food but very expensive. $25 for a hamburger. Real treat was live morning wakeup callDesk, Concierge very helpful Morning breakfast wonderful. Try the omlet made with chop sticks!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samtrip12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPSEOUL, Guest Relations at Imperial Palace Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Greetings from the Imperial Palace, Seoul.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms to be comfortable and spacious.

Also, glad to hear that you enjoyed our food. Our hotel is well-known for its high quality of food. Our outdoor Garden Terrace will open this week and will stay open until the end of summer, so be sure to try it during your next visit.

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Palace Seoul again soon.

Susan Crawford
Guest Relations
Imperial Palace, Seoul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 878 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

They charged me US$30.00 for two hard boiled eggs and one apple - must have been laid by the hen that lays golden eggs! Completely unreasonable and I told them so at check out. Managed to begrudingly get 50% of the charge as they hadn't told me how ridiculously expensive that simple order would be. I was told that it was quite all right to charge me that amount. Really!!

Couldn't sit in the main lobby without being asked to buy a drink, again at extortionate prices, so had to move even if I was waiting 3 minutes for a car to take me to a meeting. And no one was sitting there anyway.

Went to use the gym and you had to pay to use the sauna.

In the end felt like I'd spent 2 nights on a low budget airline where they try and rinse you for every $ possible.

Left and stayed at another hotel for last night.

Other that that nice rooms and quite a nice 'old school' vibe.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPSEOUL, Guest Relations at Imperial Palace Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Greetings from the Imperial Palace, Seoul.

We were so sorry to hear that you didn’t have a more positive experience during your stay with us.
Regarding the issues that you mentioned, we have spoken with the staff about better informing guests of prices when items that are ordered are not listed on the menu.
Also, we have spoken with our Lobby Lounge staff and asked them to be more flexible with guests needing a place to wait for their colleagues.
As for the sauna, this is only included in the room cost of club rooms. If you should choose to stay with us again in the future I would advise a club room. This room type would include complimentary use of the sauna and breakfast, day snack, and happy hour in the evenings. Additional club benefits can be found on our website.
I thank you taking the time to share your feedback and hope that you decide to try our hotel again in the future.

Sincerely,

Susan Crawford
Guest Relations
Imperial Palace, Seoul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed at the Imperial Palace hotel Seoul in March for 4 nights with families. My daughter has pneumonia in the evening of first day. I'm very helpless and I called hotel then. Their Duty Manager Paul Wang and a driver drove us to the nearest hospital at the first time for free. And my spoken English is not good and Paul is very patient to us and guide us to each stop of hospital and translate korean to English to me from doctor. He company with me the whole process in hospital. His patient and courtesy make me very impressive. The next day the hotel gave me a greeting card and a basket of fruit and left a message that they're happy to help me and please let them know if I need further help. My daughter is better when we left this hotel and I'm very graceful for that. It's so lucky to meet Paul and stay here in Seoul.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPSEOUL, Guest Relations at Imperial Palace Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Greetings from the Imperial Palace, Seoul!

I am so glad to hear that your daughter is feeling better. Also glad to hear that our Duty Manager, Paul Wang was so helpful to you and your family during your stay.
Mr. Wang is a very caring man and always does his best to assist guests in any situation. He too was so glad to hear that your daughter is feeling better and he was happy to assist your family.

Thank you for taking the time to share your praise of our duty manager. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back again soon!


Sincerely,

Susan Crawford
Guest Relations
Imperial Palace, Seoul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Exremely courteous staff and very helpful when requesting information or directions but the hotel is aa little "aged" but amenities are first class. It was averaging 6 degrees outside at night but rooms were very warm and aircon would not switch on. I stayed 4 nights and had 5 breakfasts and every morning the same food was on offer (no variety). Extremely pricey so I would not recommend to dine or drink in the hotel as there are a few local bars within walking distance at a third of the price (24Hr shop a tenth of the price). A good hotel for a business trip but I would not recommend it for a holiday as the location is too far away from shopping malls and good restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BedrockB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPSEOUL, Guest Relations at Imperial Palace Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Greetings from the Imperial Palace, Seoul!

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you found our staff to be courteous and helpful during your stay.

Regarding the air conditioning, we only operate the heating system in the winter and early spring. Once it starts to warm up outside we activate the air conditioning system. I apologize for any inconvenience caused by this. Next time if you should stay with us please let us know if you are uncomfortable and we will do our best to assist you.

As for the morning breakfast, I have spoken with the head culinary advisor to see if some variations can be made to the breakfast buffet.

Next time you visit, please ask our staff for a local map with restaurant listings and information. The staff would be happy to recommend some nice options within walking distance and in the Gangnam area (a 10-15 minute taxi ride).

The Gangnam area also has some great shopping areas including the COEX Mall, Rodeo Street, Garosu-gil and the Gangnam Station area. Our Concierge Staff has plenty maps and guide books so please let them know if you need anything.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Susan Crawford
Guest Relations
Imperial Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed at the Imperial Palace hotel Seoul in March for 6 nights, on a business trip.
This hotel looks old and is located a bit far away from the best areas of Gagnam. 

Highlights:
1. the rooms not facing the main road are quieter. I did not hear road noise during my stay.
2. Internet speed is good (I typically got 10 Mbps speed) and its access was included in the room rate.
3. the bus to Incheon airport stops in front of the hotel (15,000won, about 1hour drive).
4. there is a golf driving range in the hotel accessible for a fee  (it is about 30 meter long and has 10 tees).

lowlights

- rooms look old, averagely maintained and kitsch,

- bathrobes and towels are worn out and need replacement,

- hot water in the bathroom is extremely hot, to the point that if you are not careful you risk to get burned. This is made worst by the fact that the hot water knob works in a counter-intuitively manner: you need to turn it clockwise for opening.

- at breakfast the coffee refill was not done automatically by the waitress, I always had to ask for it.

- the laundry service returned me a shirt with stains.

- the taxis waiting at the hotel are mostly the more expensive black taxis (start rate at 4500won) rather than the regular ones (2500won). I suggest that you wave for an orange or grey taxi on  the main road (provided you have the address written in Korean).

overall I found that the Imperial Palace hotel is too pompous and old and has several annoying defects. It will not be on my short list for my future stays in Seoul.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alberto L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPSEOUL, Guest Relations at Imperial Palace Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Greetings from the Imperial Palace, Seoul.

First I would like to thank you for your feedback. Valuable feedback like yours helps us to serve our guests better and improve our services.

We were glad to hear about the highlights you mentioned. I see you noted our driving range. If you like sports, I hope that you also had time to check out our state-of-the-art gym. If not, be sure to stop by on your next visit!

As for some of the other points you mentioned, I have spoken with our Housekeeping Department and they will be reviewing our current stock of bathrobes/towels and also checking the water temperature in bathrooms.

I sincerely apologize for problem you experienced with our laundry service. I hope that you pointed this out to our staff during your stay as we would have done our best to remedy this problem.

I have also spoken with our Café Manager to make sure that the staff is more attentive with the service.

Again, I thank you for your feedback and hope that you consider visiting us again.

Sincerely,

Susan Crawford
Guest Relations
Imperial Palace, Seoul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Imperial Palace hotel is highly regarded in Seoul. It is a somewhat aging five star with good services overall but sadly in need of coming into the new century.. Everything is expensive in the hotel so beware and do not expect to get a cheap glass of wine or even a reasonably priced coffee.

Room Tip: If you can afford them, the club lounge provides the better services
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPSEOUL, Guest Relations at Imperial Palace Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Greetings from the Imperial Palace, Seoul.

We are glad to hear that overall you find our services to be good. During your next stay consider staying in one of our Club Rooms. Club guests have complimentary use of our Club Lounge with free coffee and tea throughout the day and a happy hour in the evenings with wine and beer.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again!

Sincerely,

Susan Crawford
Guest Relations
Imperial Palace, Seoul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

i was lucky enough to get a voucher to stay here for one night including dinner and breakfast, and i must say that it was a lovely experience. While the Imperial Palace is not the most modern hotel, it maintains an ambiance of classic luxury. The lobby is warmly lit and there are hotel staff always bustling about and eager to help. While i'm not the biggest fan of buffets, the Imperial had a dinner spread that had a great assortment of dishes while also arranging it all in such a way as to avoid it looking like a tacky lunch line. Also, the waitstaff was helpful and polite. The buffet included well-made Korean dishes as well as treats from other countries. As an American expat there, I found the selection of wine to be fairly adequate and food was tasty.

The room itself looked as if it had maintained its original layout from decades ago, but it was clean, and had all the trappings of old world splendor. Picture a room that James Bond (played by Sean Connery) might have stayed in. While the hallways have a bit of a smoky smell, even a sensitive person such as myself was not annoyed (but perhaps I might have been if I stayed for more than one night).

Breakfast after a good night's snooze on a comfy bed, was delightful. The buffet spread was just as good as the dinner one had been, and there were so many choices! My fiance and I were stuffed by the end.

The rest of the hotel is lovely, and a view of it from blocks away is a bit breathtaking. In a city where many buildings are not more than 10-15 years old, the Imperial Palace is a welcome anachronistic beauty. The clerk who handled our checkout was quite polite and it was impressive to learn that he spoke at least 7 languages effortlessly (we eavesdropped as he spoke to various hotel guests in their native tongues).

I've since left Seoul, but my memory of the Imperial Palace is always a fond one.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank resIpsaLoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPSEOUL, Guest Relations at Imperial Palace Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Greetings from the Imperial Palace, Seoul.

We are so pleased to hear that you and your fiancé enjoyed your stay with us!

Also glad to hear that you took advantage of our wonderful buffets. Next time you visit Seoul you may want to try our Italian restaurant – Verona. The private and cozy atmosphere would make for a lovely dinner date with your fiancé.

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments and we hope to welcome you back when you return to Seoul.

Sincerely,

Susan Crawford
Guest Relations
Imperial Palace, Seoul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#38 of 504 in Seoul
313 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam
Lotte City Hotel Guro
#5 of 504 in Seoul
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Samseongdong / COEX
InterContinental Seoul COEX
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Palace Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Palace Seoul

Address: 640, Eonju-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06098, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Samseongdong / COEX
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#19 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#31 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: $123 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Imperial Palace Seoul 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Palace Seoul is located in the heart of the business and cultural center, Seoul, South Korea's thriving capital, and it has long been a city landmark. Imperial Palace Seoul won top prize in the Favorite Business Hotel category of the TIME Readers' Travel Choice Awards 2006 selected by Time Asia. This is the first time a Korean hotel has been honored with such an award. At the time of the G20 Summit in 2010 and the Nuclear Security Summit in 2011, leaders from countries around the world such as Brazil, Vietnam, Algeria and many others visited Imperial Palace Seoul, and it has been recognized as one of the top branded hotels in Korea. A noble and artistic atmosphere with elegant European style interior, antiques and paintings, Imperial Palace Seoul provides a space to enjoy beautiful art beyond the function of accommodation by offering the best service and giving top priority to customer satisfaction and impression under the motto of 'The Best of Everything'. Developing its 27-year history with pure domestic capital as the best hotel brand with a world class network along with 'Imperial Palace City Hotel Fukuoka' in Japan in 2007 and 'Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel' in Itaewon, Korea in early 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Palace Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing