We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Walkerhill Seoul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Walkerhill Seoul
Ranked #113 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“A good hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

Had two stays here last week (both two nights). Upgraded to club suites at both stays - had booked cheapest annex room. Hotel was pretty much fully booked, but was upgraded anyway (SPG Platinum upgrade).

Location - It is in a little remote location, but there is a free shuttle every 10 min which connects to the subway system. Another option is to take a cab. It is a 30 min ride from the city center by cab, which costs around 20000 won one-way. Not too expensive. Cabs are cheap in Seoul.

Staff - are eager to please and fulfill your requirements, and they are not allowed to accept tip (just like Japan).

Suite - club suite, located on "Sheraton Club Floor" - 12th till 17th floor. It was an open suite, not separate living/study area like traditional suites. Living area had a sitting group and desk and large LCD-television. There was a small toilet stall connected to the living area. There was a small wall separating the bedroom and living area. The bedroom had one queen bed and one single bed and a LCD-television. A larger bathroom with separate shower and bathtub, and a toilet stall as well. Wonderful toilets - that clean and dry, so no need for toilet paper, hehe. The suite had nice views over the river. A nice suite, not very private though with the open solution and also lot of glass/windows used in the bathroom.

Lounge - large lounge with nice views. Breakfast is very limited though. Happy hour was nice, and had some warm dishes as well.

Health club - nice pool and gym, but on the more tatty side, was pretty tired. It closed at 9:30PM every day, which was a huge inconvenience. Should at least be open till 10PM or 11PM.

Food and beverage - a lot of restaurants/bars and lounges located in the Sheraton and in the connecting W Hotel. But the kitchen closes at 10:30PM sharp! So it is impossible to have food after this. Not even the bar serves sandwiches after this. Kinda strange for a hotel of this calibre! There is some kind of bar on the 16 floor, but they serve expensive snacks only (caviar, lobster, etc etc). Room service is open 24 hours a day however - and the food was good.

All in all a pretty good hotel. Would return here any day!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skrosvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    250
    101
    27
    11
See reviews for
91
89
65
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

Can't complain about the hotel and service there, just about perfect. Incredible staff.

If you are coming from Incheon airport and taking the convenient KAL bus service, it is the last stop on the route. It is just far from everything. Can take the hotel bus to the subway system to connect with the rest of Seoul.

Check out the restaurant on top of the W hotel next door. Awesome food, view, and well worth the approx. $150 per person dinner plus drink.

Loved the whole experience here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

I recently completed a stay at the Walker Hill Sheraton. As SPG Plat, you get access to the club level floors (12-17) and can check in at the club lounge on the 17th floor. I was advised that the club floors had just undergone a renovation which were completed at the end of April. Was upgraded to a club suite (actually called a club family suite since it has two beds in the "bedroom" part of the suite. Room has been completely remodeled. I really like the design and the photos of the club suite are accurately reflected in the photos on the SPG site. Main washroom off the bedroom is large, seperate shower and tub. Glass walls, with the wc in a seperate enclosure. Very small half bathroom off the living room. The living area is seperated from the bedroom by a partition which holds the tvs (one for the bedroom and one for the living room) -- I like it but it sort of defeats the purpose of a seperate bedroom.

Nice views from the river view rooms, pretty decent restaurants (Japanese and Korean that I tried). Service is very good. Breakfast at the club lounge is pretty decent. Mixture of western breakfast classics like eggs, bacon, pastries, smoked salmon, along with some Asian breakfast items, fruit. Never tried the happy hour which provides snacks and drinks from 6 - 8 pm.

Fitness center is starting to get really dated and while of reasonable size, has limited cardio equipment, older weight systems. There is an indoor pool and what looks like a very large outdoor recreation center with pool (not in operation when I was there). There is also a seperate sauna from the fitness center sauna. I suspect there is an extra charge for this.

I also think they significantly increased the amount of non smoking rooms during the renovation. As well, internet was very very fast.

I am not a big fan of the location. I have stayed at the W Seoul many times but I was with family on holidays, and usually stay at the Westin if on business. This time I wanted to try the Sheraton while on business, and have to say that it was a bit of an inconvenience. But if you can get around Seoul, and don't mind being off the main subway locations, I would certainly recommend this hotel. Especially if you are an SPG Plat member. You can also hotel hop and try the W hotel which is right next door.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjkathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

Ok the hotel is far from the center, but as I wrote in my title ...they have a very good bus service to 2 important metro station frome where You can go around the city in such an easy and frendly way... that it is incredible!!

before going I was really afraid concerning the postion of the hotel, but then fortunately I tought that I will need the go around with metro even tought I 'll stay in Meyoung Dong..so !

Concerning hotel it is very nice, I had a renowed room very good, and breakfsat was lovle and all taste very good. Lobby is very nice too and also the casino is goos if you want to stay one evening in the hotel.

Yes if you want to saty in the middle of action, this is not the hotel for You, but if You ( as me) will travel around the city all the day and that eating out and come back to hotel, I think this hotel is perfect!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shoalebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2009

^u^ very good location, gorgeous scenery, perfect staffs, unforgettable shuttle bus service and so on... Best breakfast at The View. Everything are perfect, in my opinion!!

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NuniieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

All of the hotels closer to the center were booked so I was exiled to Walker Hill. In the end, I liked it. It's an odd little compound beyond the outskirts. It was a hassle to get to and from (20-30 min taxi to Posco Center) but once you're there it's a nice change of pace.

The Sheraton is right next to the W and the share the same restaurants and shops. There's some sort of convention center in the hotel as well. The hotel has some zaz to it. It's nowhere near as cool as the Seoul Park Hyatt but it's still pretty cool. The room was fine although the TV was stoneage and the channels were weak which was fine because I got more work and reading done.

There's also a small casino attached to the hotel. I didn't have time to play but there was a texas hold 'em table. I tried the Korean restaurant in the hotel. It was very good but more expensive than it should have been. There's a nice coffee shop as well.

The staff was great. You get the sense they'd take a bullet for you if needed. They're friendly and seemed to either genuinly like more or genuinly appreciate my business. I guess it was mutual.

I'll consider staying there again next trip even though it's far from the office. It was a good value and a nice change of pace.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

While visiting my daughter in South Korea, we were looking for a place to sit back and relax in Seoul. This Sheraton more than fit the bill! The Club level offered a place to read, have breakfast, relax, and have a cocktail, all while looking out over the City. The service was superb. Shoes put out for a shine were returned in under an hour. The in-room massage was very relaxing. The doormen made you feel truly welcomed. Las Vegas hotels may have the "look", but this gem in South Korea has the "feel".

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TakemewithyouArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#8 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Itaewon
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Grand Hyatt Seoul
#62 of 468 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Walkerhill Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Walkerhill Seoul

Property: Grand Walkerhill Seoul
Address: 177, Walkerhill-ro, Gwangjin-gu, Seoul 04963, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Seoul
#27 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#66 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Walkerhill Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amid the picturesque Hangang River and Achasan Mountain, Grand Walkerhill Seoul is an urban destination providing guests soothing relaxation in nature, as well as banquets, entertainment, and leisure facilities accompanied by its five-star service. It features a variety of scenic attractions such as Cherry Blossom in spring; shades of trees in summer; foliage in autumn; snowy landscape in winter; and various facilities such as ‘Riverpark’, an outdoor swimming pool overlooking a panorama of the river; ‘Camping in the City’ offering unique camping experience; ‘Walkerhill Kids Club’ for children; ‘Walkerhill Library’ which is book cafe where guests can allow themselves in reading piles of books in comfort. In addition, a convention center of sizes and purposes with 8 functions room (Vista Hall, Aida, Walkerhill Theater, Cosmos Hall, Art Hall, Pine Room, and Grand Hall), which is equipped with state-of-the-art lighting & sound systems, a full-service team of professionals and in-house technicians, offers guests the best service for family gatherings, wedding, large-scale international conference, and business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Grand Walkerhill Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grande Walkerhill Hotel Seoul
Sheraton Grande Walker Hill Hotel
Sheraton Seoul
Seoul Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing