We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good business hotel except..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Walkerhill Seoul
Ranked #75 of 497 Hotels in Seoul
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very good business hotel except..”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

the bedrooms have a dark gloss finish which makes using the full length mirror hard due to lack of light - that was irritating. Other than that a first class business hotel with excellent service. It can be a little noisy with shopping parties from Japan chatting loudly in the corridors. In house restaurant is quite good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, MarComm Manager at Grand Walkerhill Seoul, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Customer

We thank for your choice of Sheraton Grande Walkerhill to spend your precious time and experience with us. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can receive.

I do apologize for your inconvenience you experienced with the hotel room and the noise in the corridors. We are actually in the process of discussing about this issue in order to provide our customers with more comfortable stays.

Your thoughtful and detailed feedback will be very helpful to improve our hotel indeed. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention. We will do our best to provide you the excellent service in which you can only experience with us at Sheraton Grande Walkerhill.

We wish you and your family to keep health and happiness.

Best regards,

Jenny Kim
MarComm Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    266
    105
    29
    12
See reviews for
139
101
72
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vashon, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Let me start this by saying that generally I love Sheraton Hotels. But, we spent 3 days here while my husband attended a conference and were hugely disappointed. We had been warned the rooms were small and they weren't wrong. The bathrooms were tiny and had no sound barrier between them and the room. My real disappointment was that there was nothing within walking distance to the Hotel so you were forced to pay their prices for food or take a shuttle bus and subway trip to find something else. Nobody should have to pay $12 for a cup of weak coffee that isn't even refilled. Ouch. We were and it wasn't a good experience. Just be warned if you decide to stay here... You will be overpaying for the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joannedk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the end of my June 2012 korea business trip and wanted to relax and gamble for my final 3 nights in Seoul.
Choose to stay here due to the Casino in the Hotel and for my SPG membership.
W hotel was just next door and I liked the Woo Bar at their hotel lobby where I take my drinks with my friends.

My 9th visit to Seoul but my First time that I stayed here.
Made a mistake of booking the Douglas room instead of the rooms at the Main Building.
Thought I was getting a better deal by choosing a cheaper room because I wanted to play at the Casino but didn't know that the casino was closer to the main hotel building.
Easy Fix, I Opted to Pay for the additional room cost in order to be transferred to the Main Building so the second and third nights were better.

The Main building Room was Nice and clean but was Small for a 5 star hotel.
The Bed was really soft and comfy but the hotel was fully booked at that time and they couldn't give me a king size bed and got the room with a twin bed instead.... sure No big deal.

Facilities were good and up to the standard of a 5 star hotel. with a casino and duty free shops so those were convenient.

Location is a bit far from everything but the hotel provided a free shuttle to Myeongdong and other locations. awesome No problem

Staff spoke excellent english and professional,
BUT I did encounter some discourtesy and rudeness with some of the FRONT DESK staff who made me feel unwelcome and with some of the DOORMEN who didn't even smile and looked angry all the time and looked at me like I couldn't afford to be a customer there.
My guess is that some of the staff are under trained in Hospitality and hate to say it (i could be wrong) but some have a superiority complex towards people like me who are Caramel skinned.

The staff who deserve my acknowledgement and praise are the young doorman, who was always friendly and greeted with a genuine smile. Even engaged in small talk and always asked how my day was or what was my plan for the day.
And The Bellhop, who showed me to my second room at the Main Building. He was excellent and courteous, did his best to have a friendly conversation with me while we were walking to my room and had great customer care service by apologizing for my bad experiences repeatedly. This guy was apologizing to me when it wasn't even his fault. That's who I call a real Team Player.

The only front desk staff that really made me feel welcome was the lady supervisor of the douglas building reception. She always had a warm smile and was very helpful. And acknowledged my presence by engaging in Small talk with the common courtesies and friendliness expected from a nice hotel.

Would I stay here again? Maybe, if I they improve their hospitality and customer service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silverkatana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My Thai wife and I are on our first trip to South Korea. I booked this hotel for the first five nights. We are Platinum SPG and were upgraded to a suite with a wonderful view of the Hangang River. The suite was well appointed, with everything clean and working. Minor comment is that the bath towels seemed a little threadbare, might be worth the hotel looking to renew.

To be honest I didn't realise the hotel was so far out of Seoul. Might not have booked it if I had but we soon sorted out the transport options. The first two mornings we walked a kilometer down the hill and used the subway to get into the city. On the second day we caught the hotel shuttle bus from the subway back to the hotel. Obviously this service would save us the walk down but we enjoyed it. On our second last day we took the shuttle into central Seoul. We could have caught it back but chose a taxi. We found the taxis in Seoul to be reasonably priced but there is a language issue at times.

Back to the hotel. We enjoyed the Club Lounge on several occassions. Twice we could not be accommodated immediately for evening cocktails; it is peak season. On both occassions we were called back from our room within 20 minutes. The evening cocktails also offer sufficient food to make a light dinner. We took breakfast there on three mornings. Standard, limited range but enough to provide an adequate breakfast. Twice we asked to take breakfast in the main cafe downstairs. A voucher was promptly provided. An extensive breakfast is available in the cafe.

We had room service one night. Food arrived quickly and was very well presented. Was standard but again adequate fare. Maybe a bit expensive.

Only real issue we encountered was the laundry charges. It is outlandish, a least four times more expensive than I've encountered anywhere in the world. Seriously, you need to wonder how you could be charged more to launder a tailor made short sleeve shirt than you paid for it. The wife chose to hand wash.

We found the service in the hotel to be very good. The hotel also has a strict no tipping policy.

We will be back and happy to recommend this hotel, with maybe a word of caution regarding the laundry charges.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoganInParasite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pohang, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

It was second visit after more than 10 years. Room was renewed and stone floor was clean. Room size is small but use of a space is good. The beds(twin) are comfortable and we had good sleep.
The location was away from the center of Seoul but it has good walking trails surrounded with woods and (relatively) fresh air in Seoul. It was OK to go to other place for there is a shuttle bus to subway station(Gangbyeong and Gwangnaru) every 10 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippedonearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here because I am a fan of Starwood hotels and also a member. It is a nice modern hotel that you would expect in the W hotels. It is away from the city center so taking taxi is a must to get to the subway. We didn't mind the commute but you'd like to be closer to public transportation then you should not stay here. The service is excellent. The breakfast can be a little pricy. We stayed on the top floor and our room was large and had panoramic view of the river and the city. Absolutely beautiful view and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Top floor at the end of the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minhsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stay one night on 13/6 with tour group. Everything looks glamorous, high class there but room was small if 3 persons are staying. Room service was ex too they have a casino at the lobby which we did not use. Overall not bad but not sure of the price cause the tour pay for it

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 701kenny069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Vista Walkerhill Seoul
#1 of 497 in Seoul
126 reviews
Itaewon
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Grand Hyatt Seoul
#70 of 497 in Seoul
2,123 reviews
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#16 of 497 in Seoul
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hilton Seoul
#90 of 497 in Seoul
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Walkerhill Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Walkerhill Seoul

Property: Grand Walkerhill Seoul
Address: 177, Walkerhill-ro, Gwangjin-gu, Seoul 04963, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Seoul
#23 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#47 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Walkerhill Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amid the picturesque Hangang River and Achasan Mountain, Grand Walkerhill Seoul is an urban destination providing guests soothing relaxation in nature, as well as banquets, entertainment, and leisure facilities accompanied by its five-star service. It features a variety of scenic attractions such as Cherry Blossom in spring; shades of trees in summer; foliage in autumn; snowy landscape in winter; and various facilities such as ‘Riverpark’, an outdoor swimming pool overlooking a panorama of the river; ‘Camping in the City’ offering unique camping experience; ‘Walkerhill Kids Club’ for children; ‘Walkerhill Library’ which is book cafe where guests can allow themselves in reading piles of books in comfort. In addition, a convention center of sizes and purposes with 8 functions room (Vista Hall, Aida, Walkerhill Theater, Cosmos Hall, Art Hall, Pine Room, and Grand Hall), which is equipped with state-of-the-art lighting & sound systems, a full-service team of professionals and in-house technicians, offers guests the best service for family gatherings, wedding, large-scale international conference, and business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Walkerhill Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grande Walkerhill Hotel Seoul
Sheraton Grande Walker Hill Hotel
Sheraton Seoul
Seoul Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing