We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Walkerhill Seoul
Ranked #95 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Pohang, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“not bad”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

It was second visit after more than 10 years. Room was renewed and stone floor was clean. Room size is small but use of a space is good. The beds(twin) are comfortable and we had good sleep.
The location was away from the center of Seoul but it has good walking trails surrounded with woods and (relatively) fresh air in Seoul. It was OK to go to other place for there is a shuttle bus to subway station(Gangbyeong and Gwangnaru) every 10 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippedonearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    262
    104
    29
    11
See reviews for
109
96
69
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here because I am a fan of Starwood hotels and also a member. It is a nice modern hotel that you would expect in the W hotels. It is away from the city center so taking taxi is a must to get to the subway. We didn't mind the commute but you'd like to be closer to public transportation then you should not stay here. The service is excellent. The breakfast can be a little pricy. We stayed on the top floor and our room was large and had panoramic view of the river and the city. Absolutely beautiful view and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Top floor at the end of the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minhsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stay one night on 13/6 with tour group. Everything looks glamorous, high class there but room was small if 3 persons are staying. Room service was ex too they have a casino at the lobby which we did not use. Overall not bad but not sure of the price cause the tour pay for it

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 701kenny069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Very nice hotel, and good to have W next door for the bar scene, but this place is just too far from Seoul to matter. 45 minutes by subway or 20 minutes by taxi. Plenty of nice hotels in town so not sure why anyone would want to stay here (i did for work).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Been here once three years ago and still, the space of the rooms are not fantastic and I have seen many better in central Seoul etc.

However several highlights and tips could make your stay a (Very Good) / 4 star one (as I have rated).

1.) Request for the newly renovated rooms.
2.) Avoid 2 single beds unless necessary because your "space" would be reduced. Also do not expect a King sized bed but a queen if you book their standard/deluxe.
3.) They have an excellent feature - they have free mobile phones per room. You do not have to rent one at the Airport. Free SMS and incoming calls, but hotel charges rates for outgoing etc.
4.) Rent an Internet Toggle egg from the airport. Much better than hotels.
5.) Avoid dining in the hotel. Everything here is overpriced.

In short stay at this hotel only if you have an event on-site and you will enjoy your stay here. If you use this as a base to visit the rest of Seoul then... Good luck to you. Bad traffic and out of reach.

Come expecting what me and other reviewers have mentioned and you'll be fine. =)

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Request for club floors they usually give them to you as these aren't real club floors. The reno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BryanHuangPFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

was on a group tour, so only did a sleepover at this hotel for a night.

standard things like no porter service, however, i did not expect that a hotel of such caliber was unable to provide free internet service !! ... but they had a free mobile phone rental service (in the room) which you only pay for the airtime.

anyway, this is what i noticed of the hotel :

it was kind of out of the way as it was situated on small hill top but they had a DFS shopping area at the basement and a casion. The water pressure in the bath and basin was very strong. The standard rooms were abit on the small side for such a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank scyeo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

My family sytayed here for 1 night for weekend in Seoul on March 24, 2012. Unfortunately for us there were diplomats and top officials from various nations staying here for the nuclear summit during our stay which just made everything hectic and crazy. We reserved superior deluxe room with two beds and my wife and two little girls and my self had no problem sleeping on bed together. The rooms were ready when we got to the hotel at 15:00 and room was very clean. Our room size was standard (not small or big) for Seoul standard with very modern and hip decor(not what I expected from Sheraton) but very nicely done. The service was great and food was little expensive but what would you expect from luxury hotel in Seoul.
I have nothing to complaint except for hotel is far from old Seoul downtown(30 minutes pending on traffic) but hotel does provide shuttle service all day. Overall it's a good hotel minus the location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleeplessinseoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Vista Walkerhill Seoul
#53 of 472 in Seoul
65 reviews
Itaewon
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Grand Hyatt Seoul
#66 of 472 in Seoul
2,084 reviews
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#14 of 472 in Seoul
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hilton Seoul
#72 of 472 in Seoul
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Walkerhill Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Walkerhill Seoul

Property: Grand Walkerhill Seoul
Address: 177, Walkerhill-ro, Gwangjin-gu, Seoul 04963, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Seoul
#24 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#62 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Walkerhill Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amid the picturesque Hangang River and Achasan Mountain, Grand Walkerhill Seoul is an urban destination providing guests soothing relaxation in nature, as well as banquets, entertainment, and leisure facilities accompanied by its five-star service. It features a variety of scenic attractions such as Cherry Blossom in spring; shades of trees in summer; foliage in autumn; snowy landscape in winter; and various facilities such as ‘Riverpark’, an outdoor swimming pool overlooking a panorama of the river; ‘Camping in the City’ offering unique camping experience; ‘Walkerhill Kids Club’ for children; ‘Walkerhill Library’ which is book cafe where guests can allow themselves in reading piles of books in comfort. In addition, a convention center of sizes and purposes with 8 functions room (Vista Hall, Aida, Walkerhill Theater, Cosmos Hall, Art Hall, Pine Room, and Grand Hall), which is equipped with state-of-the-art lighting & sound systems, a full-service team of professionals and in-house technicians, offers guests the best service for family gatherings, wedding, large-scale international conference, and business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Walkerhill Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grande Walkerhill Hotel Seoul
Sheraton Grande Walker Hill Hotel
Sheraton Seoul
Seoul Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing