We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service As Always” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Chosun Seoul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Chosun Seoul
Ranked #22 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Bugis, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Service As Always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I am a little remiss in writing this months after but I was reminded of the excellent services rendered as I booked them for an upcoming trip.
I was tired after a tiring trip to Tokyo where I had lost my card case prior to arriving in Seoul. It was a relief to check into Chosun which I was familiar with. I was upgraded to club floor at check in and it was much appreciated.
Also, I had to leave something at the concierge for a friend living in Seoul who was away in Jeju while I was in Seoul. The staff made sure she got it a week later when she returned to Seoul. This is not always possible even in a 5 star establishment.
The day of check out, I had a box I was planning to check in and the staff helped with giving me the necessary tape and tools to secure the box.
I am looking forward to another stay at Chosun on Friday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelineWWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Greetings from the Westin Chosun, Seoul, Korea

This is carol choi of service express manager, on behalf of our management; I would like to extend our sincere gratitude for your effort to leave a compliment to our service and hotel facilities.

Thank you again for taking time to review about our service.
We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are always truly welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,154
    666
    145
    39
    31
See reviews for
489
430
181
642
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed here with my 3 children (ages 7, 10, & 16) for 8 days over winter break during our first trip to Korea. The front desk staff were very accommodating and housekeeping staff quickly attended to our every need. Our very clean Executive level family room was only just big enough to fit a king bed and rollaway, but the bathroom was spacious with a deep soaking tub and adjustable Grohe shower head, and lots of quality toiletries...and the kids loved the Toto bidet toilet. The king bed we had was extremely firm, much firmer than the normal Westin Heavenly mattress you find in the US. Booking an executive level room includes 2 continental breakfasts daily which allowed us to eat 1 meal a day that wasn't Korean food! (We love Korean food, but 2 meals a day for 8 days was pushing it.)

We booked a full day tour thru the hotel concierge and we were very happy with the private custom tour. Our guide had lived in the US previously, so her English was very good. I also used their spa, which is very nice, but only open to ages 17 and older. I highly recommend the massage and body scrub.

The hotel location in Myeongdong is ideal, just a few steps out the back entrance to all the shops and night life of Myeongdong. The City Hall subway station entrance is just outside of the hotel's main driveway and ice skating at City Hall was just a couple blocks away. There are several small convenience stores within a block of the hotel, as well as some great coffee shops and Korean bbq restaurants.

Korea with the kids was easy, everyone was very nice, and we never felt uncomfortable about having the kids around. We are so happy with our stay at the Westin Chosun and will definitely stay here again the next time we visit Seoul.

Room Tip: Booking an executive level room includes 2 continental breakfasts daily which allowed us to eat 1 me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sashak808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Greetings from the Westin Chosun, Seoul, Korea

This is carol choi of service express manager, on behalf of our management; I would like to extend our sincere gratitude for your effort to leave a compliment to our service and hotel facilities.

Thank you again for taking time to review about our service.
We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are always truly welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

It's the 2nd time we're staying in this hotel. Good location, close by Myeondong yet far from the hustle bustle of the maddening crowd. It's easy to cross over to the non-stop shopping via the clean and bright pedestrain subway. Nice room with enough room to move around without bumping into table corners, clean and crispy white bedding, clean window panes, clean furniture. Coffee machine with coffee capsules and all the trimmings ; few kinds of tea bags ; two free bottles of distilled water ; sufficient toiletires including comb ; toothbrush ; shampoo, conditioner ; vanity wet ; body wash; body lotion; sanitary bag ; sewing kit ; shower cap and free slippers. Samsung TV and plugs everywhere. Laundry bags ; shoe horn ; safe ; iron and ironing board + umbrella well provided. No turn down service though. The worst bit is the bath tub where drainage is slow unless the plug is pulled up. It's also bad that they don't have a full panel to shield the water splashing from the shower inside the tub. The hand basin is stained and drainage is slow too. One good thing is the warmed toilet seat that is an added bonus on a chilly Korean winter day where it was -3 degrees C. Front desk lady staff were appealing and spoke good English, all lady staff looked naturally good without the famous Korean plastic face lift ( LOL ) while the team of young men at the revolving glass door on Lower Lobby as well as Lobby were all amiable; warm ; smiling ; courteous ; rather tall , well built and good-looking. 100% better looking than Psy. The blokes English is not perfect but sufficient to get things done. 'The airport coach that took us to and fro the airport was punctual, clean, comfy and safe. It saves the hassle of expensive car rental and the big wide windows were clean so you could enjoy the scenery outside without the often found greasy hair marks that are off-putting. Much better than Lotte where we last stayed 2 years ago.

Room Tip: ask for non-smoking floor and a corner room is usually quieter. the higher the floor, the better, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G1G1MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Greetings from the Westin Chosun, Seoul, Korea

This is carol choi of service express manager, on behalf of our management; I would like to extend our sincere gratitude for your effort to leave a compliment to our service and hotel facilities.

Thank you again for taking time to review about our service.
We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are always truly welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
127 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I chose this holiday for a 4 day stay with my family of four primarily for the location.

And I was right!

It is only 1 street away from Meoung-dong, the Times Square of New York / Piccadilly Circus of London. We arrived around 9-ish on Lunar New Year's Day, thinking nothing much will be open for dinner on a public holiday. Turned out the streets were still bustling with activity, and we found a nice little restaurant serving great pork cutlet just 10 minute walk from the hotel. So for the remaining nights, we just strolled around the area and picked from the vast array of restaurants. My kids loved it.

The hotel itself was ok. Check-in was relatively efficient; receptionist saw our group and managed to change to a twin room. The room itself was clean, decent, average size for a 4.5-5 star Asian hotel and well-stocked with all the amenities. Pity we didn't sample the pool and gym, but they looked nice. I didn't use the club lounge because I'd need to pay extra for access for wife and children (they wouldn't "comp" it), which I thought at almost US$30 per head it wasn't worth it. Concierge was helpful in booking the city tour for us. Perhaps the most worth mentioning was the doorman/porter who was very responsive. At departure, we asked for our luggage to be brought out while we took the children to the bathroom. By the time we came back everything was nicely stowed into a waiting taxi ready to dash to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yau Baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Greetings from the Westin Chosun, Seoul, Korea

This is carol choi of service express manager, on behalf of our management; I would like to extend our sincere gratitude for your effort to leave a compliment to our service and hotel facilities.

Thank you again for taking time to review about our service.
We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are always truly welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in a business trip. The hotel is beautiful and elegant. The gym is outstanding. The Italian restaurant should not to be missed. I will definetely stay here in my next visit. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paulo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Warm greeting from the Westin Chosun, Seoul

It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment.
We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again we will do our best so that you would feel home away from home .

Carol Choi / Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
210 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

One of my Seoul favorites. The location is very central, right beside City Hall and one of the main business districts. The facilities are impeccable, and each time I note how attentive the staff is to detail, from check in through service at every touch point. As always, the only concern is price - always quite hefty, and epecially the food. For food - you're in Seoul - try to get outside the hotel, there's so much great food in this great city - so don't settle for hotel food, especially their buffet restaurant which is super expensive. Otherwise, everything is five-star. lobby, facilities (indoor and outdoor), rooms - all first class. I always enjoy bringing my wife and daughter on business trips so we can spend the weekend together. I highly recommend Saturday morning strolls where you walk out the front entrance, grab a Starbucks, then head to City Hall grassy area for a stroll - then to the nearby temple. always some sort of action going on in the local neighbourhood. As for a business stay, it's perfect. Business center, wifi, central location convenience - and the very helpful staff, make Seoul stays easy and pleasurable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AsiaMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Greetings from the Westin Chosun, Seoul, Korea

This is carol choi of service express manager, on behalf of our management; I would like to extend our sincere gratitude for your effort to leave a compliment to our service and hotel facilities.

Thank you again for taking time to review about our service.
We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are always truly welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Positives: great location, convenient to shopping, restaurants, transportation and sights. Clean rooms and bathrooms, and comfortable Westin beds.

Disappointing: very expensive for Seoul, overpriced compared to other hotels of same or higher calibre, not great value. SPG Platinum recognition and benefits are poor. Business lounge is overcrowded, always a line up for breakfast, which has a very limited selection, and definitely not worth the wait. Lounge staff are not helpful, are flustered, and put more effort into trying to turn people away rather than into customer service. Restaurant prices are exorbitant to the point of being shameful. There are countless good options outside of hotel, for a fraction of the price, so do not consider eating at hotel. I expect to pay a premium when eating at a hotel, with the service and convenience it provides. But the prices at the Westin Chosun are insulting in a city such as Seoul with so many better options and other great hotel options (Grand Hyatt? Lotte?)

As a very loyal SPG lifetime Platinum member, I had a comfortable stay, but Westin Chosun is not up to SPG standards of service and value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank workhardplayhardx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Greetings from the Westin Chosun, Seoul, Korea

This is carol choi of service express manager, on behalf of our management; I would like to extend our sincere gratitude for your effort to leave a compliment to our service and hotel facilities.

Thank you again for taking time to review about our service.
We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are always truly welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#13 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,092 reviews
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#8 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Seodaemun
Four Seasons Hotel Seoul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chosun Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chosun Seoul

Property: The Westin Chosun Seoul
Address: 106 Sogong-Ro, Jung-Gu, Seoul 04533, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#5 Family Hotel in Seoul
#9 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#16 Business Hotel in Seoul
#17 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Chosun Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Seoul's main business and shopping district, the Westin Chosun Seoul is within easy walking distance of major embassies, banks, commercial and government offices, as well as national museums, historic palaces and local markets. 462 Spacious rooms, including 40suites, are exceptionally furnished with every modern amenity. Advanced features include Westin's signature Heavenly Bed, anti-allergy carpet, premium espresso coffee machine, LED TV with Internet, oversized beds, individually controlled air-conditioning, refrigerator, mini bar, in-room electronic safe, full-size writing desk with office task chair, and voice mail. • Institutional Investor - World's Top 100 Hotels (4 consecutive years) • Asiamoney - Best Hotel in Seoul (3 consecutive years) • Travel +Leisure - World's Best 500 Hotels • Conde Nast Travel - Best Hotel in Seoul • Smart Travel Asia - Asia' Top 25 Business Hotels (5 consecutive years) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Westin Chosun Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chosun Seoul Hotel Seoul
Westin Chosun Hotel Seoul
Westin Seoul
Seoul Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing