We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not cheap - but worth the experience & service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Chosun Seoul
Ranked #20 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not cheap - but worth the experience & service”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed in Westin Chosun because we are having a business briefing in the hotel hence i didn't had much time in assessing all the aspect of the hotel. But here are some of the positive pointers:
- Great location
As most reviewers mentioned, the Myeong-dong shopping street is just 10mins away.

- Great service (staff)
From my brief experience with the staff at the front desk / concierge or customer services - they are professional, helpful and able to converse in decent English.

- Room (average)
Ok, here's aspect that pulled down the scoring. Given the price, the room isn't the most impressive. Its decent but didn't wow. BUT, they had a nice in-house coffee machine (you can be your own barista) and nice layout of their toiletry set.


Conclusion: Yes - the rate is steep (but Korea isn't the cheapest holiday destination), but i still think the hotel is worth every dollar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huilong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Warm greeting from the Westin Chosun, Seoul

It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment.
We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again we will do our best so that you would feel home away from home .

Carol Choi / Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,288
    710
    152
    40
    33
See reviews for
560
478
196
679
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The room and public spaces were adequate but lack charm. Housekeeping was somewhat slapdash, e.g. they forgot turndown service one evening and the bathroom counters were never cleaned. The breakfast buffet on the 20th floor was noisy and too crowded. On the other hand, the gym and swimming pool were very nice. The location is convenient but Seoul has an excellent subway system and taxicabs are plentiful. We'll choose another hotel next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaskatravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your constructive comments regarding your stay with us.
And I would extend my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced with, especially for the housekeeping.
Your comments have been copied to our executive housekeeper, and we will seek to the best solutions for this as soon as possible. Careful room inspection should be made from bed linen to the every corner of the room, carpet to ceiling.

Once again thank you for your brining these matters to our attention, and we, all our Westin Chosun, associates are truly welcoming you back again.

Carol Choi / Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The luxury hotel is situated at a fantastic location and next to City Hall subway.
Within walking distance from the hotel is the famous tourist attraction, Myeong-dong Fashion District and also the Dongdaemun Market which is a few subway stations away.
Within walking distance, you will find many fashion shops, shopping centres and eating shops which is awesome.

Hotel room cleanliness is tip-top, service of the staffs are great, room amenities are plenty and Wifi speed is fast in this hotel but chargable.
There are many restaurants within the hotel to choose from but we choose to eat outside around the hotel. Access to the Incheon Airport by Kal Limousine is easy, comfortable and affordable. (1hr 10mins)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heynsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Warm greeting from the Westin Chosun, Seoul

It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment.
We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again.

Carol Choi / Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Service does not match the upscale furnishings at this hotel. It feels mass market even though the physical plant appears otherwise. A few examples: concierge steered us to a poor restaurant; gym attendants were very foreigner-unfriendly; breakfast over crowded and nothing the selection at similarly priced hotels. We switched here from the Park Hyatt due to the location (which is very good) and wish we hadn't.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDM888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Warm greeting from the Westin Chosun, Seoul

Thank you very much for your constructive comments regarding your stay with us.

All your comments have been reported to our management, and all the corrective actions have been made accordingly and I would extend my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced with us.
To enhance the satisfaction for our guests all staffs are committed to improving the services.

Thank you again for your bringing these matters to our attention, and we, all our Westin Chosun Seoul, associates will truly welcome you again.

Carol Choi / Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Fantastic location and great for both business and personal tour. Newly renovated gym/spa was absolutely fantastic, and food/breakfast buffet is the best albeit high price tag. Best Japanese restaurant in Korea. Lounge is fantastic with great selection of beverages and alcohols as well. The problem is a room. Quite small and outdated. Hopefully, it shut down for a few months and renovate it completely like Hotel Shilla did.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your constructive comments regarding your stay with us.

All your comments have been reported to our management, and all the corrective actions have been made, accordingly.

We are welcoming you next time again.

Thank you.

Carol Choi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The best thing about the Westin Chosun is the location. Walkable to the City Hall area where there were nightly shows, music, and fireworks (probably for the 100 year festival). Myendong is a vibrant area with lots of shopping, street foods, and restaurants. If you shop at the Lotte Mall, make sure you go to the 11th floor to get a discount card before you buy anything. We decided to grab a "quick" sandwich and drink at the hotel cafe. We had a tuna sandwich, a Caesar salad and two juices for around $85 !!! I was shocked when I got the bil. On top of that, we had NO service. We had to go up tot he counter to get our bill and pay. Overcharging left a bad taste (pun intended) in my mouth for the hotel. On a good note, the pool and jacuzzi were very nice and very crowded. If you want to use the spa , they charge an extra $30 which I think should be complimentary to Starwood GOLD/ PLATINUM members. Overall, a good hotel choice for the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmypassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your constructive comments regarding your stay with us.

All your comments have been reported to our management, and all the corrective actions have been made, accordingly.

To enhance the degree of satisfaction for SPG elites to our property, various kinds of giveaway amenities have been designed and operation logistics have been studied.

Thank you again for your bringing these matters to our attention, and we, all our Westin Chosun Seoul, associates will truly welcome you again.

Carol Choi / Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daejeon, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

A recently completed a weekend visit at the Westin Chosun Seoul.

With respect to getting around as a tourist, the Westin has a fantastic location right by City Hall and Metro Lines 1, 2. Also major attractions including Gyeongbokgung Palace, Cheong Wa Dae (Blue House), and Cheonggyecheon are withing walking distance along with Myeong-dong shopping district. Lastly, almost all taxi drivers know the Westin, making travel by taxi seamless.

Considering its downtown location, hotel rooms may be loud into the evening, especially if there's a festival/concert being held in front of City Hall. However, a perk to that is free entertainment that ranged from a traditional drum performance, to Italian opera, and even a fireworks show free from the comfort of my room.

Although the hotel is an older property with average sized rooms, the property is kept in fantastic condition by the attentive staff. For example, even though I forgot my phone charger at home, guest services gladly took care of charging my phone while I went out for the evening. While certainly attentive, the staff may inadvertently give off an impression of being overly efficient instead of friendly.

Regardless, the Westin Seoul is a solid hotel when visiting and is a hotel I look forward to visiting on future trips.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Warm greeting from the Westin Chosun, Seoul

Thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment.

It was our pleasure you stayed with us and all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again.

Carol Choi / Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#33 of 472 in Seoul
3,267 reviews
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#14 of 472 in Seoul
1,534 reviews
THE PLAZA
#21 of 472 in Seoul
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
#1 of 472 in Seoul
216 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Seodaemun
Four Seasons Hotel Seoul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chosun Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chosun Seoul

Property: The Westin Chosun Seoul
Address: 106 Sogong-Ro, Jung-Gu, Seoul 04533, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#5 Family Hotel in Seoul
#7 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#13 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#16 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Chosun Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Seoul's main business and shopping district, the Westin Chosun Seoul is within easy walking distance of major embassies, banks, commercial and government offices, as well as national museums, historic palaces and local markets. 462 Spacious rooms, including 40suites, are exceptionally furnished with every modern amenity. Advanced features include Westin's signature Heavenly Bed, anti-allergy carpet, premium espresso coffee machine, LED TV with Internet, oversized beds, individually controlled air-conditioning, refrigerator, mini bar, in-room electronic safe, full-size writing desk with office task chair, and voice mail. • Institutional Investor - World's Top 100 Hotels (4 consecutive years) • Asiamoney - Best Hotel in Seoul (3 consecutive years) • Travel +Leisure - World's Best 500 Hotels • Conde Nast Travel - Best Hotel in Seoul • Smart Travel Asia - Asia' Top 25 Business Hotels (5 consecutive years) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Westin Chosun Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chosun Seoul Hotel Seoul
Westin Chosun Hotel Seoul
Westin Seoul
Seoul Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing