We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale quality Buffet”
Review of The Shilla Seoul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Shilla Seoul
Ranked #17 of 552 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We make one or two trips to Seoul each year.On every visit we make sure and reserve an evening at the Shilla buffet. They have cheese, fruit, Korean, Jampanese, Chinese, and American food. From excellent large crab legs to escargot, Peking Duck to lasagne, they have it all. In addtiion to seemingly endless food choices, they also have outstanding desserts. The hot chocolate mousse, dark and white chocolate, ice cream, and various cakes and pastries complete the evening. The atmosphere is calm, lighting is perfect and each time we have eaten there the food quality has been outstanding.

Room Tip: Make reservations for dinner several days in advance it you are planning to dine on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Gayle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 1,676 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have stayed at a number of the top hotels in Seoul; Intercontienental Coex, the plaza, the W, and the Banyan Tree - while all the aforementioned are good hotels the Shilla is on a different level.

This is an amazing hotel so far above the competition that it is unbelievable. Yes, it is the most expensive hotel I have ever stayed at but there is no delta from what you pay and what you get. The proportion of guests to staff is the first indication of what this place is all about. I would truly say that the proportion seems equal or favors the staff. Things just run well.

Pay the extra money and use the executive lounge. The best lounge I have experienced. Ever.

I am an Ice guy and I asked for a bucket of ice and I got a bucket of perfect globes of ice. Seriously, globes of ice balls. Holy smokes, that won me over. Also, this is the first public place, and hotel, in Seoul that is not stiflingly hot during fall/winter. You can make your room as cold as you want it,

I have stayed at the best hotels in the world and I am annoyingly picky. I cannot complain about this hotel at all. The Shilla is the best hotel in Seoul with out a doubt.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Oahu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

An amazing building to look at as well as be in. The Chinese restaurant had a wonderful menu and was the best kung pao chicken I've ever eaten. The dinner buffet was also amazing with perfectly cook eye fillets and lamb cutlets, worth the price. The only issue was the proximity to the station. Although close, the entrance to the Shilla is very steep.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Was in Korea for business, and was amazed at the room quality.
They recently renovated the rooms and the pool/sauna area, so everything was shiny new. The bedding was top notch also so I managed to get great sleep.
Their executive lounge "happy hour" provided about 5-6 hot dishes and 4-5 cold dishes, included beef, shrimp and pasta (if you've been to Hyatt RC Guam club floor, it's 2x better then Hyatt). If you have access to their executive lounge, you should definitely try - their lounge is kids free so it's quiet and relaxing.

Also, if you have access to their Sauna, you should try their "experience shower" its amazing.

I was given a pass to Park View Breakfast (added benefit through FHR), which was better than any other hotel in Korea (and seemed to be very popular among the locals too)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank JAMES O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed at hotel Shilla as a business traveller for 7 days.Lovely comfortable Rooms. Very clean and large .The Coffee Shop has some out of this world desserts. I decided to try one on my way back from dinner and it was so delicious i ended up going there every day to try out a diffierent dessert. The girls there were also very nice and helpful and even remembered to inquire about what I bought the day before!! It was also nice to have the duty free shop in the same complex. The hotel is ideal for a business traveller. The only drawback is that it is away from the main shopping area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yasmin173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is my second time at the Shilla, the first since they've renovated the rooms. It's great to be back.

The hotel remains a world-class 5 star hotel, easily in the top 5 hotels I've been to. Service is great (although it always surprises me how staff still struggle with English). The renovated rooms are very nice and a welcome update to the previous ones. The pool-side is wonderful, although the music at night can get loud and can be heard all the way to the top floor.

The main cons of the hotel:

1- location: there isn't anything particularly "touristy" in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. But there is a metro station right next to the hotel which takes you easily to wherever you want. And of course there are plenty of things to see and do in the hotel itself.

2 - price: you're paying for what you get. Prices are quite exorbitant so make sure you budget accordingly (including for breakfast, etc...).


All in all, the Shilla remains my "go-to" place when I'm in Seoul.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Paradectral A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was my first time stay in Shilla hotel after remodeling. It absolutly reach all my expectation. Room was large, clean and neat. Club loung meal was great. Everything was great. Urban Island was warm and clean, even pool crew check quality of water every single hour. In the night, there was band playing Music by the pool. It could be little noisy if you want to stay in the room for resting, but Music plays until 10PM and seems like happens only during Summer.

Anyway, price is little bit expensive but definitely worth it. Also if you have little bit more budget to spend, try to stay executive room. Food and beverages are free..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raeseok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#16 of 552 in Seoul
3,442 reviews
Seodaemun
Four Seasons Hotel Seoul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yeoido
Conrad Seoul
Conrad Seoul
#27 of 552 in Seoul
2,001 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Itaewon
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Grand Hyatt Seoul
#72 of 552 in Seoul
2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shilla Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shilla Seoul

Address: 249, Dongho-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04605, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Namsan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seoul
#4 Family Hotel in Seoul
#8 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: $247 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shilla Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shilla Seoul represents the best hotel in Korea, with contemporary design blending well with traditional patterns and style used back in the Shilla Dynasty. Next to the main building stands the former guesthouse that was once used to welcome special guests from around the world. The main building is replete with restaurants offering outstanding international cuisine, a shopping arcade featuring global brand goods, a pool, and a luxurious spa while in a separate building within the property lies a grand duty-free shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Shilla Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shilla Seoul Hotel Seoul
Shilla Hotel Seoul
The Shilla Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing