We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but plenty of Soul” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belle-Essence Seoul Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belle-Essence Seoul Hotel
Ranked #63 of 449 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Old but plenty of Soul”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Spent three nights , this is a rare example of an older hotel that has been carefully cared for. Room style is a bit dated but they are exceptionally clean. Only minor quibble was that the aircon was a bit warm.

The staff are great, feels like they are a family that really cares about guests. Fantastic.

Location was good for me, was working in GFC. I guess tourist may not be so impressed, but Seoul has an excellent subway to get around.

This hotel is has poise and style, despite the fact that it is nearing the point that refurbishment is essential.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndoOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    311
    86
    23
    9
See reviews for
70
75
51
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

It was 8+ years last time I stayed here, it was old then. After 8 years, it is definitely VERY OLD. From the elevator, to room furniture, bed, bathroom, it is obviously over due for a major make over. For the price it charges, which is in the same range of JW or Ritz nearby, it really does not stand out of the competition.
Location wise, it's in the heart of Gangnam, very convenient if you are here for business; however, in such location it means you will suffer from the heavy traffic 24/7. Luckily, subway station is not very far -- about 5 to 10 mins walk. But be aware, it's all up-hill from hotel to the station.
And like most of high end hotels in Korea, the service is very good. Staffs are kind and willing to help. And it has a very good lounge; not big, but the food/drink served are good.
One thing I'd like to point out is it has one of best in-hotel Korean restaurants I've seen in numerous hotels I've stayed in Seoul. My wife is a native Korean and she loves it; there is a restaurant/bar/Karaoke street right behind the hotel, where you can find tons of different Korea food and drinks, which is very convenient. However, do give the on-site Korean restaurant a try if you are here!
Unless you are eyeing its location for business, I'd not recommend it because of the price and being a very old building itself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
145 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

This place is great for premier members. It has an excellent lounge and several unique services. They will actually press a suit for you in 2 hours for free! The rooms are above average but nothing special.

The service at this place is top notch. People everywhere you turn looking to help. The best part about this place is the top notch fitness center complete with a putting / chipping green. You can walk / jog around it or just observe from the fitness center machines.. Pretty unique and special.

Lastly.. Never take a taxi from incheon into Seoul. There are great limo buses that take you to most hotels for only 15k won, the bus was number 6703. Enjoy Gagnam style!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank workhplayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is easily accessible with bus 6703 from Incheon International Airport since the limousine bus stopped in front of the hotel, making it one of the reasons for biz travelers to select the hotel. The only downside it seems is that the frequency of the bus at a 30 minutes interval which could be unbearable if you are pressing for time. It 's of course not the hotel's fault so no complaint there. It's conveniently located at the Gang Nam area of Seoul and because of that, there are many Korean restaurants around the hotel within walking distance, making dining (and drinking!) an easy feat around the hotel.

Checking in and out of the hotel has to be one of the fastest I had ever experienced with any hotel. The staff was very prompt and did not require much other identification apart from the usual passport and credit card. Upon providing that, room key was almost instantly issued and I must say that I was truly amazed with the service of level over here.

The room was spacious. The only downside, as pointed out by many, is that the hotel required a major facelift almost immediately. The furniture can appear old and slightly outdated. For me, however, this did not damp my enthusiasm with staying in the hotel as I did not mind the rustic feel since it seems to be well-kept and clean. Having said that, a slight modern edge with newer modern furniture might heighten the hotel to a new level.

I had buffet breakfast for one of the mornings and again, impeccable service level by the staff. Despite the large crowd, I was led to an empty table, served coffee and attended to very quickly. Besides, as opposed to what many commented here, I found the selection of breakfast truly varied. Eggs prepared in several ways (including eggs benedicts served in two ways), noodles with multiple soups types, etc. I was genuinely spoilt for choices in a good way. My only regret was not to be able to experience the same breakfast again on the next day since I have to rush to the airport early.

All in all, I really enjoyed my stay with Renaissance Seoul Hotel. Simply charmed by its hospitality, ease and great breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wil23low
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuessnacht am Rigi, Switzerland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

It’s my third visit to the hotel over the last 4 years and nothing has change except from the pricing, where it has become more expensive. On the side road to the hotel is a seven eleven shop use this instead of the minibar. A beer taken in the minibar will cost you up to €10 vs KRW 15,000.
Internet connection work good and the speed are up to date for VPN or TV streaming.
The Hotel has a good standard and the service is good. The furniture is old fashion, but nice room with good space.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
236 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed three nights at the hotel. Hotel is in a business area but cabs and subway are easy to get to. The staff was very good and helpful. The buffet breakfast was very nice. Gym was well appointed and everything worked and best of all it was open 24 hours a day! The Exec Lounge was very nice and had ok food, often too crowded as it was small. Will go back but prefer the JW as it seems newer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have stayed here many times because of the location. Also on Priceline it was a great deal.
Would like to know why they have a five star rating now. There is no way this place can have this rating. The restrooms are small even for a four star rating.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Masheja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Shilla Stay Yeoksam
Shilla Stay Yeoksam
#97 of 449 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Samseongdong / COEX
Imperial Palace Seoul
Imperial Palace Seoul
#23 of 449 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Grammos Hotel
Grammos Hotel
#105 of 449 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
BEST WESTERN Premier Gangnam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle-Essence Seoul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle-Essence Seoul Hotel

Property: Belle-Essence Seoul Hotel
Address: 237, Teheran-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06142, South Korea (Formerly Renaissance Seoul Hotel)
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Seoul
#30 Family Hotel in Seoul
#44 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belle-Essence Seoul Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belle Essence Seoul hotel, formally known as the Renaissance Seoul Hotel, has an established reputation in Seoul operated by a team, many who have been opening staff members, for the past 28 years. It has a prime location in Yeoksam/Gangnam making it the ideal solution for the local and international businessman or traveler. With direct access to the Fortune 500 companies in Yeoksam, conferences at CoEx or the ever popular area of Gangnam. With multiple restaurants and a dynamic banqueting solution, we can cater for MICE events, weddings, corporate and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Belle-Essence Seoul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Seoul
Seoul Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing