We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rarely do you experience this kind of quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Seoul
Ranked #13 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
292 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Rarely do you experience this kind of quality”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I just finished a 5 night stay at this hotel. As a gold member, I had access to the lounge and it was phenomenal. This lounge has more food offerings than I have experienced at any other marriott.. Anywhere. Beyond the selection, is the quality. Whether it's the breakfast (with very generous 6-10 hours) or the evening buffet (which includes an open bar and different food selections every night), you could have your fill... Literally.. In the lounge. Of course, Seoul is a great city to visit and the hotel is also convenient to the express bus subway terminal (you don't even have to go outside to access it) and for about $1 a ride within 10km, it's safe, clean, and efficient transportation for a steal (TIP - get the T-Card at a dispensing machine at the station or at the 7-Eleven. It saves you some money, but most Importantly, it saves time and is super convenient).
Back to the hotel - it's clean, quiet, comfortable, and reliable. There's not much else you can want from a hotel. I'm at the renaissance Beijing now and I'm already missing the JW seoul!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechMarauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    469
    91
    21
    22
See reviews for
292
224
92
666
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

After staying at dour different hotels in Seoul during the past two months (as a part of my relocation package), I can confidently say that Marriott is the choice. We stayed here for three weeks, and everything was perfect. My piece of advice is to upgrade yourself and try to get a room on the club floor. The lounge is actually pretty good. quite extensive menu and the staff are extremely helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sangman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India, Hyd
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This Hotel has more than 35 floors and is a gigantic structure visible from other side of Seoul south river. I have stayed on 31st floor and viewing Seoul river towards north of Seoul city. This hotel also very close to the same place where famous Open Gangnam style song was pictured. I liked the hotel location, and we walked less than 3 miles to reach Samsung center for an Indian restaurant called Ganga. Good reception, lavish buffet breakfast on restaurants. I briefly visited the Gym & Spa on lower lobby levels they were full of people and amazing. I had little choice for Indian or south east Asian food on room service. Overall, I think this is best place for business visitors.

Room Tip: Little choice of Indian or SE food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skkudari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just returned from a business trip to Seoul, South Korea to attend an aerospace symposium. Accommodations provided by the J.W. Marriott. Nice room, very nice view from the 20th floor. Access to the executive lounge made unwinding at the end of the day easy and pleasant. The lounge provided a nice selection of options for breakfast in the morning and snacks including alcohol in the evening. Olivio’s Italian restaurant in the hotel made a favorable impression as well. Centrally located for easy access to popular areas such as Itaewon. The J. W. is definitely at the high end of places I’ve stayed. Only one concern, the beds are uncomfortably firm. Similar comment regarding 2 other hotel stays in Korea. The cure for that? “medicinal” soju.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side of the building have a view of the river and the Seoul Tower. South facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed at the JW Marriott twice in the last week. Both rooms were very comfortable and clean. The staff are very professional and attentive. The concierge lounge is an outstanding value for those who qualify.
In between my two stays I was at the new Park Hyatt in Busan. Although newer and "shinier", it did not provide the same level of value that the Marriott did.
I will definitely stay at the Marriott next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nova_Scotian_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Compare to other JWs in the region, this is probably one of the more expensive one. It is quite an old hotel with wears and tears.
The check in process was pretty quick. I got upgraded with Marriott status. There was not much around to see or to go to. I arrived at 11PM on Sunday night and there was only a local Korean restaurant around the corner that was open.
The hotel is located above a mall and bus/subway station. So it is easy to hop on a train to get to central Seoul.

I stayed in a corner room which was quite a big size. The gym is pretty decent. B'fast opened at 6AM and offers good variety.

For leisure or sightseeing, I would suggest to stay in a hotel that is closer to central. I would go back to this hotel for business.

Room Tip: Get a corner room as the hotel could get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTX_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is not cheap, but it is my favorite business hotel. The rooms and the building are very nice. It is attached to a shopping mall so it is easy to things that you might need.

For my needs, I often judge business hotels by both their exercise facilities and their breakfast. Both are fantastic. The exercise facilities are shared with a health club (I think) and are many times better than I have seen in other hotels that I've stayed out. They will have a dozen of whatever machine that you want. With jet-lag I like to show up at 5AM and although they are not officially open then, I have been able to work out at that time. I like to try out the machines that I normally don't have access to and could literally spend hours here. The breakfast is a marvelous buffet that has a broad variety of great quality food.

It is a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChessHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#12 of 472 in Seoul
1,524 reviews
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#56 of 472 in Seoul
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seodaemun
Four Seasons Hotel Seoul
Yeoido
Conrad Seoul
Conrad Seoul
#21 of 472 in Seoul
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Seoul

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Seoul
Address: 176, Sinbanpo-ro, Seocho-gu, Seoul 06546, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#5 Business Hotel in Seoul
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#10 Family Hotel in Seoul
#27 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set your sights on unparalleled luxury here at the JW Marriott Hotel Seoul. With a perfect location in Central City, an extensive multi-purpose complex, we provide the backdrop for truly memorable visits. Gorgeous rooms and suites are filled with luxury perks - from high-speed Internet access and flat-screen TVs to marble bathrooms and plush bedding. Many showcase terrific views of the Seoul city skyline or the river. Start your morning with a workout in our three-floor gym, or a dip in the indoor pool. Our hotel also offers a luxury spa, so you can pamper yourself during your visit. Delicious on-site dining options include a steakhouse and an Italian restaurant, as well as a Japanese eatery with a sushi bar. Those hosting events in Seoul will be thrilled with our flexible venues, which offer natural light and audiovisual facilities. And thanks to our convenient location, you're just steps away from shopping at Shinsegae Department Store, Famille Street, and much more. Visit us at the JW Marriott Hotel Seoul! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Seoul
Marriott Hotel Seoul
Marriott Seoul
Seoul Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing