We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury hotel, not town centre, but convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Seoul
Ranked #17 of 474 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Luxury hotel, not town centre, but convenient location”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

It's a real five star hotel. I stayed on the 23rd floor, view on main road, but windows are good and so noise is kept at minimum level, I usually cannot sleep with noise traffic, but this was not the case. Windows are big, so you can enjoy a very beautiful view of this vibrant city.
Rooms are big, especially bathroom, with separate big shower. King bed is huge and comfy.
Breakfast buffet has lots of choice from Korean, continental, sweets. They also have Nutella spread, which is something very rare in these hotels (it is the top choice of chocolate spread, especially for me, being Italian).
The desk space is separated from bed, so it looks like a small office, very nice.
In room dining was also good, I usually tend not to use it, because even in top class hotels, food is just tasteless, but I had a very good vegetable dish.
Excellent for business, wifi works very well, though if you are not a silver or gold member it is quite expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PasqualeBaiKui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    455
    90
    21
    22
See reviews for
271
215
88
642
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very good two night stay during business visit - highly recommended. One of the better Marriott group hotels in Asia.
- Convenient location
- Reasonable priced (in the context of Seoul 5 star hotels)
- Direct access to Shinsegae Department Store/Restaurants/Fast Food
- Very large rooms
- Huge fitness centre
- Professional team

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrcharters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I always used JW Seoul for business since year 2000. However, my family came with me this trip and stay over the weekend, they really enjoy all the facilities such as the gym, sauna, the buffet cafe in the second floor. I recommend paying for the upgrade to get access to the executive lounge.

Room Tip: i always enjoy the rooms facing the Han river which has the best view of the Nam San Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masonsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Was in Seoul for a meeting at the COEX and stayed at the JW Marriott (based on the tripadvisor ratings) for 5 nights. The hospitality was so good in every sense. II had to take the taxi to and from COEX (that is something one should consider while booking). But I decided to stay here and happy with that decision. The room had everything one would require. I liked the breakfast at the The café @ JW, they had a choice of Western as well as Korean/Asian dishes. As I was busy with the meeting, I just had enough time to visit Itaewon and the old city (has a local market for buying ginseng and so on). For shopping, I suggest going to the Samsung Department Store near COEX. I got my ginseng tea, ginseng candy, and kimchi at the Department Store connected to the JW Marriott. Infact the lady at the kimchi counter wrapped it in a leak proof plastic wraps. Kimchi ferments, so buy it on the last day. Make sure you apply for Marriott points, your internet will be included. Or else they have complimentary wifi at the lobby and restaurants for 2 hours. The staff at the hotel were very polite and always helped me with my questions, including ideas for local shopping and sight-seeing. Before taking a taxi, make sure to get the address of the hotel written in Korean, this really helps while taking the taxi back to the hotel.

Lastly, Koreans have a fine taste for food, coffee, wine and clothes - and they smile a lot! So while in Korea be Korean!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayadev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Jayadev R,

Thank you for choosing us and taking your time to share your detailed review!

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed Korea as well as your stay with us.
With three directly linked subway lines, we have easy access to anywhere in the town. Hopefully you will be able to explore the city more on your next visit and if there is anything we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to ask.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Thank you.

Richard Saul, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Wonderful experience!

I enjoyed the stay with my wife,convenient location through subway,excellent food,amazing lounge, professional and extremely helpful and kind service,beautiful room.

Besides the pleasure to meet again Mr Saul,the gm, after many years,our Thanks and Best Regards to the front desk managers, especially Mr Kim, professional and kind,all the staff in the lounge,Erika the gm assistant,and all the hotel staff in restaurants, concierge , business center and at your service.

One of the best hotel and Marriott I have ever been,hope to be back very soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlitohk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Carlitohk,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!

It is our great pleasure to learn that you had one of the best Marriott hotel stay with us.
Also would like to thank you for the wonderful praise of our dedicated associates. We will certainly share your comments which encourage us to provide even better service to our valued guest, such as you.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back shortly!

Thank you.

Richard Saul, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I've stayed in JW marriot last year Aug 2012. I will be heading back soon within this month.

Beautiful hotel and very good customer service. Has one of nicest executive lounge in Seoul.

Beside a big shopping mall, Shinsegae Department Store.

Their fitness center is huge such an eye opener.

Their breakfast spread was awesome too. I will be looking forward to staying in this hotel soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supersizeben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello Supersizeben,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us last year and thank you very much for choosing us again!

Don’t forget to try out our newly renovated swimming pool in fitness center and the new underground shopping arcade, Go-To-Mall.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best regards,
Richard Saul, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here six nights as a member of a group of seven. The hotel was very helpful securing jumbo taxis for us (as long as it wasn't the evening rush hour). I didn't even have to unpack my adapters. On the desk there were two multi-prong plugs that were good for charging our phones and iPad. The location on top of Shinsegae was great and provided good afternoon diversion for my daughter and niece. Housekeeping was great and the lady brought us bottles of water every afternoon. The breakfast buffet (included in our room rate) was quite extensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShoresVillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello ShoresVillas,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback.

We are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful experience with us and sincerely hope that everyone of your group was happy as well.

Thank you and we look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Richard Saul, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#8 of 474 in Seoul
1,497 reviews
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#14 of 474 in Seoul
3,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seodaemun
Four Seasons Hotel Seoul
Samseongdong / COEX
Oakwood Premier Coex Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Seoul

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Seoul
Address: 176, Sinbanpo-ro, Seocho-gu, Seoul 06546, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Seoul
#7 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#10 Family Hotel in Seoul
#14 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#27 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set your sights on unparalleled luxury here at the JW Marriott Hotel Seoul. With a perfect location in Central City, an extensive multi-purpose complex, we provide the backdrop for truly memorable visits. Gorgeous rooms and suites are filled with luxury perks - from high-speed Internet access and flat-screen TVs to marble bathrooms and plush bedding. Many showcase terrific views of the Seoul city skyline or the river. Start your morning with a workout in our three-floor gym, or a dip in the indoor pool. Our hotel also offers a luxury spa, so you can pamper yourself during your visit. Delicious on-site dining options include a steakhouse and an Italian restaurant, as well as a Japanese eatery with a sushi bar. Those hosting events in Seoul will be thrilled with our flexible venues, which offer natural light and audiovisual facilities. And thanks to our convenient location, you're just steps away from shopping at Shinsegae Department Store, Famille Street, and much more. Visit us at the JW Marriott Hotel Seoul! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Seoul
Marriott Hotel Seoul
Marriott Seoul
Seoul Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing