We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very solid JW Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Seoul
Ranked #14 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very solid JW Marriott”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

If you've stayed in many JW Marriotts before, you'll know exactly what to expect here. The club lounge is efficient and the food is decent. (Nice views of the mountains around the city.) The rooms are spacious enough and room service is reliable. (Though I did have a strange experience with the heating not working on my first two nights.)
Both the Japanese and steak restaurants are good. The hotel attaches to a large department store and, downstairs, a large shopping mall.
It's not a top-shelf luxury hotel, but it is a very decent place for a business stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmaduketravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hello marmaduketravel,

Thank you for great feedback shared here. We are happy to hear that you’ve enjoyed our JW Executive Lounge, restaurants and room service.

We have noted your comment on heating and apologize for the inconvenience. Our team and I promise to conduct more careful inspection of our guest rooms.
In the future, please do let us know any of your concern or problem during your stay and we will address them as soon as possible.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit!

Richard Saul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    464
    91
    21
    22
See reviews for
288
221
90
657
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Having stayed at numerous JW Marriott properties, this is definitely not one of the best. The property and rooms are tired looking. Staff service were also just average. The Concierge claimed that they could not help me reserve a Jumbo taxi when another business hotel in Seoul could help me arrange that everyday. Probably due to the fact that it has too many guests, the elevators are exceptionally slow. One random weekday morning, I took 10 minutes to get from level 26 to the lobby floor. Also, there didn't seem to be any AC or ventilation along the corridors of each level, so it felt a little stuffy and warm.

The only good thing about this hotel is its location. Located above the Express Bus Terminal subway station, which is an interchange for 3 subway lines, and next to the Express Bus Terminal, this is a bustling place with tonnes of food options and convenient transportation. The shopping at the underground Subway area is the most extensive stretch of affordable bargains in Seoul, which should not be missed. If the purpose of the trip is in the Gangnam business district, or if you wish to be closer to areas like Cheongdamdong, Garosugil, Apgujeong, N seoul Tower, then this is a good location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nemrac_coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear nemrac_coco,

Thank you for taking your time to post this review and we are very glad that our location is a convenience for you.

I am very sorry to learn of the lack of service you encountered with our Concierge. It certainly does not reflect the service we strive to provide to our valuable guest such as you. We have addressed your feedback with our team members to improve our guest experience and we look forward to providing you with the service you expect and deserve.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Richard Saul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent our wedding night at the JW Marriott in Banpo. What a fantastic experience. Lovely architecture, comfortable bed, separate bathtub and shower, beautiful shopping areas, gorgeous spa... The smoked salmon, caper, and cream cheese bagel was to die for. I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amodestmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hello amodestmoose,

Thank you for choosing JW Marriott Hotel Seoul on your special occasion and we very much appreciate your great comments.

Congratulations on your wedding and we are happy to hear we made your wedding night even more special.

We look forward to your return for another great stay with us!

Thank you.

Richard Saul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I've stayed at 6 hotels in Seoul. This is one of my favorites, but not for obvious reasons. The food is massively expensive. The rooms are marginal, not spectacular but generously sized. All the standard services apply. The wine goes beyond unreasonable to stupidly expensive crazy a glass. Yet, if you maneuver your way through the bus station and into the Shinegae department store, you find lovely shopping with an upscale bazaar feel that they regularly refresh with different vendors in the main hall and a food court downstairs to rival Harrods. It's not just excellent. It's not just extensive. It's overwhelming. OK - so back to the hotel. In room amenities are fine. Beds are comfortable, blockout drapes are highly effective. Room service is fast. Work area is well designed for work. I did not find the staff to be friendly, but there are enough people. The exception to that rule is the bellmen - who work hard and are unfailingly pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
301 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very little not to like in this hotel: huge rooms, great buffet on the 30th club floor, absolutely stellar gym and pool, outstanding service and the clincher: free internet for Marriott Rewards members. The price was reasonable for this level of hotel in the middle of Seoul.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojo2018babushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

First time to Korea and we couldn't have picked a better hotel. There were no shortage of help there and their service was 5 stars. Excellent breakfast buffet, clean and beautiful rooms, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and even sometimes in the rooms. Subway located right below the hotel with a full variation of stores and restaurants to keep you amused. The only draw back was the swimming pool and Jacuzzi was under construction during our stay. We would have loved use their facility but we'll have to try it the next time we visit.

Room Tip: Most rooms have bidets, you must try it you'll quickly become a fan of this wonderful invention.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a great Marriott with a few exceptions. The good is beautiful rooms, everything spotless. Outstanding housekeeping that always replace coffee, toiletries and clean glasses. Small things but important if you are working. A fabulous large desk for working. Only exceptions had to do with the Executive Lounge. Staff was wonderful and attentive. One problem was that it was so very packed nearly every evening you could hardly find a seat. If you are traveling on business the Exec Lounge is often the place where you want to discuss business or just relax. Many children running around screaming. Of course there is little the hotel can do to manage either the number of people or their children's conduct....but if you are looking for the usual sanctuary of an Exec Lounge at a Marriott be prepared. Also the food in the evening at the Lounge was not very good. Not much selection. Breakfast was more relaxed and a good selection of food. My issue was for several consecutive days I was waiting for scrambled eggs. I have just about 20 minutes for breakfast and several days was waiting for eggs until I just had to leave. Again, a small thing, but if you are working you have a scheduled regimen to follow.....business travel is not a vacation. Would certainly return and would recommend. Seoul is BEAUTIFUL in the springtime.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WheelzUpGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#10 of 472 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#64 of 472 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seodaemun
Four Seasons Hotel Seoul
Samseongdong / COEX
Oakwood Premier Coex Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Seoul

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Seoul
Address: 176, Sinbanpo-ro, Seocho-gu, Seoul 06546, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Seoul
#6 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#10 Family Hotel in Seoul
#11 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#27 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set your sights on unparalleled luxury here at the JW Marriott Hotel Seoul. With a perfect location in Central City, an extensive multi-purpose complex, we provide the backdrop for truly memorable visits. Gorgeous rooms and suites are filled with luxury perks - from high-speed Internet access and flat-screen TVs to marble bathrooms and plush bedding. Many showcase terrific views of the Seoul city skyline or the river. Start your morning with a workout in our three-floor gym, or a dip in the indoor pool. Our hotel also offers a luxury spa, so you can pamper yourself during your visit. Delicious on-site dining options include a steakhouse and an Italian restaurant, as well as a Japanese eatery with a sushi bar. Those hosting events in Seoul will be thrilled with our flexible venues, which offer natural light and audiovisual facilities. And thanks to our convenient location, you're just steps away from shopping at Shinsegae Department Store, Famille Street, and much more. Visit us at the JW Marriott Hotel Seoul! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Seoul
Marriott Hotel Seoul
Marriott Seoul
Seoul Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing