We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Seoul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Seoul
Ranked #14 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I got a great deal on Priceline!! At a third of the asking price!! The hotel is in a really busy location.Next to the main bus terminal. Right below the hotel is the subway lines # 3,7,and 9. If you can handle the crowd this is the fastest way to get around town. I bought a prepaid card for $3.00 and you can purchase in any amount you want at the machine. The taxis are cheap but the traffic is just like L.A. during rush hour. The hotel is connected to a department store. The 10 floor has resonable priced restaurants with great service. I tried the 59 Steakhouse, great food!!! At the bus terminal basement they have McDonalds and Coffee Bean with other chain stores.Do buy water, soda and snacks at the 7 11. They charge $ 3.00 + at the mini bar in the room. The service was impecable. Free shoe shine from your room guarnteed in 1 hour.House keeping on off hours was accomedating.Ice to the room in 5 mins.
The rooms are good size and very clean. The king bed with 6 pillows and perfect mattress was a god send!!
The restroom had double doors but a big gap in the middle. There was no hand held showerhead and the water pressure was so weak that my showers felt like a marathon.
This hotel was great for my business trip but not a spot for the family.
At the price from Priceline I will stay here again again in the future for my business trips.
I was in Korea past November. Will be travling there at leat 5 times a year. If the same deal comes up this is the best for your money!!!!

Room Tip: If you are a smoker like me, get the rooms on the 8th floor. It's bit larger than the 29th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masheja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    448
    89
    21
    20
See reviews for
265
213
84
628
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I often stayed in JW Marriotts around the world and have very good impression about the brand. Neverthless one in Seoul disappointed me. The staff is not properly trained. They seemed to exisit for their own pride. Security guards are there to protect their property not the guests of the hotel. The room service is not what you would expect from five star hotels. With a little bit more money I would stay in Shilla or Hyatt i Seoul. The traffic is horrible and expect delays in-and-outs. I cherish my memories in staying in most of JW Marriott brands but not this one. However, the room was spacipus. No bidet though.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidohm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Lived this hotel. Great fitness gym and my room was very comfortable.
Overpriced, though.
Everyone seemed to speak English.

I was told that the breakfast buffet is open from 6am upon check- in, so I went there at 6:15. It was open to sit at the table for coffee, but had to wait until 6:30 to eat. They did not tell me this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LightningLite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Not the best location for walking around, but taxis are inexpensive. Gym is awesome, staff is helpful and pretty good location. We stayed here because we are marriott reward members. i got a scrub at the sauna for 33$. It was good and so was the sauna. restaurants in the hotel are decent but overpriced. you can walk next door to the shopping mall for korean ,sushi or chinese food. the shopping mall is luxury brands that are super expensive! i would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly shea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

From the time I arrived at the JW Seoul, my experience was nothing short of excellent. I was greeted in perfect English by each staff member on my way to the check-in counter. Once up to my room, my high expectations for a JW property were met and perhaps even exceeded. The room was clean and had a great cove area where I could set up my computer and work. Internet was extremely quick and reliable (as it usually is in Seoul). Bed was very comfortable, and TV had plenty of Korean and international stations.

Location: I chose this hotel based on my business activities, and it turned out to be a convenient gateway to anywhere you wish to go. As you walk out of the hotel and into the Shinsegae Department Store, head down a couple floors to B1 and you have access to the bus terminals and can travel throughout the city. While I did not use the bus to sight see on this trip, I did take advantage of the shopping centers when I had down time. There are plenty of great coffee shops at the 1st level, and the station had plenty of low-cost shopping (especially clothing). You are also connected to the Go To Mall which seems to have never-ending rows of shopping.

Food: While I spent most of my meals outside the hotel, the breakfast buffet is excellent and meets JW's high expectations. If you want to save a few bucks and are not hungry enough for a full buffet, you can head to level 1 and grab a quick coffee and pastry or sandwich.

Departure: When leaving, there is a great option to take a bus back to the Incheon Int'l Airport. For just W 15,000 (around 15 bucks), you can ride a comfortable bus (#6020) about 45 minutes back to the airport. To get there, simply proceed to level one, exit to the street level and cross the street. There are plenty of signs at the station to guide you. The JW concierge can also help.

Overall, this hotel helped to make my visit to Seoul a great experience. Thank you to all the helpful staff, and I will be back soon on my next business trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidM_1984_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed for business 4 nights. Before you can even get to the front desk or concierge, someone walks up to see how they can help you. Eating or drinking at the hotel (ie $200 sashimi platter, $23 US martini)is uber expensive, but top notch. Buffet is worth the $ and lots of high end seafood. There are great casual eateries connected to the hotel through a short indoor walk. Train or upscale bus (about $15 US) go directly from Incheon or Gimpo airport to the "Express Bus Terminal" right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
114 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are big and comfortable. The bathrooms are also very comfortable. The hotel is next to a luxury department store. It has also a good location. The restaurants are excellent. The concierges are kindly and they are so helpful. They help me with one tour that I requested at the last moment and with my luggages. The front desk people are nice, they also explain you anything from the city and from the hotel. The lounge is located on the 30th floor so you also can have great city view. The breakfast time at the lounge is small but it is ok and if you are in a hurry it is the best way to get your breakfast. The only thing I didn't like, it is that it is far from the airport, I arrived at the rush hour and it took me more than one hour to get there.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ACJI97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#8 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#13 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Samseongdong / COEX
Oakwood Premier Coex Center
Seodaemun
Four Seasons Hotel Seoul
Yeoido
Conrad Seoul
Conrad Seoul
#16 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Seoul

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Seoul
Address: 176, Sinbanpo-ro, Seocho-gu, Seoul 06546, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Seoul
#7 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#10 Family Hotel in Seoul
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#27 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set your sights on unparalleled luxury here at the JW Marriott Hotel Seoul. With a perfect location in Central City, an extensive multi-purpose complex, we provide the backdrop for truly memorable visits. Gorgeous rooms and suites are filled with luxury perks - from high-speed Internet access and flat-screen TVs to marble bathrooms and plush bedding. Many showcase terrific views of the Seoul city skyline or the river. Start your morning with a workout in our three-floor gym, or a dip in the indoor pool. Our hotel also offers a luxury spa, so you can pamper yourself during your visit. Delicious on-site dining options include a steakhouse and an Italian restaurant, as well as a Japanese eatery with a sushi bar. Those hosting events in Seoul will be thrilled with our flexible venues, which offer natural light and audiovisual facilities. And thanks to our convenient location, you're just steps away from shopping at Shinsegae Department Store, Famille Street, and much more. Visit us at the JW Marriott Hotel Seoul! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Seoul
Marriott Hotel Seoul
Marriott Seoul
Seoul Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing