We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected Better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Ambassador Seoul associated with Pullman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Ambassador Seoul associated with Pullman
Ranked #61 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Expected Better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I accept that you do not get much hotel for your money in Seoul, but for the
price paid, I expected a little more.

I booked this hotel through Accor and as a Le Club Platinum member, I hoped for
an upgrade on request, but water, some fruit and a free drink voucher was what I
received. I try to stay loyal to Accor, but please, try and have some
consistency for your Le Club members.

My room was OK, but a little dated and small, however it was clean and the bed
was comfortable, however, the TV channels were desperate, with very few English
speaking options available.

Others have made comments regarding the quirky toilet, but to be honest, rather
than having a singing and whistling toilet bowl, I would suggest more attention
to detail on other issues should be prioritised.

I also have to state that without doubt, the executive lounge is one of the
worst I have encountered.

The food was woeful and why don't they place more than one bottle of wine in the
serving area? If the bottle runs dry, you have to wait until it is replaced.

Other niggles such as no available wine glasses and forks are relatively minor
issues, but someone should really be checking these.

On arrival, I was informed that the lounge 'happy hour' was 6-8:30 pm, but
everything was swiftly cleared up on some nights by 7.30. without warning - probably
the only efficiency I had seen during my stay!

One afternoon I went into the lounge for a coffee and was disappointed to see dirty
crockery, glasses and cutlery still on the tables despite the reception area
being manned - I could understand it if the room was busy, but I was the only
one in there.

In summary, The 'Grand Ambassador' title is somewhat contradictory and is
certainly not what I expected from the Pullman brand.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davyp777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    606
    151
    41
    30
See reviews for
330
314
125
367
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

A very comfortable, clean and Convenient hotel! We took airport limousine to the main entrance of the hotel. The room is spacious so three of us can have one single bed. The hotel offered shuttle buses to the famous shopping areas and Seoul N Tower. There is no need to take subway. There are many small restaurants nearby, just walk 5-8'. Also there are two convenience stores close to the hotel, 7-eleven and family mart. The subway station is close, just walk 5-8'. We will stay at it once again if we visit Seoul next time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahlimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

price is very reasonabl.
and room cndition is great.
welcome gift is satisfied.
(fruits and cake)
if i go to hotel in seoul, i will go this hotel again.
price is very reasonabl.
and room cndition is great.
welcome gift is satisfied.
(fruits and cake)
if i go to hotel in seoul, i will go this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YuraKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lobbymgr, Manager at Grand Ambassador Seoul associated with Pullman, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Ambassador. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Han Kim
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a night since my preference hotel (Ibis Myeong-dong) was full. The experience I had with this hotel was excellent. There is no other word to describe it.

I arrived on an early flight from Bangkok and got to the hotel at around 8:30 AM. Upon checking in, the front office desk told me that the earliest available room would be at 11 AM since my preference was for a King-sized bed and non-smoking room. I asked him whether the hotel has any room available at this time since I was exhausted from the flight and needed a shower. Fortunately, he told me that he has a Double-bed room on a smoking floor and asked me whether I want to check the room first. I went up to the room and found that there was no smell of cigarette smoke and decided to take that room. What I find is that the hotel is very understanding and accommodating in letting you check-in early if they have available rooms. From my experience, most hotels would not let you check-in before 1 pm even if they have available rooms.

Of all the comments I read about its isolated location, I must say that the hotel gives you back all the conveniences. Although it is not a 5-star hotel, it provides a complimentary shuttle services to Myeong-dong and Dongdaemun Market similiar to the services provided by most 5-star hotels. The shuttle runs every hour to Myeong-dong and Insadong before returning to the hotel. The shuttle to Dongdaemun Market runs from 5 PM onwards. The subway (Dongguk Station) is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

The hotel is just a 5-10 minute drive to Myeong-dong. It would take you about 20-25 minutes if you were to walk. Getting to Dongdaemun Market is about a 10-minute drive or a 25 minute walk. The hotel is located between Myeong-dong and Dongdaemun Market.

The room is not so large. The hotel has a large swimming pool and a nice fitness centre. Aside from this, the hotel also has a spa, which I tried. The facial massage was very good and not too pricey at around KRW 120,000 for 90 minutes. The hotel also has an indoor electronic golf driving range where you can use to spend your free time.

The highlight of the hotel is that the concierge service was superb. The lady concierge by the name of Mona Lee, who can speak at least 3 languages (English, Korean, and Japanese) was very patient and helpful. She was very polite and gave me all the necessary details/information that I need. She would patiently recommend tour guides and tell me the pros and cons of each, and at times would recommend me to go the easiest and cheapest routes, unlike concierge at other hotels who would only want to sell expensive packages. I must give my praised to this lady as she was so helpful with every queries I had. She was also the one helping me plan my routes and recommending me how to save on taxi by taking the free shuttles, etc. She would be one of the reason why I would stay at this hotel again.

This was my fourth visit to Seoul, but my first stay at this hotel. I must say that I would definitely make this hotel as my first choice when I visit Seoul next time. Last, but not least, this is definitely a value for money hotel. You don't need to pay for 5-star hotels when you can get 5-star services at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journey_Delight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Grand Ambassador Seoul is a great hotel to stay. There are a number of advantages staying at this hotel. It is within walking distance (about 5mins) from the Metro. There are hourly complimentary shuttle bus to shopping area in Seoul (i.e. Insadong, Myeong-Dung and etc). In addition to this, there is also shuttle bus to Namshan Tower (aka N Tower), can't remember the schedule though. KAL bus to Incheon airport are also available (check out their timing), you can pay at the reception or if they ran out of tickets, you could pay directly to the bus driver. Very nice and comfortable bus.

The only thing staying at this hotel is the receptionist is not very friendly (i.e. they way they interact), there is no complimentary toothbrush set and shaving kit and they are chargeable. This is usually free on other Pullman property. There is also a pungent smell from the WC. Hopefully the hotel will look into it. Facilities are chargeable (i.e. spa as they are managed by third party probably).

I would really recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhtkiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Itaewon
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Grand Hyatt Seoul
#62 of 468 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
KY-Heritage Hotel Dongdaemun
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam
Lotte City Hotel Mapo
#41 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Ambassador Seoul associated with Pullman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Ambassador Seoul associated with Pullman

Property: Grand Ambassador Seoul associated with Pullman
Address: 287, Dongho-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04618, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Seoul
#25 Family Hotel in Seoul
#31 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#39 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Ambassador Seoul associated with Pullman 5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Ambassador Seoul associated with Pullman is centrally located in Seoul and has easy access to major shopping, entertainment, and business areas such as City Hall, Gwanghwamun, Dongdaemun, Myeongdong and Namsan. We boast 413 rooms offering free WiFi, 6 restaurants, 12 meetings and conference rooms, and a large fitness center which includes a swimming pool and spa. Aesthetically appealing with a modern and attractive decor, the hotel is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and ACCOR so you can book your Grand Ambassador Seoul associated with Pullman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ambassador Seoul Hotel Seoul
Grand Ambassador Hotel Seoul
Sofitel Seoul
Seoul Grand Ambassador Hotel
Seoul Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing