We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Fitness Center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam
Ranked #35 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Location and Fitness Center”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Visited with a friend, each getting single rooms. Arrived on a Friday evening from Shanghai looking forward to 3 days of relaxation and good eats. Check in friendly and smooth with great English.

I had a Northern view which was decent. I think you should request higher floors. Though only on the 5th floor the hotel rests somewhat on a hill so I could see a distance. Our rooms a bit dated, but the bed was perfectly comfortable. Bathrooms very small and with a tub shower, which at 192cm is not ideal for me. Japanese-ish toilets, but not Toto quality.

On our second day here I visited the fitness center. This is an incredible facility that clearly has lots of locals and expats as members. Rarely do I see hotel gyms with this much cardio and resistance training equipment. Essentially everything you could want and plenty of space. Great indoor lane pool with a few lanes and a kiddie area. Sauna, steam room, massages and grooming services also available. An older Korean fellow is ready to give you a haircut and shave pretty much most of the day. As a bonus, there's an indoor driving range and putting green. Instructors seem to be available, but you'd need to verify this.

The real gem of this place is that it's in a great location, but doesn't come at the hefty price that the Ritz Carlton next door has. You are across the street from a massive eating and drinking neighborhood that can satisfy many cravings, or a few doors down and to the left another food and bar street exists where the best fried chicken I've ever had in my life was served to me.

Concierge was very good at securing addresses in Korean for us, as I hadn't been able to find a good resource to do this. I can read Korean, but don't speak much so these guys were a great help. When we asked for specific kinds of food, they steered us in the right direction every time.

We did not dine in the hotel, so I can't comment on that. There are a few mini bar offerings, though they charge about $5USD for a toothbrush rather than giving you a free one as I'm used to in Asia. Not a big deal, but I asked them to wave it.

We paid around $165 per night for each single room and it was good value. The location, fitness center, cleanliness, and quiet rooms make this a good choice when visiting Seoul and Gangnam in particular.

PS. Friday and Saturday you'll find Tracks nightclub open. It's right between Ritz Carlton and Novotel, and was formerly known as Eden. Expensive, but fun mingling for singles and dancing for couples.

Room Tip: As usual ask for a high floor, facing north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zach F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, Resident Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear DrZForbes ,

Thanks for taking the time and effort to share your positive comments with future Travellers to Seoul.
Glad that you enjoyed our credit, fitness center and our local neighborhood including Restaurants, shopping and great night life.
As Disposable items the government has suggested we discontinue offering to every guest to assist in Seoul "Sustainable" approach.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Charles LEE
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    629
    137
    30
    15
See reviews for
247
164
103
667
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very comfortable and conveniently located. Good amenities and facilities. I was pleasantly surprised at the hotel and was very pleased by the staff-Friendly and courteous. Good gym but needs an upgrade on free weights. Otherwise pretty good. I would recommend to others and will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, Resident Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Fred H ,

Thank you for your positive comment especially on our service. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Charles LEE
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was my third stay at the Novotel Ambassador and it is always nice to be here.
The location of the hotel in Gangnam is perfect. Easy access to the Metro stations and to a lot of shops, bars and restaurants.
Perfect service, nice welcome and very kind staff at the reception. Perfect breakfast offer even for european guests. I can fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, Resident Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Matthias S ,

Thank you for your positive comment especially on our service. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Charles LEE
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Very centrally located hotel 250m distance to famous Gangnam street. Comfortable with many different facility services . Most of all very helpful and friendly staff especially Mr. Andrew and Taylor from bellroom were so positive and helpful. Overall was very satisfactory stay in this hotel and next time I will pick this again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TMERIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, Resident Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear TMERIC,

Glad that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your positive comment especially on our service. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Charles LEE
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our recent stay at the Gangnam Novotel was outstanding due to them having a great bell staff. These guys made us feel comfortable in a big foreign city. Andrew and Tyler were so kind and helpful from helping us use the ATM machine, helping me find my cell phone, to writing down specific places in Korean for our taxi drivers to smiling and welcoming back every time we returned to the hotel.

This was a special trip traveling with a friend to adopt a baby girl and me going back to my birthplace and orphanage for the first time after leaving Seoul 49 years ago at the age of 10 months old. So to be treated so kindly during such an emotional trip really meant a lot to us.

The only opportunities were that the rooms were a little dated on the 5th floor; however they were clean and large. And the restaurants were very expensive with the pricing did not match the quality of the food.

Thanks Andrew and Tyler for such a nice Gangnam Style Stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jconway01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, Resident Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear jconway01,

Glad that you enjoyed your stay for this special and emotional trip to Korea. Also appreciate for your kind comment of our bell staff which I will share with my team. We newly completed our Executive floor and plan for others in near future. Will look into the food. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon again!

Charles LEE
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotels I've visited on all my trips around the world. The hotel is conveniently located in front of a "7 Eleven", and next to the very famous "Gangnam" street.

The staff of the hotel are extremely nice and always looking to assist you. And if you need any tourist info and/or tips then i would highly recommend asking for "Mr.Andrew", he is like a "Guru" for tourist areas, where he will be able to provide info and also guide you if it is worth seeing or not.

Overall, it was a splendid experience.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bassim79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, Resident Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Bassim79 ,

Thank you for your feedback. I will thank him on your behalf and on behalf of the hotel.


Charles LEE
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights on a business trip and thought although i only used the hotel for somewhere to sleep. The whole experience was good and I have no complaints about any aspect of it. The meals were good and the room was clean and quiet. I would use the Novatel again if visiting Seoul for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, Resident Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Geoffrey M ,

Glad that you enjoyed your stay! Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Charles LEE
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#36 of 472 in Seoul
267 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Best Western Premier Gangnam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Samseongdong / COEX
Imperial Palace Seoul
Imperial Palace Seoul
#26 of 472 in Seoul
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam

Property: Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam
Address: 130, Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06124, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Seoul
#21 Business Hotel in Seoul
#23 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#25 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the fashionable shopping and restaurant district of Gangnam, near COEX, and close to transportation hubs. The hotel offers 332 rooms including new renovated Superior & Premier Executive Floor rooms in high quality of design standards and complimentary WIFI access, a mix of modern and classic dining and entertaining choices together with a state of the art "Inbalance" fitness centre, which has a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and golf range to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul Hotel Seoul
Novotel Seoul
Accor Ambassador Gangnam Seoul
Seoul Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing