We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam
Ranked #27 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed here while on a business trip visiting a company in Gangnam. It was a short walk to the office each morning, so the location is excellent.
I was not very impressed with the check in experience, I have an Accor Platinum card but I was not offered any welcome benefits or upgrade. I had booked a Superior room, but when I got to my room it was clearly marked as a Standard room. (The elevator clearly lists floors as Standard, Superior or Executive). When I returned to reception to complain they told me that Standard and Superior rooms are the same, the difference is simply the benefits such as Wifi and Breakfast. If that is the case why label the floors in that way?
My stay did improve after the initial poor experience though, the Japanese restaurant in the basement was very nice and there is a huge breakfast selection in the morning. I also enjoyed a nice burger in the bistro one night. There are also loads of eating options nearby in Gangnam.
The fitness area was quite impressive, although the actual gym area could be bigger.
Airport transfer is very easy with the Korean Air Limousine, tickets available from reception.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritBronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear BritBronco ,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall but apologies that your benefits were not afforded you on this stay. The main difference between standard and superior is the level… as superior rooms are on higher floor providing an enhanced visitor. We hope to see you back.

Mike Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank stupiddisplay
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The location is nicely convenient. It is close to Gangnam shopping center, restaurants and bar streets. Check-in is easy. The concierge staffs are quick in helping. The room is clean, the toilet and bath is clean, the basic needs in the bathroom is provided without further payment.

Wired internet connection and wifi are not free. No breakfast included,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear anneleigh03,

Thank you for your balanced cretique. As at 01 Jan Wifi will be complimentary in all areas of the hotel and we do after rates that include breakfast.

Mike Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

At a cost of about £150 a night you do expect a fairly good standard of service. The hotel is well located in Gangnam, and is on the KAL bus route to the airport. This makes it a sensible choice. But the price is extortionate for what you get as an overall package. There are no extras at all in the room, not even a toothbrush!
You do get a reasonable breakfast. That is the only good thing I can say of this overpriced and underwhelming hotel. Try to avoid it if possible.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Nemo149 ,

I would appreciate any further details as we are normally credited with great service, location and facilities. My email is mbrown@ambatel.com.

Mike Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our company often have business visitor from oversea thus, we need to hire room often and they often stayed in this hotel. This time, we had 8 guest and hired 5 rooms, thus, we had to take van. However, this hotel charged for parking for 1 car of our company.

They recently changed policy and charging guests for parking.

Thus, if you have friends or biz partner to help you visiting seoul, don't stay here. With expensive parking fee, you can stay at better hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sungjoon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Sungjoon C,

Whilst I empathise with your confussion that we are now changing for carparking, it was a necessary action to limit long stay parking. As a regular booker of our hotel I would be happy to discuss parking arrangement with you. Mike Brown.. mbrown@ambatel.com

Mike Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is decent enough. However, the room I was given smelled very strongly of some sort of cologne/perfume and smoke. The towels and bathroom reek of smoke. I asked to change rooms but there are no rooms left because they are entirely booked so told I would be given a room change tomorrow. That's great, but in the meantime I'm stuck for the night coughing and hope my stuff doesn't smell when I leave. Beware if you have asthma like I do.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear A M ,

My apologies, it is so important that this or any request is communicated to our team at reservation stage. In a busy hotel we can't always assure guest of getting the room they want on check in.

Mike Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

A good predictable brand, like McDonalds or Ikea, no matter where you are in the world, you know what you are going to get. Rooms are clean and the staff is Korean efficient and helpful. Location is great, and compared to the other major hotels in the Hannam (south of the river) area, it's just a little bit cheaper ($250/night, or so). Location is great. At night, walk along the side streets (Teheran-ro Gil 1 and 2) running parallel to Gangnam Dae Ro for lots of food choices and great people watching. If you are looking for something light to eat (something other than meat BBQ), explore the side streets and look for dumpling and soup restaurants. Can't really go wrong with any restaurant that displays the "recommended" sign on the front door (white and blue sign with a white flower). The area is extremely safe, so try exploring behind the hotel for some surprisingly hip (and quiet) little boutiques and cafes serving interesting "fusion" dishes. Don't be shy to stop a young person and ask questions, most people will welcome the chance to practice english.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room on the left side of the hotel. Right side of the hotel is exposed to the entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat55nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Nat55nat ,

Not my preferred analogy but I do appreciate the sentiment and above all you enjoyed the experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Mike Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe
Samseongdong / COEX
Imperial Palace Seoul
Imperial Palace Seoul
#28 of 504 in Seoul
881 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#37 of 504 in Seoul
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Best Western Premier Gangnam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam

Address: 130, Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06124, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Seoul
#18 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#21 Business Hotel in Seoul
#23 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: $147 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the fashionable shopping and restaurant district of Gangnam, near COEX, and close to transportation hubs. The hotel offers 332 rooms including new renovated Superior & Premier Executive Floor rooms in high quality of design standards and complimentary WIFI access, a mix of modern and classic dining and entertaining choices together with a state of the art "Inbalance" fitness centre, which has a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and golf range to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Splitty, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul Hotel Seoul
Novotel Seoul
Accor Ambassador Gangnam Seoul
Seoul Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing