We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Novotel Ambassador Gangnam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam
Ranked #29 of 451 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Bochum, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Novotel Ambassador Gangnam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The location is nicely convenient. It is close to Gangnam shopping center, restaurants and bar streets. Check-in is easy. The concierge staffs are quick in helping. The room is clean, the toilet and bath is clean, the basic needs in the bathroom is provided without further payment.

Wired internet connection and wifi are not free. No breakfast included,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear anneleigh03,

Thank you for your balanced cretique. As at 01 Jan Wifi will be complimentary in all areas of the hotel and we do after rates that include breakfast.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    562
    129
    27
    15
See reviews for
209
145
91
568
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

At a cost of about £150 a night you do expect a fairly good standard of service. The hotel is well located in Gangnam, and is on the KAL bus route to the airport. This makes it a sensible choice. But the price is extortionate for what you get as an overall package. There are no extras at all in the room, not even a toothbrush!
You do get a reasonable breakfast. That is the only good thing I can say of this overpriced and underwhelming hotel. Try to avoid it if possible.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nemo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Nemo149 ,

I would appreciate any further details as we are normally credited with great service, location and facilities. My email is mbrown@ambatel.com.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our company often have business visitor from oversea thus, we need to hire room often and they often stayed in this hotel. This time, we had 8 guest and hired 5 rooms, thus, we had to take van. However, this hotel charged for parking for 1 car of our company.

They recently changed policy and charging guests for parking.

Thus, if you have friends or biz partner to help you visiting seoul, don't stay here. With expensive parking fee, you can stay at better hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sungjoon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Sungjoon C,

Whilst I empathise with your confussion that we are now changing for carparking, it was a necessary action to limit long stay parking. As a regular booker of our hotel I would be happy to discuss parking arrangement with you. Mike Brown.. mbrown@ambatel.com

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is decent enough. However, the room I was given smelled very strongly of some sort of cologne/perfume and smoke. The towels and bathroom reek of smoke. I asked to change rooms but there are no rooms left because they are entirely booked so told I would be given a room change tomorrow. That's great, but in the meantime I'm stuck for the night coughing and hope my stuff doesn't smell when I leave. Beware if you have asthma like I do.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear A M ,

My apologies, it is so important that this or any request is communicated to our team at reservation stage. In a busy hotel we can't always assure guest of getting the room they want on check in.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A good predictable brand, like McDonalds or Ikea, no matter where you are in the world, you know what you are going to get. Rooms are clean and the staff is Korean efficient and helpful. Location is great, and compared to the other major hotels in the Hannam (south of the river) area, it's just a little bit cheaper ($250/night, or so). Location is great. At night, walk along the side streets (Teheran-ro Gil 1 and 2) running parallel to Gangnam Dae Ro for lots of food choices and great people watching. If you are looking for something light to eat (something other than meat BBQ), explore the side streets and look for dumpling and soup restaurants. Can't really go wrong with any restaurant that displays the "recommended" sign on the front door (white and blue sign with a white flower). The area is extremely safe, so try exploring behind the hotel for some surprisingly hip (and quiet) little boutiques and cafes serving interesting "fusion" dishes. Don't be shy to stop a young person and ask questions, most people will welcome the chance to practice english.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room on the left side of the hotel. Right side of the hotel is exposed to the entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat55nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Nat55nat ,

Not my preferred analogy but I do appreciate the sentiment and above all you enjoyed the experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simmern, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I enjoyed a very pleasant stay at Novotel Ambassador while I was in Seoul. I have stayed here before long time ago, but since prices had gone-up I had gone for more economical options. However, being letdown twice in other hotels in Seoul recently, I gave Novotel Ambassador another try.

The hotel is located with the Gangnam CBD. Very good access by KAL limousine bus from the airport (stop directly infront of the hotel).

Rooms, lobby and common areas are clean and tidy. Breakfast Buffet at The Suqare was great (although not that cheap). Also tried the "Bistro" on the lobby level, which served great food.

Service was attentative, polite and prompt at all time.

Very happy with my stay and definately will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent_Traveler_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Frequent_Traveler_DE ,

Great to hear we get you back staying with us again.. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe
Samseongdong / COEX
Imperial Palace Seoul
Imperial Palace Seoul
#19 of 451 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#38 of 451 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
BEST WESTERN Premier Gangnam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam

Property: Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam
Address: 130, Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06124, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Seoul
#22 Business Hotel in Seoul
#23 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#25 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the fashionable shopping and restaurant district of Gangnam, near COEX, and close to transportation hubs. The hotel offers 332 rooms including new renovated Superior & Premier Executive Floor rooms in high quality of design standards and complimentary WIFI access, a mix of modern and classic dining and entertaining choices together with a state of the art "Inbalance" fitness centre, which has a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and golf range to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul Hotel Seoul
Novotel Seoul
Accor Ambassador Gangnam Seoul
Seoul Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing