We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam
Ranked #29 of 505 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed at the Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul in June, on a business trip.
The hotel is located close to many restaurants and shops.

Lowlights:

- at check-in I asked for a quiet room, and instead, I was accomodated in a room overlooking the noisy main street and close to the elevators. The windows provide poor insulation from the outside traffic noise.

- the room had the mediocre design common to several hotels of this hotel chain in Europe, where they are typically rated as  3-4 star hotels rather than the claimed 5 stars of this property in Seoul. I think that the 5 star ambition of this hotel is limited to the high-ceiling lobby.

- the bathroom had no separate shower. the shower head hangs over the yellowish bath tub, which is enclosed by a plastic curtain (= 3-star hotel 15 years ago)

- the breakfast room is cramped with tables and the waiters pack the guests close to each other. I had breakfast seated too close to other people and their talks.

- the breakfast food is oriented to quantity rather than quality.

- at breakfast, the waiters rushed to take away my plate even if I had not finished to eat. It looks like they want to hurry you out for accomodating more guests.

- my room key at some point didn't work and I had to replace it at the front desk. I was explained that it was my fault because I put the key close to my mobile phone, which causes the key to demagnetize.

- the elevators are slow.

- there was a Nespresso machine in the room, but no coffee capsules. I did not ask why, because I tried to limit as much as possible the interaction with the hotel staff, to avoid further frustration.

Highlights
the bus to Incheon airport stops in front of the hotel (15,000won, about 1hour drive). I was pleased to take it upon check out for leaving  the hotel after a mediocre stay.

I do not recommend the Novotel Ambassador Gangnam for any type of stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alberto L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Alberto L,

Thank you for your extensive overview of the service and facilities you encountered on your recent visit. We do not self rate the hotel but apply the government rating of 5 star although, as you correctly ascertain, Novotel is usually associated with being in the four star category.

Whilst we endeavor to fulfill our guests requests on arrival, especially in regards to room type and location, sometimes it is just not possible due to high occupancy and fulfilling the requests of guests who articulated their preferences at reservations stage.

We have plans to initiate a refurbishment as of Jan 2014 and will have the Mock Up rooms ready for guest trials and reviews by the end of Jul. this year. It would be my pleasure to have arrange a stay in our Mock Up room and hear your thoughts to help us provide the best and guest friendliest room possible.

The shear numbers that we cater for for breakfast, do, at times, challenge the resources of the Restaurant which is why we provide alternatives such as the lobby lounge, room service and upgrades to the Executive Lounge.

I apologise that you left the hotel dissatisfied and chose not to recommend our hotel, like so many other guests in the past have done, but appreciate your time and trouble to alert me of areas you believe require attention.

Mike Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

I had an extremely comfortable 6 nights at the hotel. the room was spacious and clean. The toilet seat had automated washer, drier and heating ( as I believe is the norm there). The indoor pool was at a very comfortable temperature and large enough for you to get decent exercise. The spa and hot tubs were very relaxing. The buffet breakfast had a vast spread, and you were spoilt for choices. you left the hote overstuffed. The concierge was extremely helpful in helpingus plan our visit to the central seoull sightseeing area, giving us print outs of the sightseeing bus, subway route guidance ( also written in korean), where we had to go. and marking the route on the metro map. The location was next to a main foodie street, where one could eat local korean food.
overall a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajitman121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear ajitman121,

So glad you enjoy your experience and our team was able to enjance your stay. We generally like our guests to get the most out of Seoul.

Mike Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Short 3 night stay early June. Convenient KAL bus trip to and from Incheon Airport. Beautiful room with two double beds - fridge with mini-bar. Bathroom spacious and well stocked with toiletries. Friendly and helpful staff at front desk - helped with dinner and shopping ideas. HUGE buffet breakfast and quick room service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chitownthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear chitownthomas,

Good to hear you were happy with your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Mike Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Positive Aspects: Friendly Staff and Management - They provide extremely friendly and fast services. They have "willingness to help" attitudes. / Very convenient ACCESS - Airport Limousine Bus from Incheon Airport arrive at Novotel Gangnam, every 30 minutes/ complimentary, free items at Guest Rooms - 2 bottles of mineral water, shower gowns, shower cap, cotton puff, cotton buds, cotton slippers, Bars of soap, Shampoo, Body Shampoo, lotion, electric cattle, coffee, tea & green tea making facitlities etc/ Excellent Buffet Breakfast at Square (L2) - The quality and the variety of dishes are better than other 5 star hotels in Seoul - A variety of egg dishes + bread + fresh fruit (my favorate) + Fish, Meat Hot dishes + Salad + Gruel + 3 kinds of Soup + Yogurt, A Combination of Western, Chinese, Korean and Japanese style, Breakfast Buffet Restaurant opens at 6 am week days, earlier than other hotels, very convenient/ Once I had to leave the Hotel before 6 am. A Receptionist informed me of a complimentary coffee and bread service at Bistro for guests before 6 am. I enjoyed the coffee and the bread provided by the hotel around 5 am/ 24 hour covenient store is just across the road/ Hotel Delivery services are very fast/ Complimentary overnight shoe shine service - High Floors/ Bistro Restaurant (Ground Floor) has a variety of French and Korean cuisine. I like the quality dishes of the restaurant/ I also like the cake at the hotel/I could enjoy Live Music at GranA (Ground floor)/ I requested Psy's Gangnam Style and the singers at GrangA sang very well/ Business Centre, Concierge, Reception staff are very helpful - researches of tour destinations + route + adequate transporatation arrangement + entertainment show, musical reservations/ Wi-Fi in Common Areas at the hotel is free (Lobby + Restaurant)/ Metro Station is less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel (Shin-non-hyun station Line 9), around 15 minutes walking distance (Gang-nam station Line 2), there are many interesting shops on the way to Gangnam Station and Underground Shopping areas at Gangnam Station/ Kyobo Book Store, the largest book shop in Korea, is reachable less than 5 minutes on foot/ Sauna facilities at Novotel Gangnam is very good/ Gym and Swimming Pool are very good./ Express Bus Terminal is reachable around 10 minutes by taxi or by metro.
The only thing to improve - Wi Fi system at the hotel is in general OK, however sometimes the Wi Fi speed is uneven. Faster and reliable Wi-Fi system is needed.

Room Tip: Ask Back Side Room. The back side rooms are more quiet than street side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Marcus567 ,

Thank you so much for such a comprehensive overview which I am sure those travellers that follow you will be very appreciative of.


Mike Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here for three nights for a conference. The hotel is quite conveniently located in the Gangnam area, with a lot of restaurents and shops nearby. Ritz Carlton is just next to this Accor property. The hotel itself has been running for years, but is well maintainted. The room is standard size given the Novotel style. The Biz Lounge in the 16F, however, is below the average compare to the other hotels. Other then the buffet, there are two restaurents, one for Korean food, and the other for Japanese food that you could have lunch.

If not for business, I'm not sure whether this hotel is a smart choice, since it still costs over $250 per night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richyding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear richyding,

Our location is pretty special.. Being in the fashion and food district. Half our guest do stay for leisure because of this and those on business, like yourself, enjoy it to.


Mike Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed 4 nights. Service excellent. Staff in the executive suites went out of their way to make the most of our sightseeing activities. Location in Gangnam great for shoppers and foodies. We didn't go for shopping but we did note it wasn't inexpensive.
One problem with the location was it was 30 minutes by cab to the downtown area but cabs were cheap ;only 10 usd.
Really enjoyed our stay. Would return.
Tom N (Brisbane)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Tomnjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Tomnjude,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Next time take the train to downtown the station is close to the hotel, the trains are fantastic and it cuts the journey in half.

Mike Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel has become my favourite one when on business in South Korea. I recommend the addtional cost for the business floor as it includes access to the business lounge. The rooms are comfortable and well supplied. The gym is well set up and includes an outdoor jogging track. Also at the fitness lounge is an driving range for those wanting to keep up on their golf swing.

Room Tip: when booking make sure to take the breakfast option. The buffet is exceptional and caters to all ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear peter m,

Your room on the executive floor awaits you on your next trip. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Mike Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe
Samseongdong / COEX
Imperial Palace Seoul
Imperial Palace Seoul
#26 of 505 in Seoul
882 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#38 of 505 in Seoul
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Best Western Premier Gangnam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam

Address: 130, Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06124, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Seoul
#20 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#21 Business Hotel in Seoul
#23 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: $147 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the fashionable shopping and restaurant district of Gangnam, near COEX, and close to transportation hubs. The hotel offers 332 rooms including new renovated Superior & Premier Executive Floor rooms in high quality of design standards and complimentary WIFI access, a mix of modern and classic dining and entertaining choices together with a state of the art "Inbalance" fitness centre, which has a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and golf range to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul Hotel Seoul
Novotel Seoul
Accor Ambassador Gangnam Seoul
Seoul Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing