We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam
Ranked #27 of 451 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here on business based on the Novotel being part of the Accor Group. Whilst Novotel are a budget hotel in Europe, the reviews on TA and location were enough for me to book. I was here for a week and enjoyed the facilities very much. I had some issues after leaving and whilst they took some time and several emails (which shouldn't have been the case) they were eventually resolved. I would therefore return if the price was OK in comparison to some of the other brands nearby (which I haven't tried but have decent confidence in their brands) and wouldn't have an issue recommending this hotel if you need to be in Gangnam.

Good Points

- Location in Gangnam is excellent. 5 mins to the main street with lots of shops and places to eat
- 2 mins to the nearest metro stop (the metro is superb so i would advise utilising this if possible)
- Room was comfortable and clean
- Gym and spa/pool facilities were superb - one of the best I've come across although 95% of users were locals rather than hotel guests which is a shame (if using this be aware that it is not permitted to wear swimming costumes in the baths and the relaxed naked attitude may come as a bit of a shock to Western visitors at first!)
- Room service were very good and friendly
- Concierge was very helpful and knowledge was impressive with some useful tips. Helped me getting a metro card and other practical things which may be useful to non Korean speaking guests
- Breakfast was excellent although some things ran out if you went nearer the end of service (fine at some places but for the room rate that shouldn't be the case)

Bad Points

- Despite requesting a non smoking room I was given a smoking room (hotel was full so they weren't able to move me) and this resulted in me being ill for the next three weeks with difficulty breathing.
- Wouldn't use the laundry service again as they ripped my suit
- The price of the lobby bar was very high
- Taxi's hailed by the hotel were useless - just use the metro
- Its quite a trip to the main tourist activities and areas so I would suggest staying somewhere else if your in Seoul for just a few days
- On check out and when sorting out the billing the front desk tried to bill me for my room despite pre paying so be aware of this - an argument about this at 4.00 am is also not great customer service
- Hotel wouldn't offer an airport pickup prior to arriving, yet I found out this was available and this annoyed me. It was very expensive but I couldn't understand why I was told over the phone it wasn't possible.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamsimsafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Jamsimsafc,

Thank you for your balanced feedback. I am working through some of the inconveniences you mentioned with my team to rectify, ensuring there are no re-occurances. Thank you again for taking the time to add to our continued inprovement through direct guest feedback.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    562
    129
    27
    15
See reviews for
209
145
91
568
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were curious about Gangnam. At first we thought it was abit boring until the next day when we venture out. Food street was somewhere behind the hotel, which leads to the real a gangnam shopping area.
Lots of trendy people, rows of boutiques and cafes.
It is worth gong to take a look

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ochatiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Ochatiger,

I am so glad you found "the real Gangnam" which is only 3minutes walk behind the Novotel. It is may favorite area due to the vitality and the people watching is great.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Room is very straight forward, clean and comfy. I love the breakfast selection! good choices of healthy food and some tasty sumptuous indulgence! Its definitely not cheap staying here but you know what to expect staying in a well-known chain hotel. I highly recommend everyone to take the airport bus instead of the taxi, not only its cheaper (if your traveling by yourself or 2 persons) but it also drops you off in front of the hotel lobby! You can also book this bus from the reception going to airport and it picks you up right in front of the hotel. The great way to go around the city is by taking the train which is not also far to walk from the hotel,best to get the train guide map at the Airport though because you won't find any English guide in any train station!(It comes very handy!) Convenient stores,restaurants and shopping area are just minutes walk from the hotel. Safe and nice area to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocobailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Cocobailey,

So glad you enjoyed your stay. Good tips to future travellers in regards the KAL Limousine bus service. I use the trains to get around and it is the most efficient mode of transport. Hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent location. 10 minutes walking distance to Gangnam area.
5 minutes walking distance to subway line 9 which will deliver you to the airport directly.
Nice food and facility.
I don't know if it is changed but only problem when I visited was they charge broadband connection for each device(notebook, smart phone..)

Room Tip: South side will give you a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KYEONG IL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear KYEONG IL S,

Thank you for your kind comments. From July all internet will be complimentary.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine et Loire, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great and efficient service from this hotel well situated. The menus are fine, the staff is great, the rooms are great too even for a family with young children. The hot water from the swimming-pool is very pleasant, All was definitely great. We recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 613coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guests,

I really appreciate your positive cretique, especially noting that we a children friendly.. Everyone is our guests.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

After check-in, nobody asked or handled my luggages.
It's the basic service and they should've asked.
Room was bit small but not bad. Pillow was so so.
They should upgrade their service because room rate is about $200.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank scienm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear scienm,

I apologise that our service in regards to handling your baggage did not meet your expectation… this is an area we will focus on in future training and service discussions.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Clean, efficient, if a bit souless.

The buffet is fantastic (breakfast, lunch) but I did not try dinner.

The metro is a five minute walk, and the Gangnam area is close. That has lots of pleasant bars, restaurants, barbecue places etc.

The airport bus stops here which makes connection to Incheon very easy, cheap (don't get a taxi; bus is almost as fast and much cheaper).

There are some coffee shops and a 7-11 outside which is handy ( get irritated at hotels who charge $15 for a small cup of mediocre coffee when I can get a large cup of mediocre coffee for $4. But Italy or Oz have nothing to fear from Korea in terms of coffee culture).

There is a hotel bar, with a sublimely awful hotel bar band. But they seem to be everywhere so I won't hold that against them

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rupes_Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear rupes_Bath,

Thank you for your feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe
Samseongdong / COEX
Imperial Palace Seoul
Imperial Palace Seoul
#20 of 451 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
BEST WESTERN Premier Gangnam
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#38 of 451 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Belle-Essence Seoul Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam

Property: Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam
Address: 130, Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06124, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Seoul
#22 Business Hotel in Seoul
#23 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#23 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the fashionable shopping and restaurant district of Gangnam, near COEX, and close to transportation hubs. The hotel offers 332 rooms including new renovated Superior & Premier Executive Floor rooms in high quality of design standards and complimentary WIFI access, a mix of modern and classic dining and entertaining choices together with a state of the art "Inbalance" fitness centre, which has a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and golf range to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul Hotel Seoul
Novotel Seoul
Accor Ambassador Gangnam Seoul
Seoul Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing