We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked the Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam
Ranked #35 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Liked the Breakfast”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights end of Sept.
What I liked:
- Warm service during check-in. I had a slight flu and during check in, kind of sniffled a bit. The receptionist kindly enquired and knowing I was there for work, wished me speedy recovery et al. Nice to have when you're not feeling well and far away from home on work trip.
- Great location: Supermarket directly opposite hotel. Gangnam shopping street and lots of cafes/restaurants, a 10 minutes walk away. Yet hotel itself is on a quiet street, so non noise disturbance.
- Breakfast buffet had some really unique items not usually offered in hotel breakfasts, like parma ham on musk melon, grilled tomato with pesto sauce, mini salmon steaks, to name a few.
- Wi-fi signal in room was very good, never dropped.
- Can purchase airport bus limo ticket during check out, so it can be paid with credit card and i don't have to worry about small change.

What I did not like:
- The decor of room, predominantly dark red and navy. Gave an eerie, gloomy feel...
- The air conditioner. On the second night, feeling slightly warm, i turned it down from 25 to 20 and finally to 15 (the minimum possible), felt no difference.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepamint_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear pepamint_lee,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide your impressions of the hotel and the vibrant gangnam area.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    629
    137
    30
    15
See reviews for
247
164
103
667
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
723 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Got to stay 2 nights in this 4 star hotel , this is actually the 3rd hotel that i have reviewed , included in our group tour during the 2nd week of sept.. I found my room quite small , but had all the amenities that i would need , liked my huge bed, the flat screen tv which has many channel selection, the airconditioning and lighting , all pleasant.. also liked my bathroom , particularly the amenities, toiletries and those with automated bidet functions.. Lobby- huge, seem elegant, the lounge and bar was quiet during the times i went there, so didn't notice any band or musical act doing their stuff.. Location- seem to be on the quiet side of gangnam , with a 7-11 convenience store fronting the hotel, a hooters outlet (looks like it was closed or undergoing renovation) , in this vicinity is the best western hotel and the ritz- carlton ( looks and feel intimidating when i paid a short visit ) ...going out of the hotel from the front, then turning left, a 5-10 minute walk would lead to the vibrant Gangnam boulevard of multiple shops, food stop, and entertainment options, just a reminder , be careful not to get lost once you start experimenting on trying the multiple subway sections beneath the district.... Internet is not free, and when i tried the huge mac computer which provide complimentary service , one is not working, and the improvised play station seem a good idea... Breakfast , a good choice of asian, western selections, there are many in the juice buffet. and there is a self service coffee machine which serve many types of caffeine loaded drinks.... The seafood selection in the appetizer group was nice, and the mini salmon steaks and mini burgers add up to a pleasant experience.. The service staff seem disinterested at times, but i would complain.. And last, when i tried to have my 2 nights stay credited by my accor points, they didn't allow it, even though the said the credit would not be given even if i paid through the travel agency...anyway i don't intend to make a fuss out of it

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorfoxtrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear doctorfoxtrot,

What a great review for all these travelers that come after you. Thanks for taking th time to write a balanced critically and convey good location information and some handy hints, especially regarding the subway.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Staying Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul turns into one big expense, where apart from the $200+ room one has to pay $5 per hour for Internet access, $30 breakfast, $13 coffee, etc. The location is not central, but close to a new subway station and the entertainment area of Gangnam. Sauna and swimming pool close at 10pm. Good for business travel but unreasonably expensive and inconvenient for tourists.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonidpetrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear leonidpetrov,

Compared to other Asian capital cities, Seoul is on the expensive side and can come as a shock to some travelers. We regard our pricing as value for money relative to others in the 5star deluxe accommodation category. Internet in all public areas is free, we have options for breakfast and coffee is included in the breakfast cost. We are centrally located in the middle of the trendy restaurant and shopping district of Gangnam.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

As usual with Korean hotels the staff are excellent and the service is just what you want. They have a bar which often has live music which is rather loud but also a quieter area if you don't want to be punished by the mediocre North American/South Asian combo band.
I don't think I've used the restaurant other than for breakfast but that is good. Ideally located for enjoying the night-life in Gangnam!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_DVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Bob_DVB,

Thanks for your positive comments in regards to our team and the service they provide. I hope on your return to the hotel you can try Shunmi, our signature Japanese Restaurant and The Bistro, French casual cuisine. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pordenone, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I spent 9 night in Seoul. As we love seeing new hotels we stayed here for two night in between stays at the local Intercontinentals.

First for the negatives-This place is OK at best. The lobby is dated. I felt like we were in one of the Scarface movies. The room is a bit small. Considering what you pay for a night here, I would of thought there would of been more space. I had the Hong Kong Novotel still in my mind in terms of space. My wife who lives in Japan wanted nothing more than to get a "Korean massage." The concierge looked at us like why would be want a Korean massage. The only place he knew of was a Thai joint about 3 block away. We ended up going to the intercontinental and getting massages there. The next day, we found about 7 places within a square Km from the hotel that was just what she was looking for.

Positives- Great breakfast, tons to choose from, even with picky eaters. Very international crowd. I love meeting people from other countries. The bar at night is amazing- great live music every single night. Gym is brand new, and very nice. Very nice spa, just make sure you have no tattoos:(

Not a bad place to stay, but I would never stay at this one again. There are far better choices in Seoul that deliver a better bang for your buck.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headinthelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear headinthelion,

Thank you for recently choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time to share your feedback.
I am sorry to read that you found our 26 square metre rooms a little small. I also understand and appreciate that you our lobby ambiance did not appeal to you. In terms of our Concierge team not being able to recommend a Korean massage place for you this is most disappointing. We take great pride in being able to promote and support Korean culture so I can assure you we are taking your feedback very seriously here and highlighting your feedback to our frontline team on the importance of being able to reccommend and support local Korean businesses. Again please accept my apologies in relation to this. Headinthelion, I was however delighted to read that you enjoyed our extensive breakfast buffet as well as our nightly live entertainment. It was also most pleasing to read that you also found our gym and spa up to your liking. Thank you once again for your feedback and if we can ever try to convince you to return to our property we would most certainly welcome the opportunity. We do appreciate your detailed feedback.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Wifi was way expensive but they had Mac computers in the lobby that can be used for a maximum of 20 minutes. Breakfast was great, so many choices. TV finally had English channels! (some hotels didn't)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tzuvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear tzuvr,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Novotel Gangnam with the Tripadvisor community. Tzuvr, I am delighted to share that as of the beginning of 2013 we will be offering complimentary internet in all of our guest rooms. I was also happy to hear that you enjoyed our extensive breakfast buffet and our expansive television offering.
Tzuvr, thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback and we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Novotel Gangnam in the very near future.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Internet not free 5000KW for 1hours Room and everything are fine easy to travel to main location . Cost for the hotel is cheaper than the hotel at the same area. If you want to stay at Gangnum should stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear nomus,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I and our hotel team were delighted to hear that you found our rates most competitive and you also found our property to be in a good location. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Novotel Gangnam in the very near future. Thank you once again.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#36 of 472 in Seoul
267 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Best Western Premier Gangnam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Samseongdong / COEX
Imperial Palace Seoul
Imperial Palace Seoul
#26 of 472 in Seoul
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam

Property: Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam
Address: 130, Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06124, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Seoul
#21 Business Hotel in Seoul
#23 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#25 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the fashionable shopping and restaurant district of Gangnam, near COEX, and close to transportation hubs. The hotel offers 332 rooms including new renovated Superior & Premier Executive Floor rooms in high quality of design standards and complimentary WIFI access, a mix of modern and classic dining and entertaining choices together with a state of the art "Inbalance" fitness centre, which has a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and golf range to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul Hotel Seoul
Novotel Seoul
Accor Ambassador Gangnam Seoul
Seoul Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing