We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five nights in the Best Western New Seoul Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western New Seoul Hotel
Ranked #140 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Five nights in the Best Western New Seoul Hotel”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I chose this hotel because it was a pick up point for one of my tours (a day trip to the DMZ). It's in a really central location, within walking distance of many of the major sites, the subway (it's near a direct line from Gimpo airport) and the Seoul City Tour bus. The hotel is also only a short walk to the pick up point for my second tour.
The staff spoke English and were helpful and friendly.
My room was small and didn't have much of a view (at least it had a window - I noticed, as have some other travellers, that some internal rooms have no windows) but it was clean and well-equipped and the bed was very comfortable. it was also very quiet.
The hotel has two restaurants - I didn't try the Italian one, but the Korean buffet (with some Western and Japanese items) was convenient and varied. I think I got my money's worth on a couple of evenings when I hadn't eaten much for lunch. There are also many cafes and restaurants in the area too. The American breakfast was good, although the continental breakfast didn't strike me as good value. I tried the Korean breakfast too and it was tasty - it was more like a risotto than a vegetable porridge, which is the rather unappealing description.
It was a bit of a surprise to discover that the sauna ismen-only (no women-only hours), not that I was desperate to try it out, just curious.
I would stay there again (as long as I had a room with a window) because it was convenient and clean, and the staff were pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    139
    114
    22
    10
See reviews for
65
47
40
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

If not for the location, I would have been upset with our choice to go with this hotel.

There is NO WIFI in rooms.
That means that unless you lugged a laptop or netbook with you, the only way you can access the Internet is if you go downstairs to the lobby, which is small. I found this very inconvenient, sometimes it is late at night and youre in your PJs and you just need to look something up- well, you can't.

Hotel staff are unprofessional. I (while using the Internet in the lobby) personally witnessed a staff at reception pick up and immediately slam down the phone which was ringing.
They are also unfriendly and not helpful at all with information. You're on your own. Bring a good guidebook, and rely on a friend who has been here. Or ask people outside the hotel. Just don't count on getting info from them.


Thirdly, while there is a safety box in the room, it is not clamped down. So if someone was really determined to steal your locked up belongings, they could just pick up the entire box and go.

Give your money to another hotel. This is hostel-level accommodation, not what a proper hotel should be.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I was traveling to Seoul for business with my colleagues and reserved three single rooms. The rooms we got were simply a small and dark jail cells with no windows at all, just four walls.

Don't know how the other rooms looks like as they have refused to change our rooms claiming the the hotel is fully booked. We have canceled the reservation and left to the Koreana hotel across the street which was decent.

I advice to make sure that your reservation is for a room with a window, seems basic to me :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank OrenAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seoul hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

I had a room with a window but I had to ask it wasn't offered or mentioned till I asked. The shower took forever to get hot (warm) but the room was clean and comfortable. Dont waste your money in the restraunt, overpriced and very average quality. Continental breakfast a joke, slice of toast, coffee and fruit juice 20 bucks. Much better offerings outside the front door.
Summary
Great location average staff and poor restraunt.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank darkfibre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I spent 3 nights in this hotel. The room was very clean, but the layout of the room is a little bit strange since you can barely open the wardrobe but anyway instead of being annoying that issue was funny. The buffet at night is very good, with a lot of different dishes from fish to kimchi. I would recommend to try the buffet only once since I noticed that the dishes are the same every night. The price can be a little bit expensive (around 18000 W) but it worths every penny. Try to ask staff in advance if seats will be available because it is very common for people working around the hotel to have dinner there. Staff can speak very good english but they are not very enthusiastic when it comes to be a tourist guide so I recommend to take a city map from the front desk and use the subway, it is very convenient and easy to use.

Room Tip: My room had only one little window and there was no opportunity to see the city. If this mind you, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauricio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of October after carefully reading the many reviews of Seoul hotels.
****MAKE SURE YOU GET A ROOM WITH A WINDOW!!!*** The first night our room had no window and was unbelievably hot - well into the 80s and there was nothing that could be done to cool it down. Went to reception in the morning and they were polite and helpful and changed our room which was a vast improvement. Washroom is basic but clean, flatscreen TVs in the room with a selection of Asian and couple of English language channels (not that we were there to spend out time watching TV anyways!).
Location is excellent, a short walk to the shopping district, subway, the palaces. There's a Starbucks next door which is pretty pricey, a 7eleven around the corner.
If you're flying Korean Airlines, use the KAL limousine bus to get to the hotel. The regular buses will drop you at the Koreana across the street and it's a huge street to cross if you can't find the underpass.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank run_mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
323 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

BW New Soul hotel is an average hotel, with small dark rooms, modestly equipped and furnished. However, its location is convinient for sight-seeing and shopping trips. Convenience stores and restaurants situated close by are handy. Also the nearby Metro station provides good connectivity.

Room Tip: Do not opt for rooms without widows. Although these are cheaper but these are suffocating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
New Kukje Hotel
#131 of 472 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Hotel President
#141 of 472 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seodaemun
Koreana Hotel
Koreana Hotel
#78 of 472 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Staz Hotel Myeongdong II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western New Seoul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western New Seoul Hotel

Property: Best Western New Seoul Hotel
Address: 16, Sejong-daero 22-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04520, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western New Seoul Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western New Seoul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Seoul
Seoul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing