We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Seoul COEX
Ranked #28 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a good location”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed for 8 nights in a club suite. Big room, 2 bathrooms and great floor to ceiling windows. Hotel staff all very helpful and professional. Club lounge is great, although food offerings are limited. Big gym and even a golf driving range. Location is good as it avoids much of the Gangnam traffic. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyglobetrotterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, General Manager at InterContinental Seoul COEX, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us here in Seoul, much appreciated.
Naturally I was pleased to read your comments and feedback and given you were with us for 8nights which is a long stay in a hotel room, I am happy that you have enjoyed your stay.
I shall share the feedback with the Chefs in relation to the Club Lounge and its selection and we all hope that should you return to Seoul that you will again choose the InterContinental hotels.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    627
    120
    27
    16
See reviews for
183
150
126
824
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My wife and I visited Seoul to attend a conference that was held at COEX conference centre hence I booked at the Intercontinental COEX. The hotel and COEX centre are connected through a staircase. The hotel is also linked to COEX shopping mall. The mall is one of the largest shopping malls in Seoul. It caters a tax-free sales department for luxury brands as well as few korean high street brands. The mall is also caters a large number of restaurants of different cuisines and COEX Aquarium.

The most convenient and cost effective means to reach the hotel from Incheon Airport is via KAL Luxury Bus. BTW, Incheon airport is an amazing airport and no wonder it has won so many accolades between 2005 and 2013. The bus ticket is around $18 single or $30 round trip. the seats are spacious, made of leather and can stretch forward. The bus stops at various hotel and you need to catch the bus that departs on 4B. The journey though can vary due to heavy traffic between 70-90 minutes, thus you need to give yourself good time on the journey back to the airport. Another alternative is to use Korea's sophisticated train system which would cost less than the bus, or opt for more expensive limo taxi.

Now, Seoul is an expensive city hence expect to pay top dollar for top services. I booked the hotel and travel through a known website but I contacted the hotel a few weeks in advance to confirm the booking in person. I highly recommend this practice because inevitably I end up getting the best rooms, and on this occasion it was no different. I had a room with best view.

The room was King size bedroom. It contained every mod con including an office desk and central control unit beside the bed to control lighting, room temperature, etc. The TV had a few English speaking channels but that was of little use. The bathroom was contemporary and spacious with a separate shower and bath units. The most awesome feature is the WC. It has a electrical unit to act as bidet and a fan to wash and dry your back side !! How awesome is that?

The reception is heavily staffed hence check in and check out only take a few minutes however busy the time of the day. The staff are extremely helpful and greet you with genuine smile. You can book various tours from the hotel. The room service is expensive but you must try the Asian restaurant at the hotel. The COEX stand in between two long streets that contain various restaurants that are worth a visit. There is a 24 hour corner store not far from hotel for all your needs to avoid paying over the odds at the hotel for amenities such as water or snacks.

Moreover, the area surrounding the COEX is a vibrant square In Gangnam and you could spend a couple of days just to explore it. I highly recommend this hotel although it is a 30 minute taxi ride away from city centre such as Insadong and Myeongdong.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nadir O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, General Manager at InterContinental Seoul COEX, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very detailed review following your stay with us here in Seoul, much appreciated.

I think you have just about covered everything and whilst as you mention, Seoul is not the cheapest city in the world given the levels of service and friendliness we provide, we do try to keep it reasonable.

Thanks once again for your great feedback and review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Seoul on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed this hotel with my friends from Apr.5th for 5days.Hotel was great and we enjoyed to stay this hotel for our holiday.Room was good enough to stay with my friend and hotel staff were outstanding.Location was perfact to go shopping and see the beautiful temple across the hotel.restaurant was also good.The fitness center on 3rd floor had good condition to use it. I will stay this hotel again for next trip in Korea.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 510leungh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, General Manager at InterContinental Seoul COEX, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Excellent Review of our hotel following your recent stay, much appreciated.

Our staff always love to read and hear of the recognition they receive for their hard work and service and this truly works as a great motivator for them so thank you.

As you have highlighted our location is really second to none for anyone attending anything within the Coex Convention Center, additionally with direct access to the Mall downstairs, the Casino next door, a short underground walk to the subway station and direct access to both Incheon and Gimpo airports via limousine bus we are a great place to base yourself when visiting Seoul.

Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The hotel is above average in its service levels. The upkeep, restaurants, and other services are also fairly above average. The location is good and well connected even by public transportation.

However, all that pales in comparison with a single horrible experience! On one day of the stay I forgot my mobile in the room. When I got back, the phone screen was broken. Reported this to the manager on duty and all I got in response the next night when I got back to the room was a typed note. It simply stated that they did not think that their room service staff broke the phone. Absolutely no assistance or help in getting the phone repaired. Among the staff, it seemed to be more of a SYA syndrome. Frustrated, I checked out after finding an alternate arrangement. Later got a few emails from the PR team with apologies. Absolutely, no focus on customer retention!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkapre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, General Manager at InterContinental Seoul COEX, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, my apologies on behalf of the lack of hospitality and assistance that you feel you have received in relation to your experience here with us. Naturally I was very disappointed that you decided to check out and find alternative accommodation.
I understand that one of our team members has been in touch with you already however I shall be contacting you personally to see if there is any way we can recover your faith in our typically high levels of service.

I do thank you for the positive feedback you have shared at the beginning of your review and do hope to be able to somehow turn around this experience for you.

I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
351 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Very good service, nice and clean. I was on the 29th floor and the view was nice. The traffic around here is not too bad and allows for decent commuting to other areas. Would have been a 5 star rating if they offered a broader restaurant selection. I loved being right next to Bongeunsa temple. Next time in Seoul, I will definitely come back here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank pieroinusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, General Manager at InterContinental Seoul COEX, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us here on TripAdvisor, much appreciated.
The team is always so pleased when we receive such positive feedback and again thank you for your recognition of them.

As you have highlighted our location is really second to none with direct access to the Mall downstairs, the Casino next door, a short underground walk to the subway station and direct access to both Incheon and Gimpo airports via limousine bus we are a great place to base yourself when visiting Seoul.

Was a shame you didn’t get to sample some of the many food and beverage outlets we offer across both the InterContinental hotels here located on the same block, actually 13 in total including the two on the 52nd floor of the World Trade Center. Thankfully and most importantly you did highlight that you will return and please do ask any of our team members to share and assist in finding something to your liking within the hotels or nearby.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotels in sometime in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
252 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Located close to Kangnam's main street and to plenty of shopping opportunities and eating places, this is really a nice place to stay.
Only tiny remark: choice of bread and danish pastries in the morning is quite weak, but otherwise, a marvellous breakfast, with all you can dream of.
Very polite people, anticipating your wishes, good internet, but not free (unless you are a member of the Priority Club).
Also less than 5 minutes away on foot form the City Air Terminal, so ideal if you have to go back to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Labienus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, General Manager at InterContinental Seoul COEX, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at the InterContinental Seoul Coex, much appreciated.

Your comments and feedback are great accolades to share with the team and am sure this will continue to motivate them to continue to provide the great service and hospitality which the InterContinental is renowned for.

Thanks once again for your feedback and we all hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel sometime in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Hotel was full due to an international conference and the services are not so good. I was disappointed. Rooms are really small and the prices of room service are really expensive. Breakfast buffet is really good with several options. Location is good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EVVUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, General Manager at InterContinental Seoul COEX, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us here in Seoul.
Naturally we never like to read that a guest has left disappointed and given the levels of business that we do here at the hotels, being full should not make any difference…however apologies if we have let you down in any way.

I will contact you via your personal address here on TripAdvisor in an attempt to get some further information about your experience and do hope that you would be kind enough to share more details with me.

Once again, apologies for the disappointment and do hope to hear from you at your convenience.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Samseongdong / COEX
Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas
Samseongdong / COEX
Oakwood Premier Coex Center
Park Hyatt Seoul
#38 of 472 in Seoul
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yeoido
Conrad Seoul
Conrad Seoul
#21 of 472 in Seoul
1,742 reviews
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#12 of 472 in Seoul
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Seoul COEX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Seoul COEX

Property: InterContinental Seoul COEX
Address: 524 Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06164, South Korea (Formerly COEX InterContinental Seoul)
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Samseongdong / COEX
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Seoul
#11 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#12 Family Hotel in Seoul
#13 Business Hotel in Seoul
#20 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#32 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Seoul COEX 5*
Number of rooms: 656
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Seoul COEX is part of the massive World Trade Center Seoul, the country s one-stop business destination. You ll walk to COEX, Korea City Air Terminal and the COEX Mall s underground 16-screen theatre and more than 200 shops. Well worth a short drive are the Namdaemun Market, the Namsan Hanok Village and the Korean War Battlefields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Seoul COEX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Seoul Coex Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing