We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for business travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Seoul COEX
Ranked #32 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Having stayed several times at the Intercontinental Seoul COEX now, I can say that each stay has been uniformly great. Friendly staff, good service, exceedingly clean & modern rooms, and an excellent fitness club on-site make this a great choice when doing business in Seoul, particularly if you have business on the south side of the river.

For travel to the hotel from the airport, it is easy to take the Korean Airlines Limo Bus which will drop you off literally in the front of the hotel. Be sure to specify Intercontinental COEX when you buy your ticket, as there is another Intercontinental (Grand) just around the corner, and you don't want to end up there. Also note that there are two COEX stops, and you want to tell the helpful bus limo porters at the airport that you want the hotel (they'll know).

Rooms were recently re-done and are very comfortable with excellent quality bedding.

Only complaint would be the high price for the breakfast & lunch buffets, as well as snacks in-room -- beware the $70 lunch! It is better to get the breakfast included in the room rate as it will be less than the $40+ that the breakfast will cost you a la carte. That said, it is an extensive and healthy (or not!) buffet that exceeds most in this price range, every day of the week. Again, this can be a boon to the business traveler looking to fill up in the morning before a long day in Seoul.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side will afford you a view of the temple across the street, as well as the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_R_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, General Manager at InterContinental Seoul COEX, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your favorable comments and feedback after your recent stay with us here in Seoul.

I was very pleased and proud that you mentioned the friendliness that all our team here at the InterContinental Seoul Coex display in our attempt to make your stay here in Seoul a pleasant and memorable one.

Our recently refurbished rooms certainly boast some great views over the Han River, and as you have highlighted over the very famous Bongeunsa temple located directly across the street from the hotel.

I shall pass on your comments to our food and beverage team in relation to the pricing, however would also agree with you on your recommendation to consider upgrading to the Club Floor or look at packages including breakfast etc, certainly a better value for money proposition.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your comments and we hope that should you return to Seoul you will again choose the InterContinental Seoul, Coex.

Travel Safe and Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 803 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

Hotel room Interior is a bit old. Toothbrush is chargeable. Pls bring your own.
Breakfast is good, staffs great, location convenience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shating23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, General Manager at InterContinental Seoul COEX, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback after your recent stay with us here in Seoul.

I was very pleased and proud that you mentioned the friendliness of our staff members, our breakfast and also our location. All of which contribute in our attempt to make your stay here in Seoul a pleasant and memorable one.

Unfortunately as a directive from the local government in their attempt to minimise landfill about 18mths ago we were asked to remove many of the typical complimentary items which you would expect to find in an InterContinental bathroom.
Whilst we can understand and agree with the initiative it does sometimes disappoint some of our guests.

Just a small tip, our housekeeping department do keep a small supply of items which can be delivered to you upon request.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your comments and we hope that should you return to Seoul you will again choose the InterContinental Seoul, Coex.

Travel Safe and Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Very nice hotel situated along with Coex mall. 30 floor hotel has very good view of city.
Nearby temple of Buddha is worth a visit.
Internet speed is good.
Since I am vegetarian, the hotel did not had much dining options for me.

Room Tip: Choose high floor with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaurabhSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, General Manager at InterContinental Seoul COEX, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your favorable comments and feedback after your recent stay with us here in Seoul.

As you have highlighted, our location is certainly a major selling point and with direct access to areas such as the COEX Mall, the Duty Free store & Casino make this a great advantage for staying with us here at the InterContinental Seoul COEX.

The Bongeunsa Temple located across the street certainly offers a calming influence to this bustling city and we certainly recommend if time permits for all our guests to take some time to explore this iconic landmark, if not, you can also catch a wonderful outlook of this famous temple from our Cosmopolitan Fitness Center located on the 3rd floor.

The views from many of our rooms and the Sky Lounge Restaurant which you have mentioned are some of the best of Seoul and the surrounding areas and a great way to take away a lasting impression of this dynamic city.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your comments and we do hope that should you return to Seoul you will again choose the InterContinental Seoul, Coex.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I arrived at the hotel by 11pm. I was given room 564. A room with a sitting room! Dated design. No toothbrush as korean standard.
FREE gym and swimming pool BUT charged sauna and steam room!
The gym was very big facing the white buhda of the temple opposite to the hotel
I did not swim.BUT the pool size is big.
The breakfast is 5 star. Many many choices with superb quality.
Esp the beef, salmon, rice noodle, abalone congee..........
various types of kimchi..........
A big mall was attached to the hotel and the exhibition hall.

Room Tip: breakfast is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jchu88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, General Manager at InterContinental Seoul COEX, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your favorable comments and feedback after your recent stay with us here in Seoul.

As you have highlighted, our location is certainly a major selling point and with direct access to areas such as the COEX Mall, the Duty Free store & Casino make this a great advantage for staying with us here at the InterContinental Seoul COEX.

Whilst being located in the business district of Gangnam, the Bongeunsa Temple located across the street certainly offers a calming influence to this bustling city and we certainly recommend if time permits for all our guests to take some time to explore this iconic landmark.
If not as you have highlighted our Cosmopolitan Fitness Center certainly is worth a visit and also boasts a wonderful outlook over this famous temple.

Our breakfast buffet in the Brasserie all day dining restaurant receives many good comments in relation to the variety of food and I was pleased to hear this also from you and glad you enjoyed it. I will definitely pass this onto the team.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your comments and we do hope that should you return to Seoul you will again choose the InterContinental Seoul, Coex.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed at a Club room for three nights and was overly pleased with the comfort of the room. I would return to the hotel but I would not stay at the Club as the breakfast served in the Club lounge is of very limited variety. One of the most valued Club features is the free internet access while free sauna access was not that of a benefit (it was closed for routine maintenance on the only day I was free and wanted to use it).

I tried the breakfast at the Brassiere and found it remarkably of good quality and wide variety. I had opportunity to dine once at the hotel and I chose the Asia Live and found it to be ok.

Room Tip: Stay at high floor/facing north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dabbagmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, General Manager at InterContinental Seoul COEX, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your favorable comments and feedback after your recent stay with us here in Seoul.

Following on from our recent renovations we are receiving a lot of good feedback in relation to the decor and comfort of our rooms and I was pleased to hear this from you also. I was disappointed to hear that unfortunately the timing of your visit coincided with the one day a month we close our Fitness and Spa area for regular deep cleaning etc.
This area is certainly a highlight of the hotel with its outlook over the Bongeunsa Temple located across the street and apologize for the inconvenience.

I shall also pass on and share your valuable feedback to the team in relation to the breakfast selection in the Club Lounge in our endeavor to continually improve and expand our offerings to our valuable guests.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your comments and I do hope that next time you do return to Seoul that you will again choose the InterContinental Seoul, Coex.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Ibe been staying here two or three times a year for a decade. Nothing beats the service in Korea, and the constant attention to detail. The hotel has undergone some very nice improvements with more colorful decor, new flat screens, and more user friendly work spaces with wireless access.

My reasons for 4 stars are simple things. The food overall was just not as good as in the past. From the bready croissant to dry fish at breakfast to somewhat bland food in Asia live, I was left feeling the attention to perfection under the French gm of old was not quite there now. My room was nice, but I opened the tiloilet to find toilet paper from a previous user or maid.

I guesss these are minor, but the level of excellence in the past was not quite there this time around.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ct3408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, General Manager at InterContinental Seoul COEX, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your favorable comments and feedback after your recent stay with us here in Seoul.

Whilst we started on a positive I was disappointed to read that you believe we have slipped a little in a couple of areas.
We are currently making a few changes within the organisation including our Food and Beverage department with our aim to becoming a true destination for our Restaurants to both local and visiting guests and whilst we are still receiving many good comments, in your case it appears we have not delivered on our promise.

Please do let me know next time you are planning to visit as I would love to sit and listen to your feedback in more detail should your time permit also share with you some of the exciting plans we are currently working on.

I shall pass on and share your valuable feedback to the team in both the Brasserie all day dining restaurant and also Asian Live which you have mentioned in your email in our endeavor to raise the standards not only to days gone by but surpass them where possible.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Seoul, Coex sometime in the near future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I prefer this one to its bigger sibling, Grand Intercontinental, which is located at the other end of the COEX complex. It has more of the intimate and leisurely feel (and less business-like), perhaps in part because it is surrounded by more greens and there is a lovely temple right across the street. The rooms are not big but have modern feel, a bit reminiscent of the Grand Hyatt Tokyo in Roppongi (but not as nice, of course). Services could be better, although on par with most other top hotels in Seoul. I used two restaurants here: the buffet restaurant on the first floor and Asian Grill on the second. Asian Grill was much better than the buffet restaurant and I thought the price was reasonable in light of other top-level hotel restaurants in Seoul.

The best part of this hotel is that it is connected to the COEX complex, which has almost everything: shopping malls, movie theaters, restaurants, food courts, 2 Apple shops, multiple Starbuck cafes, a bookstore, a big stationery store, an aquarium, etc. This is where Korean youngsters hang out for fun (an indoor version of the Rodeo Street in Abkujung). So you can't really go wrong when you pick this hotel for fun.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne_Eisenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, General Manager at InterContinental Seoul COEX, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your favorable comments and feedback after your recent stay with us here in Seoul.

As you have highlighted, our location is certainly a major selling point and with direct access to areas such as the COEX Mall, the Duty Free store & Casino make this a great advantage for staying with us here at the InterContinental Seoul COEX.
Whilst being located in the business district of Gangnam, the Bongeunsa Temple located across the street certainly offers a calming influence to this bustling city and we certainly recommend if time permits for all our guests to take some time to explore this iconic landmark.

I have passed on your feedback in relation to the Brasserie all day dining restaurant and also Asian Live which you have mentioned in your email.
We spend a great deal of time on training and developing our staff to ensure your stay here in Seoul is a pleasant one and will continue to improve the levels of service we provide by means of sharing your feedback and comments with the team.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your comments and we do hope that should you return to Seoul you will again choose the InterContinental Seoul, Coex.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Samseongdong / COEX
Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas
Samseongdong / COEX
Oakwood Premier Coex Center
Yeoido
Conrad Seoul
Conrad Seoul
#25 of 504 in Seoul
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Seoul
#43 of 504 in Seoul
1,248 reviews
Samseongdong / COEX
Imperial Palace Seoul
Imperial Palace Seoul
#28 of 504 in Seoul
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Seoul COEX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Seoul COEX

Address: 524 Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06164, South Korea (Formerly COEX InterContinental Seoul)
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Samseongdong / COEX
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Seoul
#12 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#12 Family Hotel in Seoul
#13 Business Hotel in Seoul
#22 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#32 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: $192 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Seoul COEX 5*
Number of rooms: 656
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Seoul COEX is part of the massive World Trade Center Seoul, the country s one-stop business destination. You ll walk to COEX, Korea City Air Terminal and the COEX Mall s underground 16-screen theatre and more than 200 shops. Well worth a short drive are the Namdaemun Market, the Namsan Hanok Village and the Korean War Battlefields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Seoul COEX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Seoul Coex Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing