We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful hotel, never again.”
Review of Vogue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vogue Hotel
Ranked #464 of 940 Seoul B&B and Inns
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awful hotel, never again.”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The worst hotel I ever have been. The room is very very small, the washbasin next to bed. Through half transparent wall you can see the bath and toilet. The design is awful. The metallic black wall on the bedside looks strange. The room equips all electronic staff, but it' s not enough for a pleasant stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kruni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
3
6
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The service was great the staff there does everything possible to make sure you are satisfied. The room comes with a large screen tv that is preloaded with a decent selection of free movies and games.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with 3 of buddies doing an Asia trip. The service here was amazing (even better than Japan). The lady downstairs did everything to make us happy - she even washed and ironed my shirt when I asked her where to find a dry cleaner.

Room comes with computer, huge bathtub, very large bed, large screen tv where movies can be streamed for free.

It is close to a coin laundromat, close to 24 hour restaurants, 1 minute walk to a main street where cheap cabs can be flagged down.

I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just to sleep and shower, this is a good hotel.
However, it was definitely not the cleanest place I have stayed in Seoul. Apparently built to accommodate couples who can't find a private place for their love life, this small hotel also displays a couple of "special" features:
1. A jaccuzzi with a color-changing light on the ceiling
2. A large bed (which is nice)
3. Surrounded by similar hotels/motels nearby

So overall, I wouldn't bring my kids here...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inshil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel twice and I have yet to be disappointed. I honestly think it offers the best value for your dollar. The rooms are clean and modern, and they come equipped with a full entertainment system. On my first stay I had a standard room, but on my most recent stay, i had one of the suites and shared it with a few girlfriends. It was spacious and comfortable, and i actually preferred splitting a suite over having a standard room -- it's not easy to find this kind of space at this price point in Seoul. I primarily visit Korea to visit with friends and of course, for the amazing shopping experience, and this hotel is located very close to the subway station. Adjust your expectations -- this isn't the St. Regis, but for its category, in terms of price and quality, Vogue takes the cake. I will be back to stay in another suite.

Room Tip: If you can, go with a suite -- well worth it, especially if you split the cost with friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berrysoju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My criteria for selection of a hotel was a reasonable price without a substantial sacrifice in quality. Checking into Vogue Hotel, I was happy for having chosen the right hotel.
Rooms were so beautiful. Modern and chic, they were just my style. The size of the room was a bit small, but, I know, it is pretty standard in Seoul. Actually, I realized, the room wasn't that small, but the oversized bed, bathtub and wide-screen flat tv made the room look small. The multiple pillows were unique and made me fall asleep as soon as I closed my eyes. We stayed here during the hottest days, but the cool air from the ceiling as opposed to a wall mounted, noisy air conditioner kept us very comfortable. The jacuzzi worked well and I enjoyed it with bubble bath foam and fragrances provided by the hotel. There were 2 pc's in our room and they were super. We used one of them connected to the TV to watch movies wth a great surround stereo system. There were hundreds of movie titles, many of which were fairly recent, English titles. The free wifi also functioned very well. The free coffee available at the front desk smelt so good and I couldn't resist taking a cup every time, in and out. The staff here were very kind and eager to help. The location was perfect for all my purposes. The airport bus stop, the subway station, numerous restaurants in Shinchon, bars in Hongdae, my favorite town to meet my old friends and fashion stores in Ewha Woman's University were all within walking distances. We often used the many restaurants on the top floor of Hyundai departmen store. The line #2 is the core of the Seoul subway system and takes you to major spots in Seoul, including the civic center, Myeong Dong and Dongdaemoon. I would definitely stay at Vogue whenever I come to Seoul.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Park N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I will preface this review by saying that I like clean places. I am used to staying in 3-5 star hotels in the U.S., though mainly business hotels. That said, my boyfriend, who is not as picky as me and usually stays in Motel 6's in the U.S., also hated this place and wanted to leave asap.

I made a reservation for 5 nights, checked in, and decided to switch hotels for the rest of my 4 nights without having hit the room yet. We had a standard double room.

LOCATION – The location is BAD. I sort of knew this coming in but I didn't realize how much so. The nice part was that it was relatively close to the Shinchon metro stop off Line 2, which is a pretty main line. There is also supposedly some stuff to do north of the metro station, but south of it (where the hotel is) there's not much except love hotels and dirty surroundings. You have to walk up a short block of a hill to get to the hotel off the main street, which isn't so bad. But there's just nothing around it, not even restaurants let alone things to do. At night, they scatter around cards with girls in bikinis and phone numbers, just to give you an idea of the surroundings.

ROOM - Cleanliness was TERRIBLE. This was the main reason why we left the hotel. Although the pictures online looked nice, the real thing was NOT. They have a lot of flashy furniture and things (pre-loaded games like Diablo, HUGE flat-screen TV, jacuzzi bathtub, glass wall bathroom (it's smoky so you can't see inside), etc. etc., but the maintenance of the room and cleanliness ruined it all. The glue between the bathtub and the wall (not sure what you call it) and holding together the bathroom tiles was rusted, cracking, and disgusting. The furniture like the desk and nightstands were pretty worn (which by itself isn't a crime), but the room as a whole just felt uncelan and I honestly didn't even want to take out my toothbrush to brush my teeth it felt that dirty. There was also a certain smell to the entire place starting from when you walk into the lobby that just kind of tells you it's a kind of ghetto place.

PRIVACY - The walls are paper-thin (NOT soundproof as the reservation said they would be). I walked out of the elevator and could hear the TV going in one of the rooms. My boyfriend could also hear me on the phone from the elevator, and our room was further down the hall too.

SERVICE - The service was okay. There is one guy at the front desk who sits there all day. He literally didn't speak any English, and I don't speak much Korean, so any time we had to communicate he had to call his supervisor and we talked to him. It was a huge production to get our reservation cancelled and they weren't very cooperative (for obvious reasons) but they did let us use their phone to call the booking agency internationally so that was nice.

That said, as I mentioned, in terms of ITEMS, the hotel was clearly nice. You had games, movies, pre-loaded porn on the computer (a little trashy for my taste but it's a love hotel so kind of expected), free wifi, a huge bed (bigger than the "double" beds at other hotels), crazy lights hanging from the ceiling (that were actually a con since they made the room EXTREMELY hot), jacuzzi bathtub, nice pillows in the lobby, etc. The hotel definitely looked the nicest when compared to all its neighboring love hotels in the same area.

I am just astonished that this hotel was $90/night. I should also add that I booked this hotel well in advance but when I looked at the rates last minute, the rates were still the same and the hotel was pretty free in terms of vacancy. It seems couples mainly just rent rooms for a few hours, do their business, and get out. I think if I had come in with that same kind of goal, it might not have been so bad, but for a longer-term stay, it was terrible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iadoreyooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seoul hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Sinchon / Ewha
Hotel La Nuit
Hotel La Nuit
#356 of 475 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Hotel Lassa
#500 of 940 in Seoul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Sinchon / Ewha
K-guesthouse Sinchon 2
K-guesthouse Sinchon 2
#139 of 940 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sinchon / Ewha
CasaVille Residence Sinchon
Sinchon / Ewha
At Noon Hotel
At Noon Hotel
#307 of 940 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Sinchon / Ewha
No photo provided
Q Motel
#335 of 940 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vogue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vogue Hotel

Property: Vogue Hotel
Address: 19, Seogang-ro 18-gil, Mapo-gu, Seoul 04109, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Sinchon / Ewha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #464 of 940 B&Bs / Inns in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vogue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Vogue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing