We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of HOTEL GS

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
HOTEL GS
Ranked #78 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stay at this hotel for 3 night. It is located at a tiny lane, even local taxi driver can't find it, need to call the hotel concierge to come out to pick us up. I have to say, the location of this hotel is nice, very close to 鐘路3街 MRT station(a intersection of 3 lines), 清溪川, 宗廟, 廣藏市場, and many many tourist spots. It's very convenient!!!Though the room is small, but it's very clean, snug and equipped with a pc. Besides, the bathroom is equipped with heating, it's warm and good for people who goes Korea during winter like us. About the breakfast, though it's not very multiple-choice, but enough! Well worth it's value!If I get chance to go Korean again, I will choose this hotel again!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank elva4u2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    108
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
58
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed at the hotel a couple of weeks ago and really enjoyed my stay.

The location is a 3 - 5 minute walk from Jongno (Sam) 3 subway/metro station which connects to the main Seoul Station, where you can catch the airport train, regular train and KTX high speed trains.

The hotel is very close to to sites such as Gyeongbok Palace, Changdoek Palace, Changyeong Palace, Namsangol Hanok Village, and other tourist sites.

The room was reasonably priced, and the hotel staff were helpful and courteous and made my stay comfortable. The rooms were clean and the towels and sheets are clean and have a clean light bleach smell.

As a single female traveling alone, I felt safe and comfortable in the hotel and the neighborhood.

I enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay at the hotel again if I were to go back to Seoul.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aegeandream1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I spent 4 nights in this hotel. I really enjoyed my stay. The staff was really kind and helpful. Rooms are small but super clean and with all needed comfort. There is even a PC and a wifi-modem! In addition the location of the hotel is perfect if you wanna visit the historical sites in Seoul you can do that walking from the hotel or taking the underground (1-2 stops from the main sites).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ele_giramondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Location: Nearest station is Jongno 3, about 3-5 min walk. It's in a small alley so our taxi had some trouble locating the place. If you walk back at night there will be a good handful of street food! You should be able to find food easily from Lotteria to fried chicken.

Rooms: I stayed in Grand A which accommodated all 4 of us comfortably. It had a jacuzzi, dining area and complimentary mini bar! Clean and spacious!

Service and Staff: Friendly staff who gave accurate information on food and taxis. They spoke decent English! Free breakfast which includes noodles, fruits and toast. Great for a good start!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vivacircus30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here for three nights while in Seoul. Rooms are compact as is the usual for this part of Seoul. The staff is really helpful and friendly. English is basic however with a effort it is quite easy to ask for information and have questions answered. It is a little difficult to find and by western standards some may feel afraid to go down the alleyway to the main entrance. However once inside it is very comfortable and quite surprising. Remember Seoul is quite safe if you use common sense as is any other place. I walked down many of the alleyways and found many little restaurants and bars and never felt uneasy or threatened. Tjere are many street vendors and deals to be found. You are a short 15-20 minute walk to the Seoul City Bus Tour. The price is very reasonable and location is very convenient. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cosmicskeptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I booked this hotel after reading the many reviews on this site and others, and wasn't disappointed. We found the hotel very easily, thanks to these reviews, after catching the 6002 bus from Incheon airport, and getting off at Jongno 3 stop.
We travelled as a family of four - 2 adults and 2 adolescents, so I booked a Grand A suite, but was immediately upgraded to a Grand B suite. Our room was awesome, it was very spacious and had everything we could need - 3 double beds, air conditioning, jacuzzi, 2 showers, toilet with a heated seat (!!) and a built in bidet, large LCD TV screen, coffee and tea facilities, a small refridgerator, free WiFi and even a computer connected to the internet !!!
Breakfast was more than ample and included fruit juice, cereal, toast & spreads, fresh fruit, coffee & tea and instant noodles (for those who want to be authentic),
The location was great, and allowed us to walk to many of our destinations. The entrance to the hotel is in a small alley, which gives a bad first impression, but it is safe, so don't allow this to put you off.
Probably the only point that needs improvement is the staffs English. Even though they are very helpful and are always available to assist, this barrier causes misunderstandings, especially when trying to get instructions as how to reach places or how to use the Metro. The best solution is to go to one of the many "Info" points around the city, where you can get better assistance. One of them is only a 5 min walk from the hotel.
Overall, we had a wonderful stay and I would definitely return and recommend this hotel to friends and family travelling to Seoul.

Room Tip: Our suite was on the ground floor, right next to the reception and the breakfast area, Even so, it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AriDint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The room comes w heated floor and bed and it was really essential as the temperature drops to 2 degree while we were there in the night. What's best was the big TV screen and a desktop for us to check our work mails and do our itinerary research. It's clean as its built recently last year. If you don't wish to spend a bomb on your accomodation, GS hotel is the one for you. It's about 3mins walking time from Jongno 3(sam)ga MTR station which interchange 3 lines.

You can read more on my trip to seoul w GS hotel at, http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2013/05/seoul-korea-day-1.html?m=1

Cheers! x

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jacq I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Doulos Hotel
Doulos Hotel
#90 of 468 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Icon
Hotel Icon
#96 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Nafore
Hotel Nafore
#72 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Makers Hotel
#49 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Rian Hotel
Rian Hotel
#85 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL GS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL GS

Property: HOTEL GS
Address: 5-5, Donhwamun-ro, Jongno-gu, Seoul 03192, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — HOTEL GS 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your HOTEL GS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing