We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks the owner , Mr.Lee and his friendly dog to welcome me to Seoul. A map he sent to me very helpful to get to his hotel fas”
Review of Birdsnest Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Birdsnest Hostel
Ranked #21 of 591 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I love this place ^.^ , I wish I could book it for the all the time I want to spend in Seoul but I do have to stay with the other one.Hopefully, they should be nice like this one.
ขอบคุณครับ
Traveller from Thailand

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 84 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

MR LEE is the MAN! he did everything for me and helped me so much.. i was lost and he went to pick me up..Mr Lee made my trip in seoul excellent..always helpful ~ Hostel was awesome
Rooms clean, spacious and very comfortable.. bathroom n living room perfect..HIGHLY RECOMMEND..i will be back here in Seoul..Thx Mr Lee ..Oli

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivier N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is the best hostel I stayed at in Korea. After a bad experience at another hostel down the street, I was comforted by the kindness of Mr. Lee. His hostel is beautiful and VERY clean. The bathrooms are nice size and always clean. The common rooms are big and comfortable to hang out in. Mr. Lee provides a nice western style breakfast with bread, eggs, jam, peanut butter, coffee (both Korean style and drip) and tea. He is VERY kind and will help you with anything. If you want a true Korean experience stay at Birdsnest. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jungalist101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

First the good: the owner is friendly. There is hot water and cold filtered water. The coffee machine in the kitchen is high tech and produces a fine cup of "joe". Location is quiet. Good wifi.

The bad: hard beds. very uncomfortable. Cramped common areas. There are several long term guests, some very unfriendly. The towels are hand towels. And there just isn't a quiet room in the hostel because of the layout. Too many people in a small area. There is an upstairs and a downstairs but all of the rooms are adjacent to a small common area. Bottom line: it's crowded here and because of that, noisy.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Algotomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdsnestSeoul, Owner at Birdsnest Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for you liked my coffee but Sir~ This is burget accomdation. Of course, that doesn't mean it's O.K for noisy or crowded. That's why I always keep to try to stop talking after 11PM in common place but I made misleading during your stay. That mihgt be why you just check out when I was absent.Even though you said to me one more night stay and I lost one night consequentially.
Anyway, I'm very sorry for having bad memory in my house.

Lastly, these are not hand towels. just towels. The towels next wash sinks are hand towels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The Birds Nest Hostel is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. It is pretty much brand new so everything is very, very clean. The owner isn't just out to get money, he is very friendly and helpful if you have any questions about anything in Korea.

The hostel has a range of sleeping options: all female room, mixed rooms, single rooms, twin rooms. It also provides breakfast for free which consists of toast with jelly, coffees and teas, and eggs. The showers already have shampoo and soap in them so you don't have to worry about that. They also provide you with a towel to dry off with. On top of all that, there is good and reliable wifi available to the guests which makes it really nice if you want to get in contact with family or just browse the net.

The hostel itself is down an alley right near Hongdae which is a very young and happening place in Seoul. Within five minutes you will be surrounded by places to shop, eat, or party. Korea is a very, very safe country, so walking back the alleys at night to the hostel is totally safe, but if you do feel a little uncomfortable, the hostel is locked and gated. You need the special code just to enter the building as well. Very safe.

I highly, HIGHLY recommend staying here if you are looking for a cheap, safe, clean place to stay during your trip to Korea.

Room Tip: I liked the second floor rooms as it was a little more separated from the owner, making you feel a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
Thank iriishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Backpackers Inside
#3 of 591 in Seoul
289 reviews
Hostel Korea
#112 of 591 in Seoul
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bong House
#59 of 591 in Seoul
120 reviews
Itaewon
G Itaewon Guest House
G Itaewon Guest House
#12 of 591 in Seoul
235 reviews
Hongdae
Easytrip Guesthouse
Easytrip Guesthouse
#13 of 591 in Seoul
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birdsnest Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birdsnest Hostel

Address: 18, Yeonnam-ro 3-gil, Mapo-gu, Seoul 03988, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Hongdae
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 591 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range: $10 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Birdsnest Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Birdsnest Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing