We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse Phil-house
Ranked #50 of 582 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly staff, convenient location”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just stayed here for 11 nights and would recommend Phil House as a great place to stay. Very clean with friendly, helpful staff. We had a private room with cooking facilities/washing machine/fridge freezer/air con. NB All the utensils etc were in the communal kitchen so be prepared for no knives, forks, cups, plates in the rooms. The 24 hour convenience store below is handy for day to day stuff.
It's located just a short walk to the subway (Achasan station) down a side street. It's therefore near enough to the main road, but in a quiet location. The Children's Grand Park is virtually next door and well worth a visit.
Would recommend using the subway as it's very cheap and easy to find your way around as all the signs are also in English. Get a Tcard (like an Oyster card) and top it up as you go. We travelled back to Incheon Airport from Achasan subway station. It only needed one change of train and cost approximately £5 for two people (a 1.5 hour trip approx)

Room Tip: top floor rooms that face the road are a little smaller but have a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DottieWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    44
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
16
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Actually I just got back a couple of days ago from my Korea trip. I stayed at Phil House the first 2 nights and 1 last night during my trip ...
It was a very pleasant experience. They upgraded my reservation from 8 bed dorm to private room on the first 2 nights and also on the last night they upgraded from 1 double + 1 bunk bed private room into 2 triple private rooms...
The place is very clean, the toilet is super clean, has washing machine, refrigerator and kitchen stove in the room.
The staffs are super friendly, helpful and speaks English perfectly. I would definitely stay here again if i ever come to Seoul again

Room Tip: Very close to the subway. And the subway station has escalators which is hard to find in Seoul Subwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolfetish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana City, Montana
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Nice place. Actually wondered for the location. As it isnt at the center of seoul
i guess. but everything was quite near. and the sub station is near.
also there are mountains to go so i guess its better than any other place.
The building is new and clean. The people working there are nice and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia_Wulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Location easy because it is very close to the subway station
Lots of eating places near by, a very sashimi restaurant close by (apparently noted for its quality)
Easy to get to from the airport.
Has a 24 hour convince store below.
The staff friendly easy going and speak good English.
Room very new as is the property.
Beds comfortable
Well appointed and clean. Common area comfortable.
Has internet there.
Will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IceBreakerKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Rizal, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Traveled last June 2012 and stayed in the 8-female dorm for 5 days. Over-all the interior design of Phil-House is very modern, fun and quirky.

The 8-female dorm room is clean, bright, with separate shower and an automatic toilet.The room also has TV, ref, washing machine, hamper and shoe closet by the door. The room is secured with an automated lock.

For breakfast, brewed coffee and p.butter and jelly toast is provided for.If you feel like cooking, cooking oil and pan are available for use.Family Mart is just downstairs to get the stuff you need.

The staff are Korean youngsters who are friendly and very accommodating.

Phil House is just 2-min. walk when you get off Achasan station. True, location is far from the sightseeing places but we did not mind as the subway travel in Seoul is such a breeze. We will come back.

Room Tip: The only "downside" in staying in dorm type rooms is that you are with different people, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I got back from Seoul a couple days ago. Me and my friend stayed at this guesthouse for an entire month. Its right near the achasan subway station and right beside the Grand Childrens Park. We loved everything about it from the staff to the location and the rooms. The rooms were spacious and bright. The room came with washer, stove, fridge and tv. They also provide housekeeping as well upon request. The communal area was large. That is where we met a ton of people who made Seoul a better experience for us. Also the staff! Leo, David, Sumin and Joe were super nice and accommodating. Will definitely stay at this place again when I go back to Seoul. Highly recommend anyone to choose PhilHouse when they go visit Korea!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Home to Home.
That's what I would say about this place.
Easy to access, clean (only four month since they opened), helpful staffs.
Also, very spacious room gave us plenty of space for our two year old son to play.
We will go back everytime we go to Seoul.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuncito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Han Kang Hotel
#359 of 497 in Seoul
27 reviews
Hotel Dong Seoul
#408 of 497 in Seoul
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Walkerhill Seoul
#75 of 497 in Seoul
591 reviews
Jamsil
Lotte Hotel World
Lotte Hotel World
#8 of 497 in Seoul
1,444 reviews
JJ Guesthouse
#467 of 958 in Seoul
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Phil-house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Phil-house

Property: Guesthouse Phil-house
Address: 22, Cheonho-daero 130-gil, Gwangjin-gu, Seoul 04991, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 582 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Phil-house 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Guesthouse Phil-house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing