We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean SUITE with all you need!”
Review of Daelim Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Daelim Residence
Ranked #89 of 551 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Vancouver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very clean SUITE with all you need!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Since my travel itinerary kept changing, I got a chance to stay in the regular room on 7th floor and 2nd floor, and the deluxe room on the 8th floor. They are not just a hotel room, they are suites equipped with kitchen and laundry. It has been very convenient with the laundry and the small den area that I could hang dry my clothes. (Detergent is provided) Kitchen has all the required utensils and cooking equipments. You just need to buy your own food and ingredients. This allows me to cook some Korean beef and noodles. (It's expensive to have Korea beef at the restaurant.) There's a big supermarket located at the basement of AK Plaza. Even it's a bit pricy, but you can get whatever you miss for your cooking. This place has more than you need for a hotel room. I just feel like home. The owner, Mr. Jang, is very sincere and helpful. He will guide you on how to get to the hotel from the airport in advance. The hotel is only few minutes walk from Guro Station and the bus is very convenient. Even though the commute time is about 25-40 min from the tourist areas, I still prefer to stay in this hotel as it is not packed with tourists. 1 thing from the down side is that on the 2nd floor, you may see little insects close to the entrance door and the den door inside the room. I believe since it is closer to the ground level, they would be more visible. (It's not uncommon in Asia.) Yet, all 3 rooms I stayed in were kept very clean. The bed is considered as harder ones. Personally, I think they're perfect. I would definitely choose this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summer3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    13
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
24
20
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Daelim Residence is a great place to stay in Seoul, not so far from the city centre... around 20 min by metro...
The Hotel is nice, rooms a very big and many facilities, like kitchen, washing machine, computer, etc.

Staff is very friendly and Mr. Jang Jae Hyek is the best hotel owner I had ever met, he is super friendly and helpful, he was very kind to take us to pick us up from the Metro station and then take us back there and got Metro cards for us.... no other hotel I had stayed I had experience this.

Daelim residence is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedroadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
154 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

After we booked the room the owner emailed me and told me to take 6003 airport bus to Guro subway station. After we got off the bus look around and saw Daelim Residence was ahead on the hill. After we arrived Mr. Jang came to greet us and offered us cold orange juice and show us the room facilities. Washer was handy and we had to wash our clothes everyday, room with hardwood floor about 200 sq ft. with two queen size bed.
Desktop PC inside room and also wifi to use. Bathroom with toothbrush & toothpaste, hair gel etc.
Close by to Guro subway station and very convenient to travel around. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YTOAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Whoa this residence that we stayed at really got us knocked off our feet! The outside looks really shabby and old but the room itself was huge and so comfy!! The room that we stayed in had two queen sized beds and really spacious and clean. It was like being at home in Korea!! Mr. Jang helped us with our luggage when we arrived. Across the street is a plaza called AK plaza and they have a food court down in level B1 and wonderful food on level 7. Anyways the owner gave us a mini tour on the first day and showed us how to use the facilities in the residence. He also gave us free masks. The lobby has a hot chocolate/ coffee machine that required absolutely no money and you didn't even have to get a cup!! The entrance of the Residence is locked at about 9pm so you would have to use your key to open the entrance. On the last day of our stay, the owner, Mr. Jang offered to drive us to the bus station so my family and I were very very grateful since there is a big slope like downhill route to get to the bottom (near AK Plaza area) My family and I really enjoyed our stay and we definitely are going to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank purpledinossaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Daelim Residence is an excellent choice for anyone seeking accommodation in Seoul. It is run by Mr. Jang, an extremely kind and hospitable man, who took the time to explain and show us all the facilities in the hotel and the room when we first arrived. The room itself was extremely spacious and clean (two queen sized beds) with its own bathroom, kitchen, washing machine, fridge and desktop computer. Most importantly, there was free wi-fi in the room, as well as a free skype phone (free calls internationally) located near the staircase. Mr. Jang also gave us a map of seoul, recommended many places for us to visit and also gave us coupons with a 1000won discount for the airport bus when we left.

The only downside is the location - takes around 30mins by train to the city centre. However, Daelim Residence is located only a 5mins walk from the Guro subway station, where you can easily take a train straight to the city centre. As an extra tip, for anyone wondering how to get to Daelim Residence from the airport, the easiest way would be to take the 6003 airport bus to Guro bus station (only a 1-2 mins walk to the Residence). Alternatively, a taxi-ride should cost around 50000won (we were cheated and paid 110000won, so be careful!).

Overall, would definitely recommend this Residence to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wong89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The hospitality by Mr Jang, President of the Daelim Residence indeed lives up to its commitment and reputation in providing the best experience possible during the stay. On arrival at Daelim Residence, we have been warmly greeted by Mr Jang near the residence where assistance was provided to help with our bags. Truely appreciative of this thought. Thereafter, we have been well oriented with facilities in the residence and transportation around korea. Not forgetting to mention, the facilities established within the residence are well thought off. In the hearts of a traveller..... You will be touched with all amenities provided clean and going the extra mile by Mr Jang and team, you'll also be amazed by the politness of each staff. Extra amenties such as complimentary calls to most overseas countries and 24 hrs supply by water dispenser and coffee / hot chocolate machine warms our soul in a foreign land. Not forgetting to mention, the delicious fusion korea food served at Mr Jang's chinese restaurant at the entrance keeps us wanting to feast on it daily. A must try for all visitors at the restaurant is..... 糖醋肉 or direct translated to 'Sweet Vinegar Pork'! To sum it all, you be amazed and warmed with your stay at Daelim Residence, a truly korea experience. Kudos to President Jang and team, we will be back again to Daelim Residence!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank GinnyWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Great location, 100m from airport bus stop #6003. Genuinely hospitable owner who accommodates our needs. Nice room with floor heating system, small kitchen and even a washing machine. Very practical. Within walking distance to subway station: Guro. Warm welcome by the owner, easy check-in and check-out. He even picked us up when we missed the supposed bus stop.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danielkang76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
1.5 mi away
Shilla Stay Guro
Shilla Stay Guro
#78 of 472 in Seoul
140 reviews
8.0 mi away
ibis Ambassador Seoul Dongdaemun
1.5 mi away
Mind Tourist Hotel
Mind Tourist Hotel
#220 of 472 in Seoul
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Guro Hotel
10.5 mi away
K City Hotel
K City Hotel
#372 of 472 in Seoul
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cocomo Hotel
Cocomo Hotel
#199 of 472 in Seoul
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daelim Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daelim Residence

Property: Daelim Residence
Address: 226, Gurodong-ro, Guro-gu, Seoul 08280, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 551 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daelim Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Daelim Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing