We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the big appetite”
Review of Zelen

Zelen
Ranked #190 of 122,670 Restaurants in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Itaewon
Seoul, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“For the big appetite”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

in the last two years i had been a few times to the Itaewon branch, now over the last 2 weeks twice with friends to their Hannam branch.
Atmosphere compared to the Itaewon branch is much nicer - also as the place is not as big. Staff is friendly.
Food is same - big portions of Bulgarian food which means here lot's of meet and on many dishes cream. But all what i tried was tasty. For starter the cheese stuffed mushrooms can be recommended. The salmon ordered by my wife though was a bit of a let down - obviously frozen as it arrived much later than the other dishes.
Overall do not expect a culinary experience but a rustic filling meal with a good beer (one of the few places where you can get Krombacher draught).
Finally: The toilets in Hannam are ok whilst the one in Itaewon (at least last year) were straight forward disgusting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulrich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    49
    15
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall pretty terrible.”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The food was subpar, not sure what they mean by Bulgarian because it wasn't, but that's what you get in most of these Hamilton Hotel lane restaurants. Service horrendous.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ItaewonDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good experience of Bulgarian foods”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My wife and I came to Itaewon for find a delightful dinner. There were many choice of international foods here; we decide to try Zelen, which a lot of reviewers recommended. The yogurt is a must-do. We tried soupe de Jour: an azuki bean soup with spices that spices go stronger than azuki. We Chinese used to cook azuki. Bulgarian azuki soup is different to my previous taste but it is good. To those spices taster, like Indian or mid-east foods, it is easy. Our main course is oyster seafood. We both like it. The dining mood is relaxing. Very nice try of Bulgarian cuisine!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasonyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had a friends birthday dinner as well as a valentines dinner here and the food was absolutely spectacular! Their wine selection from around the world is amazing. They were very accommodating with our reservation as we were running late. The atmosphere in the restaurant makes you feel like you are in Bulgaria, and the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. Little pricey, but absolutely worth it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chi-town
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic Bulgarian (I think at least) at an Affordable Price”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I came across this restaurant in a magazine article and it was on my list of "to eat". Like most things on the list, I never got around to it but fortunately a friend of mine made reservations here and I had a chance to try the food. The meat dishes are all very good. I very much like the pork ribs on the appetizer menu, as the meat is prepped in a way that makes it very tender. The salmon steak is a safe dish. However, the meat dishes for two had some hits and misses. For example, the sausage is not bad but there were some pieces that were a bit dry for my taste. Try the chicken dishes as they are all pretty good with authentic gravy.

I have since become somewhat of a regular and introduced many friends to the food.

In terms of pricing, the appetizers are around 10,000 KRW and the main dishes around 15,000. If you drink alcohol expect to pay around 50,000 a person otherwise you can have a decent meat at 30,000 KRW.

Happy Eating!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zelen also viewed

Seoul, South Korea
 

Been to Zelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing