We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Hostel”
Review of Shinchon Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shinchon Hostel
Ranked #83 of 590 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My first impression is this hostel is very near to the bus stop from the airport and not too far from the bus stop to the airport and it's also near to the Edae subway station. second is staffs especially Mr..(who came from Bangladesh) is really nice to us ^^ the room is quite okay just for a sleep but.. the shower is not well functioned and this is a bad point for this hostel. I will go back if u guys get the shower fixed and in well functioned ^^

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cloudyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 66 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

The service is very very good.
From outside, the building is very new.
The reception and the living room are very new too.
But the room is very old including the bed.
The wall is very thin too. U can hear everything from outside.

The bathroom is very dirty and old. I canny stand to take a shower or pee inside the room. I feel so disgusting.

So I moved out. I booked for a week but I stayed for 1 day.
The owner is very helpful. He suggest us to move to Shinchon Guesthouse (same owner) and we pay the same price.
The guesthouse is very good. We recommend u to stay there.

There is no elevator from first floor so u have to carry it to second floor but the stuffs are very helpful with that.

The stuffs also speak English very well.

The location is good and safe for girls. It's Ewha women university area. So there are a lot of shops for shopping.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Songhwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

~Myself, hubby and three children stayed here for five nights in June 2012. We had a family room on the third floor with a bunk bed, full size bed and flat screen tv also a private bathroom. There is a kitchen (self service) with a common area to hang out, also computers and magazines. Airconditioning in the room. The management are very helpful in recommending things to do and helping with travel plans. The area is excellent for shopping and restaurants. Also close to subway stations, and the bus stop to return to the airport is within walking distance. I believe it was 9,000 won each with the discount coupon from the hostel. There are a few clubs close by, but with the double windows we were not disturbed. If you are on a budget I definitely recommend this hostel, & will stay there again next time in Seoul!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherlock1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

It was our first time to go to Korea and we really loved it there. Shinchon Hostel is perfect because it is near Ehwa Women's University subway station which makes it much easier to get to other places. There is a lot of shops around it for shoes, clothes, accessories & many other items. The staff is very friendly and helpful. You can also cook & eat all you can at the kitchen.
When we come back, we will surely stay in this Hostel again! 2 Thumbs up!!! =)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benjo_Opao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

As they say in real estate, location is everything. The Shin Chon Hostel has the best location anyone could ask for! It's right near Line 2 and has a ton of great restaurants and shops nearby that make for a great time.

My wife and I stayed at the Shin Chon Hostel for 11 days, and it was really the best spot we've been since we left the United States. There is a nice big common area downstairs with a kitchen, computers to use the Internet, and a big flat screen TV to relax. The rooms are really great too, with nice, comfortable beds and floors that are heated.

The guys who run the place are very helpful and speak Korean, Japanese, Chinese, and English. They are full of great tips on Seoul and were wonderful hosts. For someone who is looking to jump right into Seoul, the Shin Chon Hostel is the perfect place to start.

Room Tip: rooms on the 1st floor are right next to the front desk, and thus are somewhat loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChrisY900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
Thank nink4654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Sinchon / Ewha
Ever8 Serviced Residence
Sinchon / Ewha
WS Hotel
WS Hotel
#419 of 504 in Seoul
130 reviews
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#15 of 504 in Seoul
3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong
Hongdae
Birdsnest Hostel
Birdsnest Hostel
#20 of 590 in Seoul
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinchon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinchon Hostel

Address: 29, Ewhayeodae 3-gil, Seodaemun-gu, Seoul 03766, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Sinchon / Ewha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 590 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range: $31 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shinchon Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinchon Hostel is a newly opening place, on 15th of December, 2011. As it is located in the heart of Seoul, you can get to almost all tourist attractions in Seoul within 20 minutes. We are ready to do our best for your pleasant time in Seoul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Shinchon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing