We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hongdae JK House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seoul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hongdae JK House
Ranked #128 of 534 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very happy”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Fantastic time had. Everything great. Good location and JK is a great host. Would like to stay again here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funky-eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
1
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Daejeon, Daejeon, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

JK House is located right above the Hongik University subway station, which is a perfect location if you want to experience the vibrant area of Hongdae, a main area for young people, filled with bars, clubs and shopping!

The Guesthouse itself is also really good, the rooms are big and clean, the beds are warm and cozy, and the view from the rooms are breathtaking!

JK, the owner of the place, is a very helpful and nice guy. I went skiing when I was living there, and JK borrowed me his winterclothes and helped me to arrange both transportation to the mountain (Phoenix Park) and rental of equipment. He also showed me around in Hongdae during the evening, which was a really fun experience :P

I now lived at the place several times and will definitley live there next time I go to Seoul!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pingtung, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I am a Taiwanese who live in Daejeon, Korea. This is the third time I stayed in JK House, because when I think about going to Seoul I will think about Jk house. Is so perfect location, every tourist spot is in 30min travel time by subway. And it well connect to the subway, you can take elevator from B1 and directly go to 9F, witch is so great when you have so much to carry. And they clean the room every day and the room is BIGGER than other hostel seriously.Also is cheap is 25,000won per night per person, which is about 23 USD. And also because I went there alone but I wasn't feel lonely over there, JK invited me to go out eat dinner with his friends! Surely Hongdae is famous of night club and a cultural youth spot so I went out with another Taiwanese girl to a bar to spent a great night <3
So next time when I go to Seoul, mmmmmmm.......... Absolutely gonna visit you JK! :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honk Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2011

First of all I'd like to say that JK house was the cleanest and tidiest hostel I have ever stayed at. I had such a great time spending the evening with the staff. We ate dinner together and took to the streets of Hondae at night. I've stayed in Korea for 2 weeks, and Seoul for 4 nights, and above all the very short stay I had at JK house was by far the most interesting and fun. Whenever I return to Seoul in the future, I will definitely return to JK house. 2 thumbs up. you will not regret it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonju, South Korea
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Two thumbs up! Clean, spacious, super friendly staff, and connected to the subway!

If you're in the Hongdae area this is the place to stay!

The room was immaculate and the bed was comfortable. Nice HOT shower!
There is lot's of SPACE to move around and the common room is a great hang out place.
The 9th floor also offers a great view of the city with a mountain in the backdrop.

The hostel is connected to Hongik Station (Line #2 - green) and is super easy to find. Walk out of exit #1, and look behind you and you will see a Dunkin Donut shop. The elevator to the hostel is in that building or if you have large baggage call ahead and ask Mr. Lee for directions to the elevator from the subway. It is possible to avoid the large flight of stairs at exit #1!!!

The owner (Mr. Lee) is super friendly and will help you with anything you need. Directions, recommendations or even a tour of Hongdae if you wish for one.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yachingu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

this place was awesome to stay at. its literally connected to the subway so that is super convenient cause we basically could go anywhere in seoul right out the door. the location was great too, hongdae is a poppin' place cause thats where the main clubbing area is, and it had a lot of restaurants, korean bbq (there is a street known as...meat street, 'nuff said), and street food around too (like pad thai and kebabs)! also a lot of super cute little coffee shops around with yummy drinks and desserts.

the hostel itself is really nice, everything is brand new and the wooden beds are comfy. its also really spacious and clean, no complaints at all! much cleaner than other hostels ive stayed at around asia. and the common room is a nice touch, and makes it different from the other hostels in the area since you can talk to people without disturbing sleepers here. also, the hostel owner is super nice and will take you around the area if you ask! definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephanie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Hongdae
Rio House Hongdae
Rio House Hongdae
#6 of 932 in Seoul
227 reviews
Hongdae
Dustin Guest House
Dustin Guest House
#39 of 534 in Seoul
63 reviews
Hongdae
Cocoon Stay Hongdae
Cocoon Stay Hongdae
#117 of 534 in Seoul
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongdae
Egg Guesthouse Korea
Egg Guesthouse Korea
#80 of 932 in Seoul
37 reviews
Nabi Hostel
#47 of 534 in Seoul
15 reviews
Hongdae
NJoy Seoul
NJoy Seoul
#115 of 932 in Seoul
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hongdae JK House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hongdae JK House

Property: Hongdae JK House
Address: #909 Pardistel 9th Floor, 159-6, Donggyo-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul 121-200, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Hongdae
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 534 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hongdae JK Guesthouse-Unbeatable location, facilities, and fun!We are located in Hongik University area Connected to Hongik University Subway Station All rooms are apartment style with own kitchens and bathrooms All furniture and electronics are brand new.We have a common room great for socializing with fellow housemates. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing