We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb location, breakfast time limited”
Review of Hotel J Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel J Hill
Ranked #141 of 505 Hotels in Seoul
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great location in the heart of Myeongdong with tons of shops and eateries around. Close to the airport limousine bus stop (bout 3 min walk) outside Ibis Ambassador Seoul which serves TWO buses to Incheon airport- bus 6015 and 6001. Attached photos of the bus schedules. To get to the hotel, once you alight at same bus stop, facing the road walk down on the left side, turn left at the next road (there may be an alley before that can't quite remember), walk all the way down past the police station in the middle of the street. It's a pedestrian only street at night. You'll be able to see the Hotel J HIll sign at he top of the bulding from afar, together with Seoul Royal Hotel sign. Hotel itself has a lift access card to go to your floor. There are maps of Seoul in the hotel lobby which are useful for getting around. It's also near Lotte department store where we encountered tons of other tourists shopping for duty free items, the souvenir and foodstuff shop is on the 10th floor. We bought our ginseng from here.
We took a deluxe double bed room with a window for more space but the room is still rather small, with space for probably only a moderate size luggage bag...we had to place our haversack and shopping bags inside the wardrobe cabinet. We stayed in June so didn't have many bulky coats or stuff...I imagine it might be a bit more difficult in winter if you have a lot of luggage. Room amenities wise, J Hill has everything you need- luggage rack, toothbrush, flatscreen LCD tv with quite a variety of channels, toiletries inlcuding disposable shaver, bedroom slippers, hairdryer etc.Loved that they give you 2 complimentary bottles of water each day. The remote controller for the tv is able to control the aircon and lights in the room as well..cool if you want to off the lights while still in bed. The toilet sink is in the same cubicle as the shower which is a bit wierd (it means that your sink will get wet if you shower) but we didn't have an issue with this.
Overall, it's a small room but we enjoyed our stay here...great value for money compared to other hotels in the area.
The only downside was that breakfast time is only from 7-9am which is rather limited. Breakfast was included in our booking but we ended up not eating it at all because twice we had to leave before 7 (once for the DMZ tour, another to the airport), and once we simply overslept and came down only at 915am. There are many eateries around though so that's ok. Try a chain restaurant very popular with the locals called Bongchu Jjimdak just round the corner (in the alley behind the hotel)...they only sell one type of dish (seasoned steamed chicken kind of like a stew, you can google it online), we enjoyed it very much, costs 22000won for 2 pax.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank fnz289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 221 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed here on my family trip in winter. The location of this hotel is great. It is in the heart of Myeongdong shopping area and close to bus stop and myeong dong station. Surrounded by shops and restaurants.The room is nice and clean, although it's kinda too small for our luggage and coats, but it's alright. Breakfast is ok. Wi-Fi is ok. The staffs are very nice and informative, although some of them can't speak English. The price is worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Deryana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

After reading other reviews we made sure we paid for a deluxe double bed room with a window, as the rooms are small you would definitely feel claustrophobic otherwise, one side of the bed was against the wall and there was about 400-450mm on the other side and at the end. The bathroom had a bidet toilet and the hand basin was inside the large glass shower area and was OK in terms of space. The hotel is in a great area which is a market and and pedestrian zone in the afternoons and evenings, this means it is fairly quiet but difficult for taxis to get to. We took the KAL limousine bus to the Lotte Hotel and walked from there (7-10mins), it is also 5 mins downhill from the Myeongdong subway station. The hotel and rooms are very clean and staff excellent. It is on the 9th-13th floor of an office building, which is OK to find as long as you get to the general area as this is one of the tallest buildings. It is ideally placed for visiting tourist sites as it it close to 2 subway lines (the subway is excellent and a great way to move around the city), there are plenty of eating places and shops on the door step. We would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: The air conditioning was a bit tricky and it, the TV and light control unit all have bright lights a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TealMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed 7 nights for a family trips.This hotel is located in a good location (in the middle of Myeong Dong shopping area), just a few steps to airport bus stops and myeong dong station, about 10 minutes walk to N Seoul Tower cable car station. The room is a little bit small but clean. The breakfast was quite nice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marshadhianti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

The room is small but used efficiently.
Just located inside Myeongdong, opposed to Myeongdong theatre.
The lobby is on the top of the building.
Breakfast is ok.

Very good location but a little expensive for such a small hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoannaOnTheWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, was on a business trip. Room was a bit small but you get everything including dental set, free Wi Fi etc. Hotelr room interior decor was simple and stylish, very new compared to skypark hotel. Staff can speak reasonably good english and buffet breakfast provided was quite nice too. Located just few minutes walk from myeongdong station and shopping streets just on the doorstep of the building. Will definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fkitty05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This is a great hotel for shopping and eating your way through Myeong-dong.

Location: It's central and right in the middle of a busy walking street. I felt safe the whole time walking back and forth from the hotel while exploring Seoul. Its a 5 minute walk from the #6015 airport limousine bus that stops in front of the Hotel Ibis Myeong-dong. They are a ton of shops and restaurants around. It is also right in front of a tourist information office.
Rooms: The rooms are pretty small, but clean and comfortable. I would definitely get a room that is built for the number of people that will be staying there. Trust them when they say a double room will only really fit 2 people; there is no space for an extra bed. However, their rates are very reasonable for the location and quality of the hotel. I did hear some street noise from my room on the 12th floor, but nothing too disruptive.
Service: Excellent. The Western-style breakfast was pretty good.

Note: This hotel occupies several floors in a shared building. The street level lobby is just building reception, and the hotel lobby/breakfast area is on the 13th floor, and the hotel rooms are below the 13th floor.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank camsam330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Myeongdong II
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel28 Myeongdong
Hotel28 Myeongdong
#6 of 505 in Seoul
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Stay Hotel
The Stay Hotel
#366 of 505 in Seoul
15 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Myeongdong I
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Myeongdong III
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel J Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel J Hill

Address: 48, Myeongdong-gil, Jung-gu | 13F, Chunghee Bldg., Seoul 04536, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 505 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: $73 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel J Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are business city hotel which is located in central of, Seoul, South Korea.We have about 90 rooms with up to date facilities.We have a Cafeteria where can enjoy breakfast as well house coffee and a lounge terrace on top flool of hotel.You will enjy free internet and Wifi service in your room and lobby.We will help you finish your business Successfully whti office property and in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel J Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing