We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zaza Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #28 of 959 Seoul B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights. We chose it for the location in Myeong-dong. If you are arriving by airport shuttle or subway, be prepared to carry your luggage uphill a bit (it is about 3 minutes walk) and up the stairs as there is no lift. It is easy to find following the directions from the Residence EO website. The Myeong-dong station is very close to the hotel. The staffs are nice and helpful and speak English fluently. The regular room is not big but is well orgnised. Free wifi and computer access. For more comfortable and meaningful stay, please bring along your own towel and toiletries as well as some fabric detergent (if you intend to do some washing as every room comes with a washing machine).
Overall great place to stay if you are looking for good value! We will come again.

Room Tip: Since there is no lift, try to get room at lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 95 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed 5 nights with my family here and we all had a great time! Good location and very close to the subway station, with many nice local restaurants around. The room is small but clean with washing machine. The breakfast is simple but ok, no lift but the staff are quite helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathalia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Location was perfect compared to other hostels in the area... not too far from Myeongdong and Seoul Tower. Stayed at the second floor and had to carry my heavy luggage up the stairs. Would definately advise to book ground floor rooms if you have heavy luggages.
Room is clean with TV, washing machine, sink and fridge. The bathroom is very small, I would say it is catered to asian size built. Standing only shower is a squeese to get into. Just a tube of toothpaste is provided in the bathroom. A hand towel size towel is provided. To get a daily change, you would need to bring it to the basement where the common eating area is and dropped it into the basket. It closes at 10am and do try to reach there before that. I was late for about 30mins the first day and it was locked. You could guess I did not get a fresh change of towel for the night.
Whenever you return, it is a requirement that you changed into their indoor slippers before you proceed to your room. The slippers aren't that clean but as I was wearing socks, did not really bother me. It was just a chore to change into them at the reception area instead of in the comfort of your room. Mind you, it was -16 degrees when I was there and it was COLD.
You would need to separate the trash and throw it at the bins located just outside the building. Just a note, when you are out on the streets, it is hard to spot a rubbish bin. Bring a spare bag along just in case you need to throw something.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uki_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Location is perfect... few mins to Myeongdong subway & shopping district.
About 10 mins walk to the Namsan cable car station. I can see the beautiful Seoul Tower every night when we return back to EO.

The owner, Mr Lee is very chatty & friendly. As we will be staying in the ski restort on 1 of the night during our 9 nites in EO, Mr Lee allow us to leave our stuffs in the room w/o any charges ...
We thought that we would have to pack all our luggages & deposit with EO. That really save us the trouble.
The EO's front desk staffs, Monica & the young man (forget his name) is also very friendly & helpful.

Room has heated floor, fridge, washing machine & oven. We use the washing machine almost every nite. Free Wifi & Simple Breakfast is provided. There is also hot & cold water dispenser at the basement. No complaints .....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tph452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This place is located near Myeong Dong station (take exit 3). As you come out from the station, you will see Pacific Hotel and go all the way up (on your left) until you reach a convenient store known a Ministop on your right and Residence EO is directly opposite. For first time guests, please bring along your toiletries as well as some fabric detergent (if you intend to do some washing as every family room comes with a washing machine). I was there during winter with my kids, where temperature was sub zero, and the management kept the place heated 24hours! I heard from other travelers staying at other places, the management switch off heating after midnight. Mr Lee and Monica very helpful and speak english , which is a major plus . This place is also very near the night spot so very good for shoppers and a lot of restaurants are located near this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiba85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We booked a double room for 4 nights in November 2012. The residence is very clean, new, and secure, conveniently located just 3 minutes walk from subway and Myeongdong shopping area. Which is good because it is nice and quiet at night. As per the other reviews, Mr. Lee and his front desk staff speak English very well and are always willing to lend a helping hand....and offer great tips for sight seeing!

The room itself was small, but very reasonable and had all the amenities you can ask for in a hostel. Loved the heated floors! The breakfast is very basic, cereal, milk and bread, but there are many eateries within walking distance, including an awesome convenience store (GS25) that sells the most delicious sweet potatoes and kimbap for only approx $1USD.

Overall great place to stay if you are looking for good value! If you are arriving by airport shuttle or subway, be prepared to carry your luggage uphill a bit (it is about 3 minutes walk) and up the stairs as there is no lift. It is easy to find following the directions from the Residence EO website.

Room Tip: request lower level if you have heavy luggage as the residence has no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oogachaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was my 1st visit to Seoul, 2 days for leisure after 5 days of work at Yeosu. My friend and I were lucky to get the room, after several attempts online to get others from our country. Hostels are booked fast within 2 months in Seoul, so plan early! Based on previous trip advisor reviews, I booked this one. My friend was glad I did - I noticed as we walked towards the hostel the 1st time that this seemed to be the cleanest and safest in the area and there were many hostels that we saw. Mr Lee, the owner, was friendly and so was the lady who managed the counter during the day. They speak English! I found out that it was hard to get directions in English from Koreans, so the help given by the lady was very much appreciated - the bus to the airport, the shopping etc..There was a fridge, a microwave, and a washing machine in the room! Since we didn't understand Korean, we just used the m/wave through trial and error. The room was small and the shower room has no curtain - we wonder if Koreans do not use shower curtains since the previous guest house we stayed in has no shower curtains too. Fortunately, the door of the shower room was facing away from our bed. The hostel was close to the metro line 4 and Myeongdong shopping area was just across the road - great after a day of visit somewhere else to just stroll in the evening looking at beauty products that Myeongdong has to offer, free samples too. And there is a 24-hour convenient store less than 5 minutes away to get your microwavable rice pack and mineral water.

Room Tip: Request for a lower floor if you have big baggage like us. There is no elevator for all 4 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normahmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Starria Hostel
#37 of 959 in Seoul
38 reviews
Guesthouse The Hill
#29 of 959 in Seoul
146 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
STEP INN Myeongdong 1
STEP INN Myeongdong 1
#11 of 959 in Seoul
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wooju House
#26 of 959 in Seoul
38 reviews
Glory Inn
#13 of 959 in Seoul
73 reviews
Backpackers Inside
#3 of 591 in Seoul
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zaza Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaza Backpackers Hostel

Address: 35, Toegye-ro 20-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04629, South Korea (Formerly Residence EO)
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 959 B&Bs / Inns in Seoul
Price Range: $43 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Zaza Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zaza Backapckers hostel in Seoul serves you with our great location, as the most centrally located guesthouse in Seoul. We provide all the other customer-friendly facilities with private rest rooms, shared kitchen, free-wifi and so on. It is an easy walk to Seoul's most famous attractions including Myeong dong shopping st, Dongdaemun Market, Seoul N-Tower, Namdaemun Market, Palace, Insadong, Cheonggyecheon Stream, City-hall and Seoul Station. We are just a 3 minute walk to a subway station and the airport bus stop, which make it easy to get to Incheon Airport and attractions such as very famous Hongik Univ. area , Daehakro area and National Museum. It's all on your doorstep when you stay with us. Our very friendly staffs are more than happy to show you how to get around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Zaza Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Eo Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing